We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ocean Villa Inn
Nearby Hotels
US$270
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$288
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$270
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$254
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$198
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa(San Diego)(Great Value!)
US$250
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$211
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Bahia Resort Hotel(San Diego)(Great Value!)
US$232
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$224
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Paradise Point Resort & Spa(San Diego)
US$242
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$203
ParadisePoint.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Dana on Mission Bay(San Diego)(Great Value!)
US$214
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$190
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa(San Diego)(Great Value!)
US$225
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$256
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$224
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Pacific Terrace Hotel(San Diego)
US$378
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$359
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (393)
Filter reviews
393 results
Traveller rating
129
138
58
32
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
129
138
58
32
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdog rundog beachdog washtile floorsdog friendly hoteltreat bagdog lovingpoop bagscontinental breakfastwithin walking distancehard boiled eggsbottom floorfirst floorsliding glassfull size fridgeyogurtnon smoking
Filter
Updating list...
210 - 215 of 393 reviews
Reviewed 13 September 2013

The room was very large and comfortable, it had a walking closet integrated with bathroom. It had a big balcony facing the beach. The staff was nice and the hotel was well located. The hotel was dog friendly and we were scared that the hotel was dirty or very noisy. However, we did not see any dogs and/or hear any noises. Very good hotel, I would come back.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Silvia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jennifer b, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Villa Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2013

So glad you and your family enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you for the review and we hope to see you back at the OVI soon!

Kind regards,

Jennifer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Yes this hotel is right on dog beach but the infections and disease you expose yourself and dogs to might be consideration to find a cleaner rental - FYI, there are many listed on VRBO (Ocean Beach). People let their dogs run freely outside & staff/management do not enforce dog & people safety - ppl do not monitor their dog's activities or pick up their dog's feces- the grassy dog run is saturated with urine, feces and some kind of small worms. One person's large dog kept barking at our room's screen door then pushed it in to get at our 2 small dogs, luckily we saw that and my husband grabbed that large dog and threw it in the run- we should have thrown it out in the front parking lot for management to deal with. We were there last week and our backs are still hurting from sleeping on the stiff, hard 'new' mattress. The people upstairs were especially noisy and one group next to us were pounding the walls all night - VERY thin walls and ceiling here. Family rooms are wayyyy overpriced for what you get. Plus: breakfasts are better than in past.

Room Tip: Go test several room's mattresses before you get booked into that room - you will regret it if you don't! Also make sure all door locks, screens are solid and appliances work!
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Johnee J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jennifer b, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Villa Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2013

On behalf of the entire staff of the Ocean Villa Inn we would like to convey our apologies for the inconvenience you experienced in our dog run. We truly appreciate your feedback and we are working diligently to correct this problem. We express our heartfelt apologies and hope that you give us another opportunity.

Sincerely,
Jennifer Baker

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

I stay here 3x a year with my 3 large dogs at this 2 star Inn. Christmas is great at OVI as the weather is usually wonderful in San Diego. The beds, sheets, towels are a bit worn and I bring my own sheets and towels. The bed spreads get washed after every use because the dogs are allowed to lay on them and they do get full of sand. The floors are tile and they'll give you a broom/dustpan to sweep the sand if you want. They now provide a doggy gift basket at check in and dog towels at the dog wash on the side of the Inn. The price is great value....although I expect an increase after the renovations. Many restaurants in the area have patios that allow dogs and offer water and doggy menus (grilled burgers or chicken). See you there!

Room Tip: The studios allow dogs, but there is no dog run there. With Dogs? stay down stairs at the large end of the dog run. No Dogs? stay upstairs with a balcony and view of the ocean and San Diego River.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sindy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

We stayed at the Ocean Villa Inn. The rooms were serviceable with tile floors for your dogs. A great dog wash area and a fenced dog run area behind the ground floor units. The beds need some upgrade and were very used in our room. The best feature of this dog friendly hotel is it's location. It is right on Dog beach. The staff is friendly and willing to help in any way they can. This hotel is built for people with dogs.

Room Tip: The bottom floors have tiled floors and a dog run in the back.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BajaPirates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

If you are traveling with your pet and need a clean place to stay this is it! No, it isn't a fancy 5 star hotel but it is clean and the people are nice. They are located right on dog beach which is the best part. We have only stayed here once but we hope to return with our "fur" children.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Razorback15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews