We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic extended stay with our pets!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Scripps Poway
Ranked #98 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 July 2006

We stayed at this particular Residence Inn for two weeks in July 2006. As we were in the process of moving, we had our pets with us and the fact that they were able to stay here was a big plus.

The hotel is located approximately 20 minutes from downtown San Diego and its attractions. We made the trip almost daily and only hit traffic during weekday rush hour. If you can avoid these times, you'll barely notice that you're not in San Diego proper... except for the fact that it is significantly hotter. Temps average 15 degrees higher here, but rooms are climate controlled by the guests with a digital thermostat that kept us sufficiently cool. Additionally, the pool was refreshing and virtually empty during the day.

We stayed in a one bedroom suite and were pleasantly surprised by its size. The hotel offers studios and two bedroom suites, but I'd recommend the one bedroom over the studio for extended stay guests using the kitchen. Who wants to cook in their bedroom?!

The kitchen was equipped with pots, plates, glasses, and various utentils. Dishwasher with detergent provided. No oven, but a small two-burner electric cooktop and a large microwave, plus a full-sized fridge.

Breakfast was substantial (eggs, potatos, breakfast meat, pancakes/french toast, waffle maker, plus the continental breakfast options). Light dinner was served Monday-Thursday and included salad, beer, wine, sodas, and bread plus the "main course". During our stay, the main course ranged from buffalo chicken strips to hamburges and hotdogs to spaghetti and meatballs.

Service was excellent. All hotel employees were polite and helpful. Parking was generally good; on one occasion we had to park in a lot that seemed to be shared with the other Mariott hotel in this plaza, Springhill Suites.

In the plaza there is also a Chilis and a local seafood restaurant as well as a Wendys. There is a grocery store nearby and if you need them to, the hotel staff will shop for you.

My main criticisms of this property were the lack of wireless internet in the rooms (they do have ethernet hookups in the rooms and wireless in the lobby/tv area) and the limited TV channels. Normally I wouldn't care, but since we were staying for two weeks, a greater selection of "non-news" channels would have been great!

Overall, a lovely pet-friendly property with helpful, service-oriented staff. We'd stay again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: June 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank travlingal05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (353)
There are newer reviews for Residence Inn San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Scripps Poway
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

343 - 349 of 353 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Bellwood, IL
111
Reviewed 20 July 2005

My family and I stayed at this particular Residence Inn from June 25th thru June 28th 2005, during our recent trip to Southern California. We had a two bedroom, two bathroom suite and were lucky enough to be on the same floor as the laundry room. The unit had a FULL kitchen, three TVs and internet access. I was even surprised to see that the staff would do your grocery shopping for you if you so desired. We did not take them up on their offer--as we were only there for a short time and did not plan to do any serious cooking.

This hotel offered an above average continental breakfast. You could fix waffles and customize your scrambled eggs. The breakfast room was cozy and even though it was summer time, the fireplace was on to take the chill off. On weekday evenings, the hotel offers a light supper. We were only there for one weekday evening, during which they served lasagna, which was pretty good.

My kids enjoyed playing basketball at the court and swimming in the pool. The only "complaint" that I had about the hotel was that the mattress in the master bedroom was too soft. I prefer a more firmer mattress. But we did have more than enough blankets, pillows and towels during our stay.

We were about less than 30 minutes away from SeaWorld and the Zoo--which was okay for us. It gave us a chance to see the Northern section of San Diego. All in all, it was a very clean hotel, with excellent amenities and excellent service. I would definitely stay here again if I am in the area and I would recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2015
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2015, travelled with family
Thank Ostap2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly_Herrington, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Scripps Poway, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2015

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2015
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Anastasia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly_Herrington, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Scripps Poway, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2015

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2015
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2014, travelled with family
Thank J V P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly_Herrington, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Scripps Poway, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2015

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorena855
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly_Herrington, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Scripps Poway, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank SeatAlteaCarina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek E, Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Scripps Poway, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Diego
0.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Scripps Poway
3.1 mi away
Residence Inn San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Carmel Mountain Ranch
4.1 mi away
Staybridge Suites San Diego Rancho Bernardo Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Residence Inn San Diego Sorrento Mesa/Sorrento Valley
4.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites San Diego-Poway
7.6 mi away
Residence Inn San Diego Del Mar
Residence Inn San Diego Del Mar
#106 of 278 in San Diego
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Scripps Poway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Scripps Poway

Address: 12011 Scripps Highlands Dr, Scripps Poway Pkwy, San Diego, CA 92131-5156 (Formerly Residence Inn San Diego Scripps Poway Parkway)
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in San Diego
#4 Business Hotel in San Diego
#37 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: £123 - £206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Scripps Poway 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our extended stay hotel offers 95 Marriott suites each with separate living and sleeping areas and fully equipped kitchens. We offer perfect extended-stay accommodations by combining all the comforts of home, including wireless high speed internet, hot complimentary full breakfast buffet, outdoor pool and much more. We are located just minutes away from Rancho Bernardo, Poway, and San Diego business parks, and we are a short distance from southern California's beaches, Sea World, the San Diego Zoo, the San Diego Wild Animal Park, and other area attractions. When visiting San Diego, the Residence Inn by Marriott - San Diego/Rancho Bernardo/Scripps-Poway is the perfect choice for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Residence Inn San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Scripps Poway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn San Diego Scripps Poway Parkway Hotel San Diego
San Diego Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing