We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Engagement Party at Rooftop”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Renaissance San Diego Downtown Hotel
Ranked #101 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
San Diego, California
1 review
“Engagement Party at Rooftop”
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We recently had our engagement party at the W Hotel rooftop. Everything went better than I had anticipated thanks to Jose and his staff. They were super friendly and very attentive the entire night. Jose was very diligent in explaining all of my options. We had plenty of food and drinks for all of our guests and thanks to him, our night was a memorable one.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JC M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,728 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    667
    535
    288
    143
    95
See reviews for
155
502
158
573
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We decided to stay in San Diego for the night last minute and the W hotel had an amazing rate for a Saturday night. The room was clean, the bed was confortable and the enviroment was very cool. The rooftop bar was very nice and worth it to have a drink while enjoying the weather. The hotel is also walking distance to the Gaslamp restaurant area so made it even better that you did not have to take a cab. Check out was easy and would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chiquitin81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange County
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 January 2014

The lobby/lounge "The living room" has gorgeous style and great atmosphere. I love that the well stocked bustling bar is right down stairs in their living room style lounge area. Rooms are pretty average for the 'W' chain. Clean neat lines. Service was EXCELLENT.
Downside: Ice machine is only on every OTHER floor.
Upside: Rooftoop and living room bar is AMAZING!

Tip: Parking is ridiculous at $35/night...park around the corner in one of the overnight lots for $20 bucks per 24hr period. Much cheaper and don't have to wait for your car in the valet.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luvn_red1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
93 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

I was quite impressed by the beautiful living room (lobby) when I arrived, with a great atmosphere.
My room (fabulous room) was nice with a very comfortable bed, but not very big.
For breakfast it was absolutely delicious (as well as dinner at Kelvin restaurant).
Top service and friendly staff.

There are only two things that might be better: the location is so so, as there is not so much to see around the hotel (except the museum of contemporary art, three blocks away), but it's not so far from Gaslamp district. The pool is very small (not big enough to swim for a long time).

Overall W San Diego is a cool hotel with a nice atmosphere and good music.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
60 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

My wife and our 6-year-old just stayed here for 3 nights.
As with most W Hotels, the style is great as is the service—The W San Diego is no exception. The staff was great, the hotel was cool and hip, and the room looked like the typical W room. The gym was smaller than others, but there is a nice outdoor pool and a great rooftop deck with a bar and fire pit. The only downside was the neighborhood—it's walking distance to Little Italy and a bit further to the Gas Lamp area, but it's basically in the downtown area that's just blocks from the court house, and jail, so its surrounded by "bail bonds" shops, and lots of homeless people living on the street. Odd for me to say this, since we live in NYC, but it was more apparent here, probably due to the lack of foot traffic.

Still a nice hotel though.

Room Tip: ask for a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ncoutroulis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We had chosen the W Hotel (Kelvin Restaurant) as the place for our company dinner and the experience was beyond 5 stars for us. The decor was beautiful as they had recently remodeled it, the music was lively and the ambiance was very modern! With 30 guests, we each had a choice of a starter, entree and dessert. The service was excellent and so was the customer service. We enjoyed the after party upstairs at the lounge and found everyone to be exceptionally welcoming. We will come back again for another company function.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael O, General Manager at Renaissance San Diego Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
I am glad to hear that your company dinner was so great and you enjoyed our decor. We did recently renovate all of our public spaces. Our meeting planners deliver an exceptional experience and take the stress out of putting an event together. Our Rooftop Bar is a great way to end any party. The energy of the space always makes for a good time.

We will see you for your next event.

All the best,
Michael O.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Everyone was very friendly from the moment we pulled up the the valet until we checked out. The hotel is beautiful and only one and a half blocks from the train which took us all around town.

I would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sfbaldwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael O, General Manager at Renaissance San Diego Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
I am so glad hear that you enjoyed your stay with us so much. We are in a great location to really explore everything that San Diego has to offer. On your next stay with us, reach out to our Insider Megan. She has a great knowledge of the best places to see in San Diego. She can point you in the direction of a few hidden gems as well.

See you soon.

Michael O.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
The Westin San Diego
The Westin San Diego
#60 of 279 in San Diego
864 reviews
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
SpringHill Suites San Diego Downtown/Bayfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Sofia Hotel
The Sofia Hotel
#80 of 279 in San Diego
1,336 reviews
Downtown
The Westgate Hotel
The Westgate Hotel
#30 of 279 in San Diego
961 reviews
Downtown
The Bristol Hotel
The Bristol Hotel
#66 of 279 in San Diego
1,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance San Diego Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance San Diego Downtown Hotel

Property: Renaissance San Diego Downtown Hotel
Address: 421 W B St, San Diego, CA 92101-3501 (Formerly W San Diego)
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#55 Business Hotel in San Diego
#66 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance San Diego Downtown Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a simply delightful experience at the Renaissance San Diego Downtown Hotel. Our luxurious sophistication provides a unique experience for guests looking for memorable moments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance San Diego Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w San Diego Hotel San Diego
w Hotels San Diego
w Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing