We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious, Quiet and a great breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Scripps Poway
Ranked #98 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We booked mainly because of the great rating on tripadvisor. What a great place the room was spacious and QUIET. The front desk staff went out of their way to help even if it was just tourist information. No charge for car parking and a very comprehensive breakfast included. Someone has the management act together. Well done

Room Tip: Back of the hotel (away from the pool) if you don't have children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank edis1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly_Herrington, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Scripps Poway, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Thank you for the review! We value your feedback and appreciate you taking the time to evaluate your stay. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the staff took good care of you. We hope you come back and visit soon.

Warm Regards,

Kelly Herrington
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (354)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

131 - 137 of 354 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2014

We stayed during the weekdays, reserved a one room suite.
The property is clean and new.
Love the breakfast and afternoon refreshment, which is actually very comprehensive that it's basically dinner
the staff is super friendly and courteous
We had a small issue with the AC/vent, and the staff handled the matter with utmost professionalism and courtesy.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. This will be our go to place whenever we travel to SD. Kudos to the residence inn SD scripps entire staff, you really made our week fantastic !

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank kl1118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly_Herrington, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Scripps Poway, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

I'd like to take this opportunity to thank you for the review! Our team is committed to making our guests' stay both enjoyable and comfortable. We value your feedback, and are grateful for the recognition you placed on breakfast and the staff. We hope you'll come back and visit soon.

Warm regards,
Kelly Herrington
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

I stayed here on a work trip and the room itself was fantastic, the noise level from outside was a little much. My room was directly above the pool (I was on the 3rd floor) but even at close to 10pm (when the pool closed) it was still loud. Much of that was just kids having fun, which is great for a family trip, just not ideal for the business traveler with a 3am wake up call. Next time I'm in the area, I'd likely stay again (good price, good location - especially if you're spending time north of San Diego) but I'd request a room on the opposite side of the building.

Room Tip: Avoid staying anywhere close to the pool. Stay on the opposite side of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank BJStella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly_Herrington, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Scripps Poway, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Thank for taking the time to write a review of your experience at my hotel on Trip Advisor. I want to apologize that the hotel was not up to par. I will follow through by sharing your comments with the appropriate departments to help improve our service levels in the affected areas for you and future guests. We hope to see you in the near future so that we may provide you with the excellent service you are accustomed to from Marriott.

Sincerely,
Kelly Herrington
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We stayed here on our recent visit to San Diego. Hotels in the downtown area were almost double the price of this hotel, and they also charged for parking, which didn't make sense. We stayed here as a group of 3 families with young children. I would definitely recommend this hotel to other travelers.

The rooms were spacious, and clean. They come with a kitchenette that includes all basic supplies, making it perfect to store items in the refrigerator or cook up a quick meal. The hotel offers a shopping service as well for groceries and other supermarket items. You leave the list with the hotel, and your items are delivered and charged to your room later that day. I found this to be particularly convenient, although I didn't use the service during my stay.

Housekeeping is outstanding. The ladies were all friendly and cordial, and did their jobs professionally. We asked for extra blankets for the pullout sofa, and got those immediately. Later we discovered someone in our party had forgot their toothbrush, the same lovely lady from housekeeping came to our room with a selection of colors to choose from. It's the small touches like that, which we will remember.

Parking was free, and ample. We had a large SUV and never had a problem finding a spot to park.

Breakfast selections were limited, mainly apples and bananas, boiled eggs, and a selection of cereal. They also had a choice of two kinds muffins and bagels. On a positive note, they do have a DIY waffle maker where you can pour your own batter and make your own waffle. That was a big hit with the children!

Overall, this was a great place to stay for our family. Away from the hustle and bustle (and prices!) of downtown San Diego, yet within easy driving access to all of the San Diego attractions we wanted to visit, such as Balboa Park, Sea World, Lego Land, San Diego Zoo and the Gas Lamp District.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
7  Thank UmTareq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly_Herrington, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Scripps Poway, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share a review of on Trip Advisor. I appreciate you sharing your positive experiences with us. It is nice to hear that you found the property to meet your needs during your stay here in San Diego. We look forward to your next stay.

Warm Regards,

Kelly Herrington
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

The service at this hotel is excellent ...especially the breakfast service.
Ruth does a wonderful job of making sure the breakfast items are replenished in a timely manner
and the food that's supposed to be hot IS hot.

i would like to suggest that management put a "Tips Appreciated" sign in the dining area. Ruth and her co-workers work hard to keep the tables cleared and clean. Not many people are appreciative of their hard work.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Soupcon301E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly_Herrington, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Scripps Poway, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

I'd like to take this opportunity to thank you for the review! Our team is committed to making our guests' stay both enjoyable and comfortable. We value your feedback, and are grateful for the recognition you placed on breakfast. It was our pleasure to have you stay with us.

Warm regards,
Kelly Herrington
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

The location of the hotel is fantastic and very clean. Our experience with the front desk staff was mediocre at best. The pool was average with little service. They ran out of towels during our swim. Took over a hour to have new ones delivered. Overall not a good value for the price. Have stayed at better hotels for less room rates.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CHUMDIGITY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly_Herrington, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Scripps Poway, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Thank for taking the time to write a review of your experience at my hotel on Trip Advisor. I want to apologize that the hotel was not up to par. I will follow through by sharing your comments with the appropriate departments to help improve our service levels in the affected areas for you and future guests. We hope to see you in the near future so that we may provide you with the excellent service you are accustomed to from Marriott.

Sincerely,
Kelly Herrington
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We stayed for a week in June 2014. We have a family of 5, and we had a 2-bedroom suite. We used the pull-out sofa bed for our youngest child. It was very clean, and we really liked having a kitchen and 2 bathrooms. Our kids loved the pool. We enjoyed the free breakfasts each morning. They even have free dinners with beer and wine 3 days per week. We visited many attractions in the San Diego area, and it was usually a 15-20 minute drive. It was an easy drive, so we didn't mind it at all. There is a Chili's across the street from the hotel. There are lots of restaurants and shops about a block down the road from the hotel. I'd would stay here again and recommend the hotel to others.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Kindergal96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly_Herrington, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Scripps Poway, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. We value our guest's comments, and were so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to your next stay.

Warm Regards,
Kelly Herrington
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Diego
0.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Scripps Poway
3.1 mi away
Residence Inn San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Carmel Mountain Ranch
4.1 mi away
Staybridge Suites San Diego Rancho Bernardo Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Residence Inn San Diego Sorrento Mesa/Sorrento Valley
4.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites San Diego-Poway
1.4 mi away
Comfort Suites San Diego Miramar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Scripps Poway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Scripps Poway

Address: 12011 Scripps Highlands Dr, Scripps Poway Pkwy, San Diego, CA 92131-5156 (Formerly Residence Inn San Diego Scripps Poway Parkway)
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in San Diego
#4 Business Hotel in San Diego
#37 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: £111 - £216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Scripps Poway 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our extended stay hotel offers 95 Marriott suites each with separate living and sleeping areas and fully equipped kitchens. We offer perfect extended-stay accommodations by combining all the comforts of home, including wireless high speed internet, hot complimentary full breakfast buffet, outdoor pool and much more. We are located just minutes away from Rancho Bernardo, Poway, and San Diego business parks, and we are a short distance from southern California's beaches, Sea World, the San Diego Zoo, the San Diego Wild Animal Park, and other area attractions. When visiting San Diego, the Residence Inn by Marriott - San Diego/Rancho Bernardo/Scripps-Poway is the perfect choice for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Residence Inn San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Scripps Poway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn San Diego Scripps Poway Parkway Hotel San Diego
San Diego Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing