We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful People, Great month long stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residence Inn San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Scripps Poway

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Residence Inn San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Scripps Poway
Ranked #88 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Carteret, North Carolina
Level Contributor
220 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Wonderful People, Great month long stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

Returned for an additional month long stay during January, previous visit was Aug-Sep. Like me if you have to work in San Diego this is a great place to stay. It is nice to see the same friendly faces. The staff is very stable and create a warm and welcoming environment. The counter staff always greeted me by name and everyone else smiled and spoke to me. They all continually asked if there was anything they could do for me. The common areas are clean and modern.
One of the elevators' floor carpet became stained and the carpet was replaced the same week.
One weekend there must have been a big kids basketball tournament in the area as the hotel was filled with families. On that Sunday the hotel was asked to move the breakfast time ahead to allow some of the early players an opportunity to eat before the normal 0700 start. The hotel added extra kitchen help that Sunday and opened at 0600 and stayed open until the normal 1000. My room was large and comfortable on the second floor overlooking the pool. Housekeeping was many different ladies and all of them were professional and kept my room in great shape.
Thanks Carly M. for setting up the tour for our group. Thanks Derek E. for managing to make our stay enjoyable again. Pass my job well done to the following staff; Margaret, Karlie, Cindy, Sonya, Elizabeth, Maria, Ruth, Rosa, Tamara, Kenton, Kyle, Nhoree, Cynthia, Heather, Laura, Alexis, Kathy, and all the others I forgot.

Room Tip: I liked overlooking the pool area rather than a room on the East side looking at vegetation. There...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harold J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly_Herrington, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Scripps Poway, responded to this review, 8 February 2014
I'd like to take this opportunity to thank you for the review! Our team is committed to making our guests' stay both enjoyable and comfortable. We value your feedback, and happy to hear that we took good care of you. We hope you'll come back and visit soon.

Warm regards,
Kelly Herrington
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    241
    77
    14
    6
    2
See reviews for
160
40
11
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Pa
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

I love this Residence Inn! From Derek, the manager, making copies for me, to the help Javier gave me in jump starting my rental car, this hotel exceeded all of my expectations. I am a gold member in the Marriott Rewards program, and travel regularly for work & pleasure. This establishment and the top notch service provided blows many 5 star hotel out of the water!

Our room was beautiful and spacious and the location central. This is THE place to stay when in San Diego!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank srock11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly_Herrington, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Scripps Poway, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Thank you so much for the positive review and comments. We are lucky to have a great hotel and an even better staff to share with our guests and it always feels good to be recognized for our service. We hope we'll see you again soon!.


Warm Regards,

Kelly Herrington
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Ledge, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

I travel a great deal for work and must say the Scripps Poway Residence Inn is an excellent extended stay hotel. The staff was very personable and ingratiating. Laura, Alexis, Nhoree, Cindy, Kyle, Matilde, Efrain, and Javier were all very professional, helpful, pleasant, and experienced in their respective positions. It would be a true pleasure to have these people at any hotel I may stay at in the future. The rooms and other accommodations are truly clean and very well maintained. I tip my hat in thanks to the owners and managers of this hotel for the building and the staff they have hired to make this stay a joy and a pleasure.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 111Erick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly_Herrington, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Scripps Poway, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
I'd like to take this opportunity to thank you for the review! Our team is committed to making our guests' stay both enjoyable and comfortable. We value your feedback, and are grateful for the recognition you placed on our staff. It was our pleasure to have you stay with us.


Warm regards,
Kelly Herrington
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

A wonderful place to stay if you must be out of your home for repairs, emergency etc. All staff was caring and friendly. A safe environment. I would be back in a heartbeat.
Thanks for making a difficult time as easy as possible.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank June S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly_Herrington, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Scripps Poway, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Thank you for your great review! We work very hard to maintain a culture of service and friendliness and we're delighted that we were able to demonstrate that during your stay with us. Glad you're back home and we were able to help.

Warm Regards,
Kelly Herrington
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Mateo, California
Level Contributor
66 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

A year ago, this was our first experience with the Residence Inn brand, and after staying at other properties, they truly set the bar.

I was expecting a normal amount of wear and tear since our visit a year ago but the room and entire property are still extremely well maintained. We got a corner room near the side door on the ground floor. And although we saw many families, with children too, we were never bothered by any noise.

Our toddler slept on the pullout bed that I found rather lumpy but he was thrilled with the large bed. I wouldn't recommend it to an adult though! Sleeping on the sofa is just fine! Our infant slept in the pack n play and that came with a bed sheet *and* cover that extended over the sides and top. This is really a hygienic solution to the non-washable parts of the pack n play. There was sufficient space, though tight, for our family to move around for the two nights we were there.

So what's sets them apart? Excellent service- prompt clean up during breakfast, helpful at the front desk (more on that later). Grrrreat breakfast selection (tuxedo muffins, Greek yogurt!), convenient evening meal (seems to be meatless except for Wednesdays which is the BBQ night), tea/hot chocolate and a large fruit bowl at the lobby always, free parking.

They had the best ticket prices for Seaworld and Legoland, better than other discounts (AAA included) we found. And when they tried to book us the tickets and the system didn't cooperate, Derek said go buy them at the gate and we'll refund you the difference. I was a little skeptical that the person manning the desk in the evening would honor that when we returned. But they did! No questions, no hassle. I'm really impressed they honored the ticket prices they listed, when they could have easily blamed the system and absolved themselves of any responsibility.

We moved to a Residence Inn closer to Seaworld for the subsequent nights we were in the area. It was a mistake to expect the same exceptional standards found here!

One drawback though was the slow wifi. I couldn't upload or send pictures of our trip. And the experience is only half as good if you can't put it up on Facebook/twitter/blog! :P still wouldn't stop me from returning. This is going to be our go-to place when we travel to SD!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FriesAndFoieGras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly_Herrington, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Scripps Poway, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Thank you for the GREAT review! We value your feedback and appreciate you taking the time to evaluate your stay. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the staff took good care of you. We hope you come back and visit soon.

Warm Regards,

Kelly Herrington
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

The residence inn is literally 2 min off the highway exit, which makes it easy to get to your SD attractions, as well as 2 min to grocery, drug stores and fast food restaurants.
We had a one bed room for our family of 4. We made good use of the kitchen and made lunches for our visit of the Balboa park and zoo. Having a kitchen is definitely a plus for us, as we saved money from cooking our own meals.
There is free parking and wifi, but slowwwww wifi during popular web surfing hours (9~11pm etc)
Just make sure to use the interenet first thing when you wake up, and it should work just fine.
There is a pretty decent comp breakfast with DIY waffles, hashbrowns, patties, yougurt, fruits and even rice!
No hot tub, but has an outdoor pool. A bit cold for me in December.
Theres also free dinner(NICE!) on Mondays ~ Thursdays. First time I've seen a hotel provide dinner on top of breakfast!
Good value for the money!

Green Features: the breakfast area only has one trash can for all the food scraps an plates. Should make more efforts in recycling and composting.
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ching_wa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly_Herrington, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Scripps Poway, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share a review of on Trip Advisor. I appreciate you sharing your positive experiences with us. It is nice to hear that you found the property to meet your needs during your stay here in San Diego. Hope you to see you again in the future.

Thanks Again,

Kelly Herrington
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vacaville, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2013

We booked 20 rooms at the Residence Inn for out of town guest for our daughters wedding. The service and staff went well beyond expectations. The night before the wedding They let us take over the breakfast area to have a game night. The night after the wedding we had a family BBQ. The staff let us not only use their cooking utensils, but again use their breakfast area, plates. All staff were friendly at all times. They went out of their way to help and may the entire stay pleasant for all the guest. The rooms were comfortable with plenty of space. Breakfast staff Maria treated us like family. Breakfast was quite filling for a freebe.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank b r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly_Herrington, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Scripps Poway, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Greetings, and thank for writing about your experience on TripAdvisor. We were so pleased to hear you had an enjoyable stay. At Residence Inn, we aspire to meet the high expectations travelers have come to expect of Marriott, and we're glad to know we met that goal. If you're ever in the San Diego area again for business or leisure, we'd love to have you stay with us.

Warm Regards,

Kelly Herrington
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
0.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Scripps Poway
4.1 mi away
Staybridge Suites San Diego Rancho Bernardo Area
5.3 mi away
Residence Inn San Diego Sorrento Mesa/Sorrento Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Residence Inn San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Carmel Mountain Ranch
7.6 mi away
Residence Inn San Diego Del Mar
4.5 mi away
Staybridge Suites San Diego - Sorrento Mesa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Scripps Poway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Scripps Poway

Property: Residence Inn San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Scripps Poway
Address: 12011 Scripps Highlands Dr, & Scripps Poway Pkwy, San Diego, CA 92131-5156 (Formerly Residence Inn San Diego Scripps Poway Parkway)
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in San Diego
#4 Business Hotel in San Diego
#37 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Scripps Poway 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our extended stay hotel offers 95 Marriott suites each with separate living and sleeping areas and fully equipped kitchens. We offer perfect extended-stay accommodations by combining all the comforts of home, including wireless high speed internet, hot complimentary full breakfast buffet, outdoor pool and much more. We are located just minutes away from Rancho Bernardo, Poway, and San Diego business parks, and we are a short distance from southern California's beaches, Sea World, the San Diego Zoo, the San Diego Wild Animal Park, and other area attractions. When visiting San Diego, the Residence Inn by Marriott - San Diego/Rancho Bernardo/Scripps-Poway is the perfect choice for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Residence Inn San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Scripps Poway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn San Diego Scripps Poway Parkway Hotel San Diego
San Diego Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing