We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hard cider and fried green tomatoes!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Local Habit

Local Habit
Ranked #1,552 of 4,716 Restaurants in San Diego
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Hard cider and fried green tomatoes!”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Great thin crust gourmet pizzas, but MY favorites are their hard cider and their friend green tomato sandwiches! Busy in the late afternoons and evenings, but a quiet spot at lunchtime. Very friendly wait staff. I believe they feature all sorts of great beers, but I always order the hard cider, which is almost as good as that in Wales! Check this spot out for sure.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Judi58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    8
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
La Jolla, California
Level Contributor
57 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“pizza”
Reviewed 11 February 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Had a great pizza. It was quick and friendly too. I'd go back for sure. The atmosphere was fun and interesting.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank edward w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West College Corner, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Local, good gluten free food”
Reviewed 17 October 2013

"When in Rome, eat like the Romans" is my motto so I found this neighborhood eatery to experience San Diego and its fare. I could not have been more pleased with the atmosphere or food. Some of the best Brussel Sprouts I have ever had - made me cry (Horseradish sauce-really its excellent). The chicken was cooked perfectly and had GF New Planet Off the Grid Ale which is a good beer. Planning on going back Sunday for a GF Po Boy. Being from Louisiana, I love the Louisiana inspired menu and its combinations. Really great experience and didn't feel like I was a tourist.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Natemofo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
264 reviews
190 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Good pizza place”
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Went here for a casual dinner while in San Diego. It's a very casual neighborhood restaurant. The menu is limited and though there are some non-pizza items I would suggest sticking with pizza as I did. Lots of beer on draft. The special pizza was bacon with brussel sprout leaves (two of my favorite things). Very excellent crust and they do have gluten free options for all pizzas. My dining companions got gluten free pizza that looked sickly in comparison to my whole wheat. Service was friendly but daffy.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
129 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great beers, good food”
Reviewed 18 August 2013 via mobile

If you're a beer lover, Local Habit has to be a stop for you while you're in San Diego! The list of nano/micro brewery beers is updated daily, sand features primarily Californian products, although the occasional import creeps in too. If they have Hanger 24 products on the list, the Slow Roll and Tail Slide are spectacular. These beers are aged in bourbon barrels, and the Slow Roll carries more bourbon with it Thant the Tail Slide. Both beers are served in snifters. The Belgian Monkish Habit is a delicious dark beer, with an incredible chocolate overtone. Golden Road's Wolf Among Weeds IPA is a beautiful Californian IPA that you should try if you like IPA's.

Did I mention the food? The food is excellent! Everything is organic and locally sourced. The pizzas are as good as any I've had in Italy, and the salads are wonderful. We had the Black Iron Chicken one night, and really enjoyed it. My only negative comment there is that the entrees are more expensive than I think is warranted. GE chicken w not accompanied by anything, and $15 for a chicken breast, however excellent, seems kinda expensive. This is especially true if you consider that you can add a chicken breast to a salad there for $3.

The atmosphere is great, the service staff really attentive and helpful. Definitely recommend this spot to beer lovers!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank DougNix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Local Habit also viewed

 

Been to Local Habit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing