We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Staybridge Suites San Diego Rancho Bernardo Area
Nearby Hotels
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Mission Bay(San Diego)(Great Value!)
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines(La Jolla)(Great Value!)
US$230
US$194
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Blue Sea Beach Hotel(San Diego)(Great Value!)
US$210
US$204
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$321
US$242
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$179
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Sofia Hotel(San Diego)(Great Value!)
US$276
US$202
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Bahia Resort Hotel(San Diego)(Great Value!)
US$213
US$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa(San Diego)(Great Value!)
US$221
US$183
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Paradise Point Resort & Spa(San Diego)
US$336
US$172
ParadisePoint.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Omni San Diego Hotel(San Diego)(Great Value!)
US$325
Hotelpower.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (181)
Filter reviews
181 results
Traveller rating
113
48
13
6
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
113
48
13
6
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbasketball courtstay bridgecarmel mountain ranchfull kitchensmall kitchenfreeway accessliving areabusiness parkown bathroomsafari parkan excellent place to stayevening receptionhome away from homesocial hourkids loved the poolextra spacetwo nights
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
79 - 84 of 181 reviews
Reviewed 29 March 2014

I have stayed at this hotel many, many times. Most recently for the last week. I stay on business and it is perfect for that. The location is great. It is about 30 minutes from the San Diego Airport...a very easy drive up the 163 and then I-15. It is located near many decent restaurants and other amenities. Should you have a need for Costco, that is a mere one minute drive. Just thought I would through that in for the sake of comedy.

The rooms are spacious, clean and quiet. They all have mini kitchens which include a decent size fridge, microwave and two burner stove. I don't ever cook there but it is great to have the fridge. The shower is clean, drains well and has great water pressure. The bed is comfortable although nothing close to a heavenly bed.

Breakfast is included and so is a happy hour that serves enough food to be dinner. I am pretty picky about food and so it is hit or miss for me. The breakfast includes the usual carb heavy stuff and eggs which usually look pretty disgusting. The melon is good. Sometimes the happy hour food is really good. And the guy who runs the happy hour tries so hard to make it nice. If you don't like this and want something nearby, there are many decent choices within a 5 minute drive. I love Café Luna and was actually pleasantly surprised by Claim Jumper. There is a Panera Bread 2 minutes away which is a great choice if you don't like the "free" breakfast.

There is a small gym with two treadmills and an elliptical. There is also one weight machine. Nothing great but it works.

My experience with the staff has all been exceptional. Parking is also always very easy. Freeway access is great and the place is very quiet.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank austinjjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tpeterson20, Director of Sales at Staybridge Suites San Diego Rancho Bernardo Area, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Dearest Guest,
We appreciate the time you took to review our property as a whole. There is something very refreshing about having an indifferent perspective that not only gives us positive feeback but also allows us the opportunity to improve. Thank you so much for giving that chance and rest assured, there are new changes already in place to make our 'home away from home' even better when you visit next. If there is every anything you need please let us know. Warm wishes and safe travels!

-The Staybridge Family-

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

Everything in San Diego was either booked or over $300 a night, so we decided on this hotel even though it was north of San Diego. The hotel is newer, stay very helpful. Free breakfast was nice. Costco is 2 blocks away, along with lots of shopping and restaurants. We enjoyed our stay here. But no jacuzzi, the smoke alarm went off and their Maintenence had gone home, so we just had to pull out the batteries and sleep without the alarm. Overall, good hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank joyful1131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tpeterson20, Guest Relations Manager at Staybridge Suites San Diego Rancho Bernardo Area, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2014

Dearest Guest,
Thank you so much for your review on our facilities and logicality within Rancho Bernardo. It is true that our property hasn't customarily offered an evening engineer, although as a result of your review we've begun to implement a new system during the busiest period of the week. Our engineers will now be available in the early evenings for any guest who is inconvenienced forthwith. We deeply regret any indication that assistance wasn't at your disposal. Our front desk is on property 24 hours a day and should be the appropriate resource to resolve or present options if a matter remains in question. If that was not the case, once again, we do apologize.

During your next trip out, we'd love to have you here with us so that our invitation to "enjoy the comforts of Staybridge Rancho Bernardo" aren't in vain. Please contact our Sales or Management team at your earliest opportunity so that we can schedule a time to make your stay everything it should've been. We wish you the all the best and look forward to welcoming you back.

-Kindest Regards-

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

As a modern suite hotel in a convenient, pleasant north San Diego location, there's a lot to like about the Staybridge. It offers amenities similar to other properties in the chain (like complimentary midweek happy hours with food), and members of their IHG rewards club are upgraded to even nicer rooms. But where this hotel failed us was with breakfast. Staybridge breakfasts are usually pretty good, in keeping with the general trend of decent breakfasts in fancy "extended stay" hotels. But this time, the hot food consisted of tasteless egg Frisbees that we could put a slice of ham into. The fruit salad also looked unappealing. We ate little and had an early lunch.

There was also some annoying plumbing noises in our room -- loud enough to wake me up in the morning when a neighbor turned on some water. Not sure if there's anything the hotel can do about this, or whether it was an engineering failure when the hotel was built.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
Thank Dave's_reviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tpeterson20, Guest Relations Manager at Staybridge Suites San Diego Rancho Bernardo Area, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2014

Dearest Guest,
Thank you very much for writing a detailed review that was commendatory yet objective when needed. Each item addressed was noted and is at present being addressed by the management on site. Rest assured your comments have not fallen on deaf ears and to date we have already begun to implement new and exciting menu items for our breakfast that will not only add value to the overall experience but refresh any sense of mediocrity in the minds of those who serve you in the buffet area. We accept full responsibility and apologize for the misrepresentation of our brands standard.

With respects to the mentioning of the plumbing noise, we would love to speak further on this matter in person or on the telephone if by chance. Part of being an active property is preparing to resolve issues such as these immediately so that any unsatisfactory guest experience is never duplicated in like manner. I would encourage you to reach out to any member of our management team so that we may take the corrective measures and also update you on the progress. We'd love to have you back as soon as possible; for that, I would contact our sales department so that we may identify your booking and show our gratitude for allowing us to make the best of the potential we're confident we have. We wish you all the best and hope to hear from you shortly.

-Kindest Regards-

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

I have been checking in and out here for a few times for the past one year. I have to say the light dinner that they provide here from Tuesday to Thursday got better and better. I realised they got a new cook who is able to cook excellent food. Now I always rush back from work to have the dinner not because it is free... All because it is tasty !!!!!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OPL1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tpeterson20, Guest Relations Manager at Staybridge Suites San Diego Rancho Bernardo Area, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2014

Dearest Guest,
We sincerely appreciate the recognition of our newest staff member. Finding the correct people for a position in hospitality can be lofty but we are in complete agreement in your comments. Any specific kudos in our individual departments only motivates us to take our level of service to greater lengths. In essence, what you've done is not only complemented our staff, you've also created a sounding board to do even better things from hereon. We'll be excited to have you back at your earliest convenience. In the meantime, we wish you all the best and the safest travels!

-Kindest Regards-

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

This is a beautiful hotel located in a great location. My family and I stay here for three night it was so wonderful. I travel a lot and this IHG is great customer service hands down was great starting from the time we checked in until we checked out. The breakfast had fresh fruit each morning and in the evening they had meet and greet and the food was also good. They also had a shuttle to take you around within the area.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
Thank 1ibrahim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tpeterson20, Guest Relations Manager at Staybridge Suites San Diego Rancho Bernardo Area, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2014

Dearest Guest,
Your review of our property is precisely what we want to create for our guests. You are not a "customer" to us; you are our 'guest', and having you here with us means that we don't simply want to have a place for you to sleep. To our team, it means giving you a place that you'd want to return to because of the experience. Thank you so much for taking the time out and please let us know when your next trip is planned so we can properly thank you in person. Warm wishes and safest travels!

-Kindest Regards-

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews