We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and attentive service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Republic San Diego, Autograph Collection
Ranked #107 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We opted to stay here because of its location. Gaslamp Quarter, light rail station, and even up to SeaPort village were all within walking distance. It's perfect since we mainly roamed around the downtown area and did not want to rent a car. Hotel staff was very helpful at arranging a cab whenever we need. I enjoyed their complimentry beverage while using wifi at its chic hotel lobby. A very relaxing stay overall.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wenyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael O, General Manager at Hotel Republic San Diego, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Hi there!

I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your stay so much! We are in a great location for exploring everything downtown San Diego has to offer. If you need some recommendations, our Insider Megan would be glad to help you. She always has a few hidden gems to share. On your next visit, take a trip to our Rooftop Bar for a cocktail near the fire pit. It's a popular spot for locals and guests alike.

See you next time,
Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,798)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

522 - 528 of 1,798 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2014

I find the hotel accommodations average, but the service for me has been excellent. Very friendly staff at the desk, valet, and Kelvin restaurant. Food in the restaurant was terrific albeit pricey for soup and salad. Rooms don't have a refrig, microwave, or comfortable chair, had to use the bed to read which is a disappointment for this price. Location is close to ocean walk but you do have to walk through some questionable areas and cross rat racks to get to it. Overall this place is average for amenities but above average for service.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Mtarmygriz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael O, General Manager at Hotel Republic San Diego, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Hello!

We are currently in the process of refreshing many aspects of our hotel. Most recently we underwent a 2 million dollar renovation of our Living Room, Kelvin and Rooftop Bar. We do have a refrigerator in all of our guest rooms and are happy to remove the minibar contents so that you can use it however your choose. If you need anything else, just ask. The window seat is a popular spot for our guests to relax with a book or catch up some work.

I hope we can welcome you back soon.

Best,
Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

I'm am here right now. I book this through name your own price on priceline.com. I'm am very disappointed. There is no jacuzzi, the pool is tiny. There is no coffee maker, refrigerator or microwave in the room. I'm wondering what makes this
a 4 star hotel? I would never spend this much money on a hotel of this caliber. I'm really disappointed. The carpet in the room is really
stained also. I tried to cancel but of course since I did it through priceline couldn't. I just wanted to warn people that it's not a star quality. I wish I could cancel the remainder of my stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Johnathan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael O, General Manager at Hotel Republic San Diego, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Hi Johnathan,

We do our best to ensure all of our guests are well informed on what our hotel has to offer before they arrive. However, it is difficult for us to communicate many details with you when you book with a third party. We always invite you to call us with any questions prior to your arrival so that you might enjoy every aspect of your stay. If you need anything at all throughout your stay, please give us a call at Whatever/Whenever. We will will be glad to bring a coffeemaker to your room or empty your fridge before your stay so that you can use it for anything you wish. We are in the process of replacing all of our carpeting and should be finished very soon.

I hope we can welcome you back for a different experience.

Best,
Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

I have to say I disagree with the people who say they were wishing for more. I had a great stay. Yes, parking overnight is $37 but since there is constuction in the area it was nice to be able to come and go as we please and not have to worry about it.
I also have to say that I LOVED the soap! It smelled amazing!
One of my favorite things about the hotel was that they offered fruit water and had rice crispie treats. That was kind of a fun surprise.
Also, it IS within walking distance of both Little Italy and the Gas Lamp Quarter. Yes it is a few blocks but def. doable.

Beds were amazing
Customer service was AWESOME
Great location - right in the middle of downtown
LOVED the coffee bar in the mornings
Also loved that you had to use a key for the elevators to take you anywhere...so it was a nice security measure.
It IS a pricey place to stay but I am not sure what the average cost per night is in California.

Room Tip: Use the valet parking they get your car to you fast and are super friendly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charity P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael O, General Manager at Hotel Republic San Diego, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Hi Charity!

I couldn't say it better myself! We are always looking for new ways to take care of our guests. it's the little things that make for a great stay. Take as many rice crispie treats as you want! I'm glad you enjoyed them! We are in a great spot to walk over the Little Italy or Gaslamp Quarter. If you need a few recommendations, please let us introduce you to our Insider, Megan. She'd be glad to show you around and give you a few recommendations.

We look forward to seeing you back soon!

Best,
Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

My wife and I spent 5 days at the "W" earlier this month; and,we expected it to be as wonderful as it is in other locations - this is certainly way-off the mark from the "W" in NYC. To begin with, the location, which is right outside of Little Italy..is not really within walking distance of the Gaslamp District as is advertised...unless a 25-30 minute walk is your idea of close... The cost of parking in any city Hotel is never a bargain, but, $37.00 was new record for us...In San Diego, for the most part there is only on-street metered parking, or, self-serve parking lots and I found only one that offered "overnight" parking - however, you did have to walk a few blocks through an area of homeless people and drunks - a little sketchy...
On the plus side - the rooms, while small, were a departure from the usual hotel room with an "all-white" decor and a somewhat awkward window seat in place of a balcony. I agree with other reviews that for the per night price demanded - they should provide free WiFi and not charge a daily fee of $15.00...let's face it - how long is anyone going to stay online in their room? However, the downstairs Living Room where we spent each morning "online" was very comfortable and cozy with a number of private nook seating. The free coffee each morning in the lobby was delish - a step up from the burnt Bunn coffee you see too often. The customer service was impeccable and the Rooftop lounge was a nightly stopover with drink specials and/or "Happy Hour" specials almost every night.
All in all we enjoyed our stay - but left "w"ishing for more.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank amazn57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I've stayed at many W hotels around the world and I can confirm that this hotel is NOT at the W standard even though it is almost the same price as other W's

Pros
Nice roof top bar

Cons
Unhelpful front desk staff
There is not much around the hotel open at weekends
Over priced valet parking (they park your car in the public car park across the street)
Paper thin room walls - I can't stress this enough. You will hear EVERYTHING at all times of the day!
Smell of weed in hallways
Wifi is $15!

We were woken at 2am by the next room having SEVEN people over for a party. Security asked them to leave which they did but again at 3.30 it started again. Security didn't come back again. The worst thing being they FORCE you to sign a disclaimer that you will not have more than 4 people in the rooms or kick you out. If you force everyone to sign that enforce it!

I will never go back or recommend this hotel to anyone. Ever.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank nycmw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael O, General Manager at Hotel Republic San Diego, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Hello,

Thank you for bringing your experience to our attention. I'm glad you had the opportunity to check out Rooftop Bar. It's a great spot in Downtown San Diego for kicking back with a cocktail and enjoying some live beats spun by local DJ's.

The parking available in downtown is very limited. You are welcome to find street parking if you would like. We do have a parking lot across the street that we use for our valet. We are in a great location to enjoy both Gaslamp Quarter or Little Italy. You can even take a short cab ride over to Mission Beach. If you need a few recommendations, let us connect you with our Insider Megan. She'd be happy to help.

If you have any issues throughout your stay, please let us know. While we did take care of the party next door, we won't know if the individuals returned without a call to our security team. We do enforce our 4 guests to a room policy, but don't police our guests. We never allow any guest to use drugs at our hotel and will immediately involve the authorities should this occur.

I hope we can welcome you back for a different experience.

Best,
Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Pros: excellent customer service, like most W's. Fast check in / out.
Excellent internet speed.
Roof Top Bar (which is on the second floor, by the way) is a great place for drinks and a movie. They will provide blankets if it is chilly.
Located between little Italy and the Grass Lamp District.

Cons: not a good location. Very deserted area at night.
Breakfast: no buffet breakfast, just expensive a la carte items. If you want buffet breakfast, go down a block to the Westin and for $18.00 you can have it. At the W you will get a fancy omelet for that price.
Rooms: I got an upgrade to an Spectacular room, which was very comfortable, but there was nothing "spectacular" about it. Having stayed at 5 W's in last 6 months, I can definitely say not all W's are created equal.
As I do not mind walking down deserted streets at night, I would probably stay here again for the SPG benefits.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lgoncalves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
The Westin San Diego
The Westin San Diego
#66 of 286 in San Diego
989 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown
Downtown
Andaz San Diego
Andaz San Diego
#72 of 286 in San Diego
1,650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
SpringHill Suites San Diego Downtown/Bayfront
Downtown
The Westgate Hotel
The Westgate Hotel
#51 of 286 in San Diego
1,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Republic San Diego, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Republic San Diego, Autograph Collection

Address: 421 West B Street, San Diego, CA 92101 (Formerly Renaissance San Diego Downtown Hotel)
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#55 Business Hotel in San Diego
#66 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: £115 - £268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Republic San Diego, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Republic takes design cues from San Diego’s oceanside location, with lofty ceilings and chandeliers made from reclaimed driftwood. Coastal inspiration continues in the guest rooms, furnished in contemporary neutral tones accented by blue tie-dyed pillows. With a convenient downtown address in the heart of the city’s social hub, guests enjoy quick access to the historic 16-block Gaslamp Quarter, trendy Little Italy, the San Diego Bay with its world-famous aquarium, the ballpark, and the convention center. It can all be taken in from the hotel’s stylish rooftop lounge, where craft cocktails and light fare pair perfectly with breathtaking city and ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Republic San Diego, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w San Diego Hotel San Diego
w Hotels San Diego
w Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing