We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice room, very poor breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Staybridge Suites San Diego Rancho Bernardo Area
Ranked #130 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Urbana, Illinois
Level Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Very nice room, very poor breakfast”
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Room was nice, spacey, clean a nicely equipped, no complaints there. Front desk staff was very friendly an quick, called about an hour after we went to the room to confirm everything is five with the room, very nice.

But breakfast was much above average in other IHG hotels (I stayed at many Holiday Inns / Express, Crowne Plaze) or other brands. Namely:
(1) dirty silverware -- it looked like no one washed it before reuse. Maybe someone mistakenly returned the used silverware to clean stuff, but it was not only one knife, all of them I checked were not clean. Using plastic knife on stir foam plate was really something.
(2) no one was refilling the food choices that were eaten by previous guests. We went down at about 8am (breakfast lasted till 9:30 if I recall) and there was not much to choose from. Half an hour later, even fewer choices remained to newly coming guests.
(3) No one was cleaning the mess on the floor -- trying to not step into pancake dough spill or cereal on the floor while trying to find a free table to sit down was quite an adventure.

The worst breakfast experience in US so far, I must say.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Josef S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Staybridge Suites San Diego Rancho Bernardo Area, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear Josef S,

Thank you for submitting your review of our hotel. I'm delighted to hear that our hotel and our convenient location suited you well. I'm also pleased you mentioned our friendly Front Desk staff. However, it is very disappointing to hear about your experience at breakfast on your recent stay. I will follow up with the appropriate departments to ensure that similar incidents won't happen again. Your feedback is of great importance to us and allows us to monitor and improve the services we offer.

I appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts and I hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    44
    12
    6
    1
See reviews for
71
15
9
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We have stayed at this hotel before, and although not close to the San Diego theme parks, it is in a good location for shopping, and it's nice and quiet.
The hotel staff are lovely, very friendly and welcoming. The rooms are spacious, clean and modern, very comfortable beds and enough space for our family to enjoy.
Breakfast is good, although tea and coffee are cold, or at best Luke warm?
The computers in the business centre don't print, which was frustrating, but on the whole I would highly recommend this hotel.
The staff are exceptional!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tpeterson20, Guest Relations Manager at Staybridge Suites San Diego Rancho Bernardo Area, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Dearest Guest,
We appreciate all reviews received as they continue to be the compass that guides our hotel towards our goal of 100% guest satisfaction. Thank you sincerely for not only writing a glowing review but also taking note that there are subtle, yet important areas of improvement to get there. I assure you that we take all of our reviews seriously and the matter in which you spoke of will be addressed. That said, your rating and recommendation of our hotel has brought a smile to our faces and upon your return there will surely be more to come. Thank you again.

-Kindest Regards-
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
neptune beach, fl
Level Contributor
91 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

We were there 3 nights and it was a very comfortable stay, and very close to great shopping, although we were not there for shopping. In addition to complimentary breakfast each morning, on Tues., Wed., and Thurs., there is complimentary social hour. We were there on a Thursday night, and they had fish tacos. Helpful staff, nice rooms with comfortable bedding, great breakfast......what more can you ask for. We plan on returning when in the area, at least once a year.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jm5445
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tpeterson20, Guest Relations Manager at Staybridge Suites San Diego Rancho Bernardo Area, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear Guest,
Your satisfaction is why we do what we do. It sounds like you had an opportunity to experience the full breadth of the hotel which is all the more gratifying. We appreciate your wonderful review as well as the absolute guarantee to return every year from hereon. Our staff looks forward to seeing you again!

-Kindest Regards-
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 24 November 2013

From the moment we checked in. I knew this was a place where the staff loved their jobs. Nicole welcomed us with a great smile and warm personality. The break staff greeted me with a good morning. I remember the little things and would recommend Staybridge to family and friends!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lonlyn66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tpeterson20, Guest Relations Manager at Staybridge Suites San Diego Rancho Bernardo Area, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dearest Guest,
Your review of our hotel has not gone unnoticed. It's a pleasure to serve all those who stay and most especially an honor to see those who stay with us for a short period of time, have the good nature to remember the staff member/s who assisted them personally. You are always welcome back for short term, long term, or even just to stop in and say 'hello.' The same smiles and glad tidings will be here waiting until then.

-Kindest Regards-
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Today marked our return home to our nearby condo after being displaced for 5 weeks due to an accidental flood that required extensive renovations. The forced relocation affected not only my wife and I, but also our 11 year old son, two cats and a fish.

Our stay at Staybridge made our situation so much better. The staff was wonderful and so helpful. We were permitted to bring our pets, one of which most definitely does not like change in her life. Yet, whenever anything came up - need fresh towels or sheets - we received these right away.

The suite had plenty of room for us. Separate living quarters for us and the kid. A usable kitchen space and living area, as well. Bathrooms (and the entire suite) were well-maintained daily. The beds and furniture were all very comfortable. Laundry, some meal services, and a gym were all available for our use. Free wi-fi was also very handy.

The location was excellent - lots of eating establishments nearby, as well as shopping. Twenty minute drive to downtown San Diego for evening/weekend shows. The suites are in a nice, clean semi-corporate neighborhood - we always felt safe.

Overall, they did an amazing job putting us up for the 5 weeks. Whilst we certainly missed not being in our condo (accesss for the full complement of our clothes, etc), our stay here felt most welcoming.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1Magicdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tpeterson20, Guest Relations Manager at Staybridge Suites San Diego Rancho Bernardo Area, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dearest Guest,
We sincerely appreciate your detailed review of our property. Despite your unfortunate circumstances you still made the time to show your appreciation and we can't explain in simple words how grateful that makes us. It's good to know that you've had the ability to return to the comforts of your own home but if you're ever in need you and yours will always have a place here with our Staybridge family.

-Kindest Regards-
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
1 review
Reviewed 1 November 2013

I travel the entire State of California. My company allows me to stay wherever I please. I started staying at the Staybridge in San Diego years ago. It is honestly my favorite hotel, motel, suites, etc. in all of California. The beds are comfortable, the rooms are renovated, but the thing that keeps me coming back is the staff. It's the entire package. Long term or short stay. This is the place to stay.

Room Tip: I have not had a bad room anywhere. Because of the location, none of the rooms are loud
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teri J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tpeterson20, Guest Relations Manager at Staybridge Suites San Diego Rancho Bernardo Area, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Dearest Guest,
On behalf of our entire staff we sincerely appreciate you positively reviewing our hotel. Our endeavor is to make each stay a special one, and as a returning guest, we're privileged to say 'you've made an impression throughout that will never be taken for granted'. We eagerly look forward to your return and wish you all the best when you travel.

-Kindest Regards-
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Stayed here with my family for two full months when relocating for my career. It is a very clean, very nice hotel. Rooms are set up nicely for long stays (I shared a two bedroom suite with my wife, 5 month old, 4 year old, and mother in law and nobody killed eachother!) Each bedroom has its own full bathroom. Location is great, right next to a nice shopping center, and is very close to highway 15.
This is my first experience with an extended stay hotel and I do have a few gripes. The housekeeping situation was a little confusing, and it seemed like we went a few weeks at times without clean linens. They have a "social hour" in the evenings with free beer, wine, and sake (which is great) but the "finger food" they put out is treated like an all-you-can-eat-buffet by the families staying there, so its a little annoying. That being said I would recommend this hotel to any family on travel!

Room Tip: Our room faced east and we had a good view of the inland mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tenpenny_05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tpeterson20, Public Relations Manager at Staybridge Suites San Diego Rancho Bernardo Area, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Dearest Guest,
Thank you very much for taking the time to positively critique our hotel. With the amount of time you've spent with us we are confident your opinion gave future guest an accurate depiction of what's to be expected during their stay with our hotel. Our housekeeping process is different from normal hotels and during the peak season leading out of summer our Social Reception can be busier than normal so we qualify that comment by agreeing 100%. That said, your words were well received and genuinely appreciated by our entire staff and we can't wait to have you back. Until then, "safest travels" from our family to yours.

-Kindest Regards-
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
8.2 mi away
Staybridge Suites San Diego - Sorrento Mesa
4.2 mi away
Residence Inn San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Scripps Poway
2.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel San Diego - Rancho Bernardo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Diego/Rancho Bernardo
1.9 mi away
Courtyard San Diego Rancho Bernardo
4.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Scripps Poway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staybridge Suites San Diego Rancho Bernardo Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staybridge Suites San Diego Rancho Bernardo Area

Property: Staybridge Suites San Diego Rancho Bernardo Area
Address: 11855 Avenue of Industry, San Diego, CA 92128-3423
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Staybridge Suites San Diego Rancho Bernardo Area 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Staybridge Suites - San Diego Rancho Bernardo Hotel is the favorite extended stay hotel in the Rancho Bernardo Area. We offer free high speed internet access in every guest room and daily complimentary buffet breakfast! Our all suite hotel offers studio, one bedroom and two-bedroom/two bath suites. Each Suite features fully equipped kitchens, including microwave, 2-burner stove top, dishwasher, ice maker and coffeemaker, perfect for any extended stay. The Staybridge Suites - Rancho Bernardo has spacious suites featuring separate living and work areas as standard amenities. Each suite has a direct dial phone number, two phone lines, speaker phone, voice mail, data port and free high-speed Internet access. We also have on site 24 hour business center, Bridgemart convenience store, fitness center and free laundry facilities. Our outdoor heated pool and sport court are available year round. Complimentary shuttle service is offered within a 5 mile radius of the hotel, Mon. - Fri. 8am - 7pm. The Staybridge Suites - San Diego Rancho Bernardo Hotel is conveniently located adjacent to Northrop Grumman and Scripps Hospital. In addition our location provides great access to all of the companies that call Rancho Bernardo home. These companies include Sony, Lockheed Martin, BAE Systems, SAIC, Hewlett Packard (HP), NOKIA, Pulse, Siemens, NCR, Intel, Delta Designs and many others. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Staybridge Suites San Diego Rancho Bernardo Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staybridge Suites San Diego Rancho Bernardo Area Hotel San Diego
San Diego Staybridge Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing