We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ocean Villa Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ocean Villa Inn
Ranked #171 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
1 review
“Great Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Love being able to vacation with our dogs. This hotel is close to everything. You can walk to dog beach in less than 5 minutes where your dogs can run off leash and in about 10 minutes you can walk to the Main Street of ocean beach to shop and eat!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jennifer b, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Villa Inn, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
We're so happy you had a great time! Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    115
    48
    27
    33
See reviews for
102
113
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

We love OV Inn. Their friendly staff always greets us warmly and along with its great location and pets, hard to beat the combination. Add sunny days, ocean breezes, to Ocean Beach's unique ambience and it is our favorite place to unwind from a stressful year.
If you are looking for luxury this is not for you but if you like friendly comfort and love the combination of beach and pets, your in luck!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jennifer b, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Villa Inn, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review. We can't wait to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend got a room here for Comic Con. When he told me that it was super dog friendly, I just had to go see it. I have a dog of my own and thought it would be nice to come next month for a little get away. I came up just for the day to check it out, and while the location was excellent (right on dog beach) the quality of the room was well lacking. It looked old from the outside and sadly the inside matched. Overall, it was extremely outdated. But there were problems everywhere (these are things that I saw and what my boyfriend expierenced during his four night stay): the shower drain would constantly clog and almost spill out of the shower, the towels were awful (super small, thin, and not very absorbent), the microwave buttons were sticky, the bottom of the AC unit was so rusty it looked like it was about to fall off, all the lights in the bedroom are lamps that need to be manually turned on and off (no light switches), a bug was found in the bed, the floors were dirty, there was one assigned parking spot per room (which is fine) but two of the four nights he had to find street parking because all the hotel spots were taken, and the continental breakfast was terrible (the bananas were green and there was only powdered coffee creamer and the selection of things was very minimal). This place has so much potential and I really looked forward to staying here in the future. The concept of the hotel is fantastic and maybe if it ever gets a remodel I will think about staying here, but as of right now, it looks like the rooms are going for about $160 per night which I do not think is worth it.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jennifer b, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Villa Inn, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
I am writing to you on behalf of the entire staff of the Ocean Villa Inn to convey our apologies for the inconvenience which was caused to you. I truly appreciate your feedback. We are currently undergoing many changes but still have a way to go. We express our heartfelt apologies and hope that you give us another opportunity.
As a part of our apologies we are offering you a complimentary one one night stay in one of our newly renovated rooms. I wish to clarify the fact that this does not justify our mistake and it is just a part of our apology. Please, accept it and pardon us.
Sincerely,

Jennifer Baker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Diego hotels

Los Angeles
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

This place is perfect if you're staying with your canine companion! The room was adequate, comfortable, large bathroom, and a working shower. We did however have some plumbing issues with the toilet, but other than that a pretty good stay. Don't expect much. But honestly, if you're looking for a place to stay with your dog, and it's super close to the off leash dog beach, then this place is great. I like that they have a dog shower and a dog run where your dog can do his business and mingle with other dogs.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue-ie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jennifer b, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Villa Inn, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us and for leaving a review. We are making lots of changes at the OVI and hope you come back soon!

Jennifer Baker
Guest relations manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helendale, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

We booked the Ocean Villa Inn for location and found HIDDEN GOLD !

This is an absolutely PERFECT oasis for Dog Beach here in San Diego. Crazy Dog Friendly ...they even gave my dog a goodie bag upon check in with a chew bone and tennis ball !! We have only been here a few hours and already we are planning our next visit !! It is no frills but it is the Perfect Location for dog beach! They have a dog washing station right as you enter the hotel grounds off of Dog Beach so all pups are sparkling clean and HAPPY as can be !! Rooms are clean and plenty of room. Laundry on site with incredible variety of Dog Friendly restaurants ...all a short walk away !! This is a must repeat !! Cosmo the Wonder dog has given Ocean Villa Inn his paw of approval !!! Love it !!!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Elane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jennifer b, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Villa Inn, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
We're so glad you had a great time! Thank you for leaving a review! See you soon.

Kind regards,

Jennifer Baker
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Andreas, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Good: The only thing going for this motel is the location at Dog Beach. And the proximity to good restaurants. The pool was clean enough. Fridge in room. Nice desk staff.

Bad: The linens are old and thin. The water pressure was terrible. We ended up in a dog room on the bottom which is fine for those with dogs but it is basically a toilet. The tile floor looked clean but within minutes my feet were black. The dog wash drains right down to the room closest to the beach entrance. Parking is tight.

Continental breakfast is limited. Coffee, OJ, cereal, instant oatmeal, bagels/toast, pastry. Was not worth $80 a night. Will not stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chadsjewel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

Great location for dogs, unfit for humans.

This motel offers a great proximity to the beach and of-leash dog activities but as soon as you drive in the parking lot you'll know you've made a mistake booking here. It doesn't appear there has been any attempts to maintain the property. The rooms are dirty, walls have been unprofessionally patched from previous water damage (likely from the shower seeping to the bedroom wall) and the odor and cleanliness of the linens is ridiculous. To add insult to injury, the price isn't even cheap. It cost over $150 after taxes for a night at this dump in the off-season (March). I actually felt the need to drink just to stomach staying here the one night (leaving wasn't an option due to our lack of a vehicle to run away or the time to book a new location)!

If the owners really want to keep this business viable (the potential is still there based on location alone) please consider closing down for at least half a year and infusing a large amount of cash into rehabilitating this poor excuse for a motel.

Room Tip: Stay Away!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TripSkipper1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jennifer b, Public Relations Manager at Ocean Villa Inn, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
I am writing to you on behalf of the entire staff of the Ocean Villa Inn to convey our apologies for the inconvenience which was caused to you. We express our heartfelt apologies and hope that you give us another opportunity.
As a part of our apologies I am offering you a complimentary 1 night stay in one of our newly renovated rooms. I wish to clarify the fact that this does not justify our mistake and it is just a part of our apology. Please, accept it and pardon us.

Sincerely,

Jennifer Baker
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Ocean Beach Hotel
#144 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
Ocean Beach
The Inn at Sunset Cliffs
The Inn at Sunset Cliffs
#130 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
Pacific Beach
Beach Haven
Beach Haven
#123 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ocean Park Inn
#29 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,018 reviews
Pacific Beach
Surfer Beach Hotel
Surfer Beach Hotel
#102 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Shores Inn
Pacific Shores Inn
#230 of 279 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Villa Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Villa Inn

Property: Ocean Villa Inn
Address: 5142 W Point Loma Blvd, San Diego, CA 92107-1315
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Ocean Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ocean Villa Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Ocean Villa Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Villa Hotel San Diego
Ocean Hotel San Diego
Ocean San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing