We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing attention to detail & incredibly helpful staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Renaissance San Diego Downtown Hotel
Ranked #108 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Amazing attention to detail & incredibly helpful staff!”
Reviewed 13 February 2013

This hotel is super posh and the best price we could find with the location we wanted. Just minutes walking from Gaslamp, Little Italy, and Hillcrest, the W puts you right where you want to be for great food and fun nightlife! The hotel itself offers a really hip and fun atmosphere and an incredibly helpful and friendly staff! Every time we asked for a recommendation on a restaurant or a place to check-out, they gave us great advice that was awesome every time! The rooms were very contemporary, but comfortable with plenty of space (and a really cool window chase lounge!) They also offer a car service that will take you places around the city at no charge! I have nothing but excellent things to say about this place! A must-stay for sure!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JBthatsme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brad_Wulff, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance San Diego Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, 18 February 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post about your recent stay in San Diego! I am so glad you loved the location, we are conveniently located downtown between Gaslamp and Little Italy.
I do hope we can welcome you back again soon!

Sincerely,
Brad W
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,735 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    669
    536
    291
    143
    96
See reviews for
156
503
158
578
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2013

Its a very cool hotel with nice rooms and attention to details. The staff is friendly and professional. The bars and restaurants of this hotel is awesome and the after work lounge is great way to finish up work in a nice way.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MartinGranstrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2013

Spent one night here on business. Decent enough location that seemed walkable to many of the attractions/restaurants of downtown San Diego. Check in was smooth and since my room wasn't ready, the front desk offered to call my cell to advise when it was ready for check-in. I thought this was a nice touch and allowed me to walk down to the Gaslamp Dist for lunch. Bar staff and bell staff were friendly and welcoming.

Had a "Wonderful Room" which was starting to show its age. The carpet was dirty bordering on filthy in many places and the other furnishings in the room seemed dated and worn. The bathroom featured the usual W amenities, but the shower had a half screen, which meant that the bathroom floor was wet by the time I was done showering.

All in all, not the usual high-quality W experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheHappyTraveler73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brad_Wulff, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance San Diego Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, 18 February 2013
Hello, and thank you staying at W San Diego on your recent trip! We do see a lot of business travelers due to our downtown location.

I am sorry to see your room was not up to standards, I will be sure to let our Style department know. It is always our intention to provide immaculate rooms for each of our guests.
I hope you enjoyed lunch at Gaslamp, next time you will have to try our new restaurant Kelvin!
Looking forward to welcoming you back again,

Brad W
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
las vegas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2013

The staff is very helpful. The decor appealing. The bed super comfy. But it's nearly midnight and I can't sleep because of the loud music coming from the hotel's club. I wanted a hotel for sleeping not a rave.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank christiepooh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brad_Wulff, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance San Diego Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, 18 February 2013
Hello, and thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. I am glad you enjoyed the room and our Talent, but I am sorry to see your stay was less than relaxing.

While W San Diego does have a great Rooftop Bar, we usually do not hear too many issues with guests reporting noise. As a hub of the nightlife, we often have music playing, especially on weekends.

I do hope next time you are looking for a fun night out, you think of us.

Sincerely,
Brad W
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hadley, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
110 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2013

Overall all was a good stay. I titled this "Trying too hard" because of this:
1. The first thing I noticed when I walked into the room was a 4ft x 4ft chalk board on the wall (see the picture). With chalk and eraser. Yes, the board was clean, but really? A chalk board?
2. The shower must be one of those "new wave" things. It was half of a glass panel and the panel had a big hole in it (see the picture). I guess you put your hand in the hole to turn on the shower and adjust the temp. BUT, when you take a shower the water gets everywhere! I had to put a towel on the toilet - otherwise it was soaked by the water spraying through the hole, the shower mat and an extra towel were drenched after the shower, too. Maybe I just don't get it, I don't know.
3. At night the bar area turns into a loud heavy bass teenie-bopper pop music place. Don't know why, most of the guests I saw were older than 12 years old and at least half of them weren't female.
4. The room had two bottles of wine and two glasses in it too (looks like $20 for a 1/2 a bottle) as well as snacks and a "Get Lucky Essentials" kit containing condoms, lubricant and a pair if breath mints.
Besides all that, the bed was outstanding for sleep! There is a Karl Strauss Brewery/Pub literally two minutes away and WELL worth going to.
The staff, I must say, were absolutely great! VERY happy to go out of their way to help you out. I did notice, though, that the valet guys/doormen were the best informed about how to get to places - other staff were less knowledgeable about directions and where things are.
Overall, a very good stay I must say.

Room Tip: A usual the higher the floor the quieter the night. Did not stay on a high floor but do not think t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kwhatley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brad_Wulff, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance San Diego Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, 18 February 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post such a detailed review of your stay with us. Guest feedback is vital for us to ensure we are creating great stays for our guests.
I am sorry to see you did not enjoy some of the lighthearted elements we have in our rooms. The chalkboards tend to be guest favorites! Our Style department likes to leave notes, and guests usually get a kick out of leaving their mark during their stay. Those little touches, along with the vibrant nightlife, is a keystone of the W brand. All of our hotels, while differing in locale and design, share these elements across the world. We feature guest DJ’s at our Living Room and Rooftop Bars, and the music can vary from night to night.

I will definitely pass your feedback along on the shower, as it should keep the water in the shower!

I do hope you return in the future, I know we would love to welcome you back!

Sincerely,
Brad W
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin, Tennessee
Level Contributor
105 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2013

The W was clean and the employees were very nice and helpful. It is a modern/contemporary hotel. Wifi is free down in lobby but not in the room. We also had to call down for a coffee maker, we didn't know if it was an over site or they don't put them in rooms. I took advantage of the free "Acura experience" shuttle service. They offer this for anywhere you what to go but I don't think they pick you up from places. The roof top bar was nice and the food was really good.

Room Tip: Get a room with water view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TripMember06172016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brad_Wulff, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance San Diego Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, 18 February 2013
It is always a pleasure to know our Talent impressed our guests, we take service very seriously! We are pleased to offer complimentary high speed wireless internet in our Living Room for all of our guests.

Coffee makers are available upon request in room, but we also offer complimentary coffee in our Living Room daily as well. I am glad you were able to take advantage of our Acura service! You are correct, it is a complimentary one way trip.

We recently renovated our Rooftop bar, and I am thrilled you had a chance to experience it!
Looking forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Sincerely,
Brad W
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Level Contributor
40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2013

Had to stay one night on business recently traveling through San Diego, check in staff courteous, and quick, room was very clean and well maintained, and extremely comfortable. Parking is my pet peeve, so I normally valet, it's $35 a night here, not bad, and really convenient. Executive Admin Kiana helped with a minor booking snafu on my part, made everything work out, thank you for that. Definitely will stay again, and would recommend.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DofSales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
The Westin San Diego
The Westin San Diego
#62 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 876 reviews
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
SpringHill Suites San Diego Downtown/Bayfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Sofia Hotel
The Sofia Hotel
#80 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,354 reviews
Downtown
The Westgate Hotel
The Westgate Hotel
#31 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 969 reviews
Downtown
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
#121 of 279 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance San Diego Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance San Diego Downtown Hotel

Property: Renaissance San Diego Downtown Hotel
Address: 421 West B Street, San Diego, CA 92101 (Formerly W San Diego)
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#37 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#55 Business Hotel in San Diego
#66 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance San Diego Downtown Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a simply delightful experience at the Renaissance San Diego Hotel. Our downtown San Diego hotel's location is perfect, near the historic Gaslamp Quarter and the San Diego Convention Center, as well as close to top shopping and dining. We're also moments from Mission Bay and San Diego Beaches. At our hotel, you'll find luxurious sophistication that allows for memorable moments in San Diego, California. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Marriott, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Renaissance San Diego Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w San Diego Hotel San Diego
w Hotels San Diego
w Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing