We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beef tongue, Bacon wrapped scallops, chicken hearts”
Review of Gaijin - CLOSED

Gaijin
Cuisines: Japanese
Restaurant details
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beef tongue, Bacon wrapped scallops, chicken hearts”
Reviewed 1 August 2013

If you are looking for something different or looking for some place to share tapas, then this is the place to go. They do Korean Hibachi with their own flair. Great little place.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    2
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
“Great food in the Gaslamp”
Reviewed 24 July 2013

My husband and I ate here our first night in San Diego. The food was delicious and they have late night hours! We ordered their fish and chips which was hamachi sashimi with jalapeno and okinawan chips. We also ordered their drunken noodles which had bacon and jidori chicken. We enjoyed both dishes as well as the restaurant decor. They have other items on the menu such as bao bao, yakitori, other noodle dishes and tapas. I will definitely eat here again for their take on Japanese fusion cuisine and snacks.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sfslinky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
452 reviews
275 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
“Authentic Japanese”
Reviewed 8 May 2013 via mobile

Went here based on local SD advice.

Gaijin is in the Gaslamp district, on 4th Ave. Quite hard to park on the street so we parked in the nearby Westfield carpark. No valet parking offered at the restaurant.

They iffer both a small dish menu, yakitori, and noodles (both normal and with broth).

We had 'fish and chips' (sashimi and okinawan potato chips) which were amazing; 'dirty' fried rice ( good but not the best dish); chicken kagaare (awesome fried chicken with delicious dipping sauce); edimame; three bao bao (like banh mi, absolutely fantastic, the beef cheek one was the best of the three (others were chicken and shrimp)).

Spicy miso ramen was also fantastic. Great gluten free options as well (separate menu).

Lots of Japanese beer available including Orion (hard to find elsewhere). Also had the Midnight Moon sake which was great; of interest, they sell Japanese whisky, including Yamazaki 18 year for $27 a glass.

A great, authentic Japanese night out - a fantastic find in SD.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank raura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
339 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
“Great dining experience”
Reviewed 7 May 2013

I went with a large party, and we were able to try many dishes. Great place to go when you want to share and try new things. They will also tone down some of their spicier dishes if you don't want spicy food. Service was great. Had a lot of signature cocktails that the drinkers in our party seemed to enjoy.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cemckeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wow”
Reviewed 28 March 2013

We were looking for small plates and couldn't have been happier. In one word... Delicious! Make sure you try the tongue and cheek bao bao. Oh, and if you order the Yuzu, don't be shy when it come in a very girly glass!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Downey77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gaijin also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing