We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AG1001646”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn San Diego Mission Valley
Ranked #135 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Reviewed 12 June 2014

This was the best hotel I have ever stayed at and the free breakfast was awesome the rooms were clean and beautiful and the pool and spa is always clean I would go back next time and you should go to.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 405ARIANA_G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RIMVGM, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Mission Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Thank you for writing us such a great review. Thanks for pointing out some of the great things we provide for our guests. We can’t wait to have you back. See you soon.

Thom Mosher
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (780)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

213 - 219 of 780 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2014

I love this hotel chain and am a rewards member but don't believe I will ever, ever return based off this experience. We tried checking in on a Saturday afternoon to spend Mothers Day in San Diego. At any other location I pay cash for the room and they pre-authorize my card for around 50 dollars for incidentals. Well at this location they want to authorize your card for 300 dollars on top of paying cash for the room!!! After arguing with the rudest female manager ever. She told me that if I pay with my card I wont have to worry about the 300 dollar authorization. So I had to drive around for an hour to go to the bank put money in my account and return. Sorry some of us do not put $500.00 to the side for a one night stay in a hotel...So upon return to the hotel she again tries running my card for 300 dollars after telling me it wasn't necessary if I used my card.. REALLY! So this went back and forth for another 30 minutes.. Finally she "hooks me up" by running it for 200 still 60 more then the room and waived the parking charge for the inconvenience...Really WOW thanks for the 13 dollars after 2 hours of arguing!! I thought the customer is always right. She could care less about my business. To top it off, that night I go outside and there are RATS!! running up and down the hand rails to the stairs in the back.. ARE YOU KIDDING ME!!! Another guest saw them and laughed saying he couldn't believe it either. Upon check out I make them aware of the rude manager and they apologized and offered me some of the coffee we really liked at the hotel. I appreciate the gesture but really... you think giving me coffee is going to make up for the worst hotel experience of my life? Thanks for ruining our Mothers Day weekend Residence Inn!! I will never return to this hotel!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matt_Prohaska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RIMVGM, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Mission Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear Mr. Prohaska,

My sincerest apologies for the inconvenience we caused you during your check in. We have strict policies and procedures when it comes to methods of payment. As for the rude service you received I would love to speak with you personally so I can get more details about the situation that occurred so I can be sure my staff is properly educated on how to handle that matter in the future. With regards to your statement about the Rats, we take our pest control very serious. I have informed our 3rd party vendor (ECOLAB) of your comments and they have taken the appropriate actions to address any pest control issues there may be coming from the mountainside in the back of the property.

I look forward to hearing from you personally,

Thom Mosher
General Manager
(619)881-3615

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

the staff couldn't have been friendlier and more accommodating. we did have a problem with a leak in our room and were immediately moved to new rooms. stop listening to luckyEvery morning it was a joy to go to breakfast and only because the food was good but to see so many families with children. It was never noisy and it was a separate area with children's tables as well as available highchairs. My grandchildren really enjoyed the swimming pool after busy days of sightseeing. the grounds are very well And there were flowers and new plantings - pretty good for an urban hotel. The location is terrific with easy access to US 5, 8 and you are within 5 miles of the airport, Sea world, zoo.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CG4746446
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RIMVGM, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Mission Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

It was a joy to have you and your family stays with us. Thank you for the kind words. We appreciate it when our guest gets to tells us how much of a great time they have had with us.
I could tell the time you got to spend with your grandchildren was very special to you and I am glad we were able to be a part of that. I will be sure to start off the day by sharing your kind words with my entire staff in our next meeting. We can’t wait to see you and the family again.

Thank You!!!

Thom Mosher
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed here for a week in May. The staff are great and very accomodating. The kids loved the pool and we loved the firepit.
The breakfast buffet added great value. They also have light dinner and free drinks on weekday evenings which was a money saving feature.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaime M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RIMVGM, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Mission Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

It makes me happy that our hotel was a great place for you and the family to enjoy. Thank you for telling everybody some of our great amenities we provide for our guest. I love to hear that the kids had such a great time and we hope you can stay with us again the next time you’re here in San Diego.

Thank You!!!

Thom Mosher
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This hotel was such a convenient spot to explore the area in and around San Diego. Very easy to get to off the interstates.
Very well maintained property. Rooms were spotless as were the common areas including the breakfast area, lobby, pool and patio.
Staff was super friendly and welcoming. Very helpful with directions, suggestions, etc.

I would stay here again without question. We stayed 8 nights. Breakfast was good and extensive.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the pool - much better than the parking lot views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RIMVGM, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Mission Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

My Staff and I would like to thank you for such a great review. It’s nice to know that our guests will take the time out of there busy day to help our new guest to see what our location and hotel provide them when they stay here. It really means a lot to us. We hope you can stay with us again the next time your in San Diego.

Thank You!!!


Thom Mosher
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Stayed for 6 nights in a 1 bedroom with 2 Queens. While the location certainly is not scenic it was quick to most everything we wanted to see. Shopping mall & several restaurants nearby (driving). The room was clean, staff were all friendly & room cleaned each day in a timely manner. Pool is good size and the pool area is nice. BBQ's outside for guest use. Exercise room looked nice but didn't use it. We all slept fine & didn't have any issues with noise (we were on the 4th floor not near stairs or elevator).

Breakfast is fairly extensive and was a great start to every morning. The evening meal is served Mon to Thurs with Salads and a main course being served from 6-7:30. Drinks if you want. My only comment (which I did visit with Staff about) is that the Hot food was not Hot. It was luke-warm at best for both breakfast & evening for any of the hot items. After a few days of that (yes I get the food is free) I stuck to make your own waffles & cold items. Otherwise the food all would have been fine and is a nice option for guests.

This hotel is a good value and overall we liked it very much. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sd2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RIMVGM, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Mission Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Thank you for taking time out of your day to write us such a great review. I’m glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I also appreciate your comments for improvement. We are always trying to find new way to make our guests experience a better one. Look forward to seeing you again the next time your in town.

Thank You!!!

Thom Mosher
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We stayed out in the residence inn from its excellent rating and guest reviews. All hotel staff were very professional and made our stay an unforgettable experience. It was friendly, clean and relaxing.

Thank you so much to all the staff at the hotel for making my first visit to San Diego so wonderful. It was exactly what we were looking for. Would we recommend the residence inn hotel? YES!!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edbonilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RIMVGM, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Mission Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

I love to hear that you had a great time here at the Residence Inn. I will be showing my staff this review to our next meeting. The best part is that I get to thank all of my staff for such a great job they did. I’m so happy you had a great time with us. We can’t wait to see you the next time your in San Diego.

Thank You!!!

Thom Mosher
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Hotel Circle/Sea World Area
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Hotel Circle - San Diego
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Mission Valley / Zoo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Candlewood Suites
Candlewood Suites
#177 of 278 in San Diego
89 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
SpringHill Suites San Diego Mission Valley
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Extended Stay America - San Diego - Hotel Circle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn San Diego Mission Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn San Diego Mission Valley

Address: 1865 Hotel Cir S, San Diego, CA 92108-3319
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in San Diego
#26 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: £126 - £217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn San Diego Mission Valley 3*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Inn by Marriott® San Diego Mission Valley is in the center of it all! We are an upscale all suite extended stay hotel in San Diego California located only five miles from the San Diego International Airport (SAN) and just down the street from Sea World Adventure Park®. From the beaches of Torrey Pines to Belmont and Balboa Parks to the night life of the Downtown Gaslamp Quarter, The Residence Inn by Marriott® San Diego MissionValley is in the heart of all San Diego! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Residence Inn San Diego Mission Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn San Diego Mission Valley Hotel San Diego
San Diego Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing