We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Although very busy, we had a great stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of SpringHill Suites San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Scripps Poway

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
SpringHill Suites San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Scripps Poway
Ranked #114 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Although very busy, we had a great stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

I stayed 3 nights here because I was attending a convention at the Qualcomm Stadium. There were many other convention-goers as were several sports teams staying. Although it was fairly busy in the morning for breakfast, staff was constantly refilling whatever items needed to be added in the breakfast area. Never had a problem finding an open table to sit & eat.

The gym was adequate and the pool area, although small, was clean and always was able to get a clean towel.

This was one hotel that DID NOT have any cigarette smell or odor, either in the hallways or the actual room. I was very much pleased by this! The room was clean, refrigerator, TV and AC worked fine.

I will definitely stay here on another occasion.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SaticoyPM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly_Herrington, General Manager at SpringHill Suites San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Scripps Poway, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share a review of on Trip Advisor. I appreciate you sharing your positive experiences with us. It is nice to hear that you found the property to meet your needs during your stay. We hope you come back and visit.

Warm Regards,
Kelly Herrington
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    92
    43
    7
    3
See reviews for
116
31
10
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

We're a family of 5 (kids 10, 8 & 6). We chose to stay in 1 room -very cosy but still enough room. Very tidy, good breakfast included, friendly staff. We used this as a base for LEGOLAND, Sea World and San Diego. A number of good options for dinner very near by. Driving is relatively easy.
Would stay again.

Green Features: This was one very big disappointment. Breakfast uses all plastic disposable utensils -the waste generated is staggering.
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek E, Manager at SpringHill Suites San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Scripps Poway, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Anthony S,

We really appreciate the review you completed regarding your recent stay with us and we are glad you enjoyed the accommodations. Luckily we are centrally located to most of the major attractions in the area for you and your young children to take advantage of.
Hopefully you get another oportunity to visit us again in the near future.

Best Wishes,

Derek Edwards
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
165 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

Stayed at this version of the Spring Hill Suites at the end of May 2014. It was handy to the freeway into San Diego and then equally for heading north. Good range of local options for both food and gas nearby which are handy when travelling. Very much a family hotel in the wekends with lots of travelling teams for sports using the hotel so if you dont like a crowded lobby in the morning bear this in mind. It is however a good hotel and had friendly staff and meet the needs of my stay and room was clean and tidy and quiet.

Room Tip: Go for a high level room and away from the freway to keep noise as low as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly_Herrington, General Manager at SpringHill Suites San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Scripps Poway, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share a review of on Trip Advisor. I appreciate you sharing your positive experiences with us. It is nice to hear that you found the property and the staff to meet your needs during your stay. We hope you come back and visit.

Warm Regards,
Kelly Herrington
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Clemente, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stayed here during my daughter's softball tournament held in the local area. What a convenient location. Planners did well to have a Wendy's, gas station, and Chili's within walking distance.

As you drive in, there is plenty of parking, and I believe it is always free. Stepping inside the hotel, I was struck by the newer, modern vibe. Clean and fresh feeling.

Moving up the elevator, the rooms really have everything one needs--clean, newish furniture and carpet. Microwave and mini fridge, sink, coffee maker, even plastic utensils and plates! Bathroom--nice shower, full length mirror. Even a little closet with decent (not tiny) hair dryer and an iron! The bed is better than you would imagine for this level hotel--really comfy with lots of down pillows--the benefits of the Marriott connection. And, though you see the road or freeway from your room, road noise was not a factor from my 2nd floor room.

I wouldn't describe the room as a suite, however. It is more like a compact studio. That said, I love the design and the efficient use of space. Very clever layout and everything you need really is all there. Whatever designer came up with this layout should be awarded.

The breakfast is quite satisfying and seating area very pleasant, with newer, clean and dare I say pretty furniture. AND there is plenty of seating--an issue at many of these extended stay hotels, but not here. Best fresh strawberries I have ever had at any hotel breakfast.

Oh, and there is also a small fitness room with treadmill, weights, stair climber. And, a small pool. Don't expect to do laps in it, but it is warm, so kids can jump in even at night.

Lastly, the staff I encountered at every level were friendly and helpful. When I brought a concern I had to their attention, they were sympathetic and solved the problem. Employees of the hotel seem appropriately suited for the hospitality industry. Wow, what do you know.

We look forward to staying there again next year.

Green Features: I didn't see any towel replacement policies listed in the room. That would help. I hope they use water savers for the sinks.
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TerryO O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly_Herrington, General Manager at SpringHill Suites San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Scripps Poway, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
I'd like to take this opportunity to thank you for the review! Our team is committed to making our guests' stay both enjoyable and comfortable. We value your feedback, and are grateful for the recognition you placed on our breakfast and room. We hope you'll come back and visit soon.

Warm regards,
Kelly Herrington
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaysville, Utah
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

Hotel was easy to find, clean and staff friendly. The location is convenient to major roads, and restaurants but not a destination unto itself. We enjoyed being there as a stop over between Sea World and some other sight seeing heading north up the coast. They did a good job handling a big breakfast crowd generated by youth sports groups staying during the weekend.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank autah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly_Herrington, General Manager at SpringHill Suites San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Scripps Poway, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share a review of on Trip Advisor. I appreciate you sharing your positive experiences with us. It is nice to hear that you found the property and the staff to meet your needs during your stay here in San Diego. We look forward to your next trip back.

Warm Regards,
Kelly Herrington
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

Yes, it is a suite -- in a very loose definition! There is no door between the "living room" and "bedroom". There is about a eight foot opening between the two "rooms". The televisions are about 10 feet apart! Try watching two different programs!!
My son and I stayed there while our house was being tented for termites. I wanted two rooms because he returns late from work and wants to unwind with television. This arrangement did not work for us.
The room was very small. The A/C would not stay on 68 -- it kept increasing. The website showed a whirlpool tub. Not even close!
I'm glad it was only two nights. Didn't feel I got the "bang for the buck".

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TropicalSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly_Herrington, General Manager at SpringHill Suites San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Scripps Poway, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Thank for taking the time write a review of your experience at my hotel on Trip Advisor. I want to apologize that the hotel was not up to par. I will follow through by sharing your comments with the appropriate departments to help improve our service levels in the affected areas for you and future guests. We hope to see you in the near future so that we may provide you with the excellent service you are accustomed to from Marriott.

Sincerely,

Kelly Herrington
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Del Mar, California
Level Contributor
600 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 365 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

Stay here on business and found the hotel to be clean and your standard SpringHill hotel. The check-in and the check-out process was less than efficient and a little disappointing. The breakfast was just ok, your standard SpringHill offering. There was just one toaster available which took a 10 minute wait to use. I found the bed not up to Marriott standards, it was not very comfortable. All in all a pretty standard SpringHill hotel, just nothing special.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly_Herrington, General Manager at SpringHill Suites San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Scripps Poway, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Thank for taking the time write a review of your experience at my hotel on Trip Advisor. I want to apologize that the hotel was not up to par. I will follow through by sharing your comments with the appropriate departments to help improve our service levels in the affected areas for you and future guests. We hope to see you in the near future so that we may provide you with the excellent service you are accustomed to from Marriott.

Sincerely,

Kelly Herrington
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Diego
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Scripps Poway
4.1 mi away
Staybridge Suites San Diego Rancho Bernardo Area
1.4 mi away
Comfort Suites San Diego Miramar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites San Diego-Poway
4.4 mi away
Staybridge Suites San Diego - Sorrento Mesa
5.2 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Scripps Poway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Scripps Poway

Property: SpringHill Suites San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Scripps Poway
Address: 12032 Scripps Highlands Dr, San Diego, CA 92131-5155
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in San Diego
#50 Business Hotel in San Diego
#56 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — SpringHill Suites San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Scripps Poway 2.5*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our all-suite hotel offers 137 Marriott studio suites each with living, sleeping and a kitchen area with mini-refrigerators and microwaves. Our all-suite San Diego hotel offers wireless high-speed Internet, daily complimentary breakfast, outdoor pool and much more including the newly redesigned inspired lobby and public spaces. We are located just minutes away from Rancho Bernardo, Poway, and San Diego business parks, and we are a short distance from southern California's beaches, Sea World, the San Diego Zoo, the San Diego Wild Animal Park, and other area attractions. When visiting San Diego, the Springhill Suites by Marriott - San Diego / Rancho Bernardo / Scripps-Poway is the perfect choice for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Marriott and Agoda so you can book your SpringHill Suites San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Scripps Poway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Scripps Poway Hotel San Diego
San Diego Springhill Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing