We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn San Diego Mission Valley
Ranked #136 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Stayed a total of 10 nights on business. My family was arriving a few days later, so I ordered a crib for our infant. Called to verify that they would have a crib. When we arrived, we were told it's a "pack and play"... much different than a crib. They admitted they made a mistake and ordered a full size crib for us at their expense. We were on the 4th floor S-F of week 1 and someone checked in on Weds and it was like living under a herd of elephants. We told the front desk that we'd like to move the the 5th floor for our 2nd stay, and they graciously blocked the room and brought the crib up to it so everything was ready when we checked back in. Special thanks to Beverly, Dan and the entire front desk staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 5th floor, away from the elevators and not facing the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WhoNeedsAName
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RIMVGM, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Mission Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2013

As the GM here, I’m so glad to here that my staff did everything to make your stay here wonderful. I’m sorry for our mix up with the crib and I’m very happy that we could get the situation straighten out as soon as possible. I will be showing my staff your great comments at our next meeting. Thank you for taking the time to write us a great review and we will be looking forward to your next visit.

Todd Capizzo

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (783)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

281 - 287 of 783 reviews

Reviewed 7 December 2013

We had the best experience at this Residence Inn in Mission Valley during Thanksgiving. The location is very conveniently located close to freeways. I found it on the Internet and was surprised at how nicely remodeled it was and how spacious. What a comfortable unit we stayed in. The one-bedroom suite we had was like a full one bedroom apt. with a full kitchen. They call it a kitchenette b/c it only has a stove and no oven, but it had a regular refrigerator and a huge built in microwave. The bedroom with two queens was spacious with extremely comfortable beds; and the living room had lots of seating area and nice comfortable furniture to relax on -- as well as a nice flat screen TV. We really enjoyed our holiday dinner in our unit. Oh, the breakfast the next day was great and is included in the room. One last thing -- the staff was so accomodating and helpful. They let us borrow two chairs for our dinner. Brittany at the front desk was so helpful. When we arrived, she worked to find us a unit that was clean in a quieter location. When we had a problem, the maintenance man was there in 5 minutes. This place has not only great rooms but excellent service. We're coming back next time we go to San Diego.

Room Tip: The rooms in the back are quieter and larger. We first saw one in the front and it was smaller. Als...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Prince D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RIMVGM, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Mission Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

This is another great review from another great guest. I’m excited to have more great reviews to show my staff this week. We will keep improving your experience and can’t wait to see you next time.

Todd Capizzo

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

I was extremely pleased with this hotel. The location was extremely convenient for business and tourist attractions. The freeways were easily accessible as well. The room was very nice and quite large. It was very comfortable for stays of several days. The staff was very professional and courteous. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RIMVGM, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Mission Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Thank you for this great review. I’m so glad you were pleased with your stay here. We as a hotel strive for reviews like this. Thanks you again and we will look forward to your next visit.

Todd Capizzo

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

I stay at this hotel often and may reconsider. I had time to experience their breakfast, which was good, except for the fact that the hotel uses all paper and plastic utensils. With all their dining plates and flatware going straight to the landfill, I don't know if I'll be able to stay here moving forward. I thought Marriott had a more Green and Sustainable focus that this hotel’s representation.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SerenityTrugger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RIMVGM, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Mission Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Hello and Thank you for your review. I would like to start by saying that we do our best to recycle our entire products. All our plates and napkin are made from recycled paper. Our plates are bio degradable and we also place recycle boxes for cans and bottles around the properties. Our House keeping separates all recycle and trash after cleaning every room. We will evaluate your review and see what else we can do to be a greener hotel. Thank you and we hope to see you back to show you what we are doing to improve.

Todd Capizzo

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We stayed with our extended family over Thanksgiving and loved this hotel. The breakfast buffet made it easy to get out in the morning and start sightseeing. Tons for our kids to do at the hotel between the dart board, pool table, swimming pool, jacuzzi, basketball court. They even had movie night and a dance party night for the kids. The best part was the free beer and wine most nights. It was great to come down to the lobby and hang out with other people. The bartender Al was fantastic. He gave us lots of tips on good local places to go. Yes, you have to drive everywhere, but all the highlights are within a couple minutes drive (Zoo, Old Town, Balboa Park, Gas Lamp District). I would highly recommend this hotel for families.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valerie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RIMVGM, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Mission Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

I would like to thank you for such a nice review. I’m so glad you and your family had such a great stay here. We work so hard, to make every guests stay here an enjoyable one.
I will be proudly showing my staff that all the hard work they do makes a difference.
We hope to see you and your family the next time you visit San Diego.

Todd Capizzo

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

During my stay at Marriott’s San Diego Residence Inn my room was illegally entered and I was robbed of approximately more than seven hundred dollars worth of personal items. The hotel claim that their records show no entry into our room during the time of the illegal entry, which can only one of two things: The hotel’s security apparatus is unconditionally flawed and/or, the hotel’s management is lying. In addition, the hotel’s management implied that I was lying and attempting to commit a fraud. This insult was thus compounded by the management’s refusal to:
Assist as intermediary with the police.
Admit any liability.
Offer any pertinent information whatsoever.
Offer any assistance whatsoever.
Offer any apology whatsoever.
Offer any sympathy whatsoever.
Therefore as a “guest” at their establishment I have suffered:
1. Illegal trespass.
2. Theft of my property.
3. Grievous insult by their management.
It is my considered conclusion the San Diego Marriott Residence Inn is managed by lying incompetents and maintains a den of thieves. As a result of this thoroughly disagreeable experience, I have, therefore, cancelled my Marriott’s Rewards account, and will never again, except under extreme condition, stay at another Marriott establishment.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DAO426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

I have never written a review for anything before, but I feel I must do so this time to help others make an informed choice. Our room was, I believe, flea-infested. This hotel welcomes pets in the lower floors and we were on the second floor. My four-year-old has over 40 bites over her body in rows and patches. Both my husband and I have over 30 bites. Overall, I feel the cleanliness of the hotel is lacking. We found a spider crawling on my nine-month-old son at breakfast. I believe it came from the jacket we had just put on him to walk him down from the room. The jacket had been on a couch in the room. I also saw spider webs in the hallway on my way to the guest laundry facilities. Basically, due to this problem, the last two days of our three-day vacation was completely stressful. We spent one afternoon looking for a pediatrician to take my daughter to and finally going to urgent care. Then, we spent the early evening moving to a different room. We didn't eat dinner until 9 P.M. We cut our vacation short as well because we knew we had to come home to wash everything. My greatest worry had been about bringing the fleas home with me. Overall, this was the most distressing vacation I've ever taken. The only reason I'm willing to give it a 2 instead of 1 is because the staff really did try to help us. I think they did try their best to do right by us, but I really would have preferred to have avoided the entire stay. Very scared to stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank D C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RIMVGM, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Mission Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2013

Thank you for your review. I am sorry you had to experience this during your stay. I have met with the TEAM and shared your comments with them. We have added a few new procedures that will ensure this type of incident will not occur again.

Todd Capizzo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
SpringHill Suites San Diego Mission Valley
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Hotel Circle/Sea World Area
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Mission Valley / Zoo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Hotel Circle - San Diego
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn San Diego Mission Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn San Diego Mission Valley

Address: 1865 Hotel Cir S, San Diego, CA 92108-3319
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in San Diego
#25 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: £105 - £201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn San Diego Mission Valley 3*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Inn by Marriott® San Diego Mission Valley is in the center of it all! We are an upscale all suite extended stay hotel in San Diego California located only five miles from the San Diego International Airport (SAN) and just down the street from Sea World Adventure Park®. From the beaches of Torrey Pines to Belmont and Balboa Parks to the night life of the Downtown Gaslamp Quarter, The Residence Inn by Marriott® San Diego MissionValley is in the heart of all San Diego! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Residence Inn San Diego Mission Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn San Diego Mission Valley Hotel San Diego
San Diego Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing