We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for family on a budget” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residence Inn San Diego Mission Valley

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Residence Inn San Diego Mission Valley
Ranked #115 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Murrieta, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great for family on a budget”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

Great hotel for families of 4+. We are a family of five, so we sometimes are forced to get two rooms. We rented the two bedroom suite ( 1king, 2 twins and sofa bed). We decided to extend our stay and moved to a one bedroom suite (2 queens and sofa bed). Both suites had living room and kitchen area. Hotel offered daily a free hot breakfast buffet and dinner and free happy hour M-Th. The happy hour offered a nice selection of locally brewed beers as well as the typical fair and a very nice selection of wines. Staff was very professional and friendly. Hotel also had a laundry room on site. This hotel is a great value for traveling families.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patti C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RIMVGM, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Mission Valley, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Happy to know that your family had a great time here with us and you found the rooms to be spacious enough for your family of 5. We hope to see you back enjoying some of the 7 local beers that we have on tap with us.

Thank you!!!

Thompson Mosher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

754 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    361
    243
    94
    39
    17
See reviews for
417
57
16
139
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

This is definitely a family resort. Kids crawling all over the place. The rooms face the pool and the pool doesn't shut down until 10pm, thus, it can get very noisy. The free meal at dinnertime was an added bonus. Again, very much geared towards kids: bacon wrapped hot dogs, ice cream, etc. The hot breakfast the next morning was nice, but the usual fare. We booked a one bedroom suite. It was super roomy. My daughter and I each took a bed in the bedroom and my son slept on the pull out couch in the living room. He said it was uncomfortable, but I think that's sort of typical for those types of couches. The kitchen was roomy and it was nice to have a desk and a dining room table....it gave our little group a little bit of separation, which was appreciated by everyone. My only beef: the dreaded parking fee. I think it's a huge rip-off. There was more than enough parking for everyone who wanted it. I know that RI isn't alone in charging for this, so I guess I can't exactly blame them. Oh...the building itself is a little industrial looking, which initially put me off a bit, but I grew to appreciate the clean lines. The staff was very friendly and attentive. I would stay again, but not for rest and relaxation.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wannabetraveler45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RIMVGM, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Mission Valley, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you for your review. I'm glad you were able to enjoy the complimentary evening meals and you were able to find the space in your room relaxing. I will be sure to pass your positive comments regarding the service you received on to my team. The staff and I look forward to seeing you and your family in the future!!!

Thank You!!!

Thompson Mosher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennington, New Jersey
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

I stayed at this hotel while on a business trip to the San Diego area. I usually stay downtown, but a convention was in progress and the only rooms that were available there were very high priced. I was pleased to find that this hotel is close to the airport (about 8 min), but far enough away so you don't hear the noise. You can also drive to and from the airport without getting on the freeway, so avoiding traffic is easy. The entrance and lobby area were very clean. The staff was friendly and served us quickly. The rooms were standard Residence inn style: clean and neat as expected. This property has a very nice pool (see photos) and the dining area was much larger than most Residence Inns, and even had a separate seating with small chairs / tables for young children (see photo) . I was surprised at how large the breakfast spread was. They had 3 waffle machines and a good assortment of foods, even though I only had a banana! Officially, breakfast starts at 6:30am, but I told the staff that I had to catch an early flight and was told that they would start to have food ready just after 5am. I will definitely stay here again. Parking is $13 per car / per night.

Room Tip: Old town San Diego is only about a mile away, and there are lots of good places to eat and shop the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RIMVGM, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Mission Valley, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you for the kind review. I'm glad the location of our property worked well for you. I hope the next time you return you can indulge a bit more into our breakfast rather than just enjoying a banana. Again thank you for your kind words. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Thank You,

Thompson Mosher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

We had a great experience during our 3 day stay! Incredible value with full breakfast AND dinner (enough food during social hour to count as dinner). Although quite busy, staff kept bringing out more food and were very courteous. Within 20 minutes of checking in, the front desk called to see how things were. Only set back was $13 for overnight parking but $ we saved on food was worth it. Had great selection in maker, lots of washers and dryers, courteous staff and very clean!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MamaDico4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RIMVGM, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Mission Valley, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you very much for your kind review. Very glad to hear that you enjoyed your time here with us! We look forward to seeing you and your family again in the future.

Thank You

Thompson Mosher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

We travel on business and to date have spent 1000 nights over the last ten years in the various properties all over the country. The following are the cons of the proper. There were out of control kids running around and trashing the breakfast area. Milk spilled, cereal on the floor, and parents ravaging the food to take in to their rooms. We couldn't get a cup of coffee or anything because we arrived at 8:45 and everything was gone. The rooms are so small you can barely open and close the bedroom door. The internet crawls. The AC blower is so loud you can barely sleep with the roar. The walls are paper thin. Elevators are incredibly slow and packed with kids pushing the buttons. They charge you 13 dollars to park at an extended stay property in a suburban area. The rooms are dark and dreary. We lived in San Diego for 10 years so we are aware of how expensive hotels in this area can be but if you paid full price for this proper, you were ripped off. The service was awful. We requested an extra blanket and the front desk lady was rude. We checked out after one day. This was con sited with a Super 8 or Howard Johnson's at a Residence Inn price.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RIMVGM, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Mission Valley, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
I am very sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations. I understand that it gets a bit hectic in the summer months with the fun family atmosphere. We take any and all comments very serious and I will be sure we address your concerns. I humbly ask that you give us another chance in the future.

Thank You

Thompson Mosher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

Decent hotel because of its close proximity to all San Diego attractions; lying in the heart of Mission Valley and in a location that provides easy access to freeway makes for a great location.

Pool was noisy, yes, but staff enforced quiet hours policy, which was appreciated. Front desk staff was hospitable upon check-in. Kitchen and bar staff hustled to accommodate guests, which was much appreciated.

However, felt less than par clientele was a bit of a deterrent (which ultimately is out of hotel control, but perhaps lower rates and/or deals attract those of questionable character?) and noticed I had fleas crawling on me as I sat on the couch. Understand hotel is pet friendly, but grossed out nonetheless.

Would probably venture to explore other Mission Valley options upon a return visit before returning to this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RHOIE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RIMVGM, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Mission Valley, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
I am glad you found the location of our property convenient for you to access all of your San Diego attractions. I have made notes of your concerns and we will be sure to address them to make sure every guests experience a positive one.

Thank You,

Thompson Mosher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

I stayed here for three weeks in June of 2014. It was very busy, lots of kids, and a little noisy. The staff was very friendly and helpful, but they couldn't control the noise. Kids were running up and down the hall until almost 11:00pm. For the price we paid, $209 per night for 18 nights, I expected a bit more. There were a lot of amenities like a gym, dinners Monday-Thursday, all day coffee, a convenience store and free Wi-Fi. The complimentary breakfast was very good, but again way too many kids running around. Long lines for food and coffee made it not worth the time. Our suite was very comfortable with a nice little full service kitchen, living room and separate bedroom. The pool area was a nice place to spend time in the afternoon until the kids came back from their outings. If you are looking for a relaxing place to spend your vacation, pick another place. If you like the loud family atmosphere, this is the place for you! All in all, the value just wasn't there.

Room Tip: Don't take a room facing the pool, it is very loud! Also, ask for a room on the top floor to avo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank superfussy50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RIMVGM, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Mission Valley, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you for your kind review and comments. We appreciate the feedback and look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Thom Mosher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Mission Valley / Zoo
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Hotel Circle - San Diego
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Candlewood Suites
Candlewood Suites
#170 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Extended Stay America - San Diego - Hotel Circle
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Courtyard San Diego Mission Valley/Hotel Circle
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Hampton Inn San Diego/Mission Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn San Diego Mission Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn San Diego Mission Valley

Property: Residence Inn San Diego Mission Valley
Address: 1865 Hotel Cir S, San Diego, CA 92108-3319
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in San Diego
#26 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn San Diego Mission Valley 3*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Inn by Marriott® San Diego Mission Valley is in the center of it all! We are an upscale all suite extended stay hotel in San Diego California located only five miles from the San Diego International Airport (SAN) and just down the street from Sea World Adventure Park®. From the beaches of Torrey Pines to Belmont and Balboa Parks to the night life of the Downtown Gaslamp Quarter, The Residence Inn by Marriott® San Diego MissionValley is in the heart of all San Diego! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Residence Inn San Diego Mission Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn San Diego Mission Valley Hotel San Diego
San Diego Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing