We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good deal”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Cabrillo Garden Inn
Ranked #118 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We visited the Best Western Plus Cabrillo Garden Inn on our last night in California.
The service was good, the room clean, although the décord felt a little bit stuck in the late 90's.

We picked this hotel because it was near the airport and was at a good price. We had to be at the airport at 6:00AM. A breakfast was included in the price, but due to our early departure, we did not see it.
Tt would have been nice to have a little recycling bin in the room. I had to make a bag for it, and hopped they did not put it in the garbage

We would go back on a further trip.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank decla1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Y_Chen, Manager at Best Western Cabrillo Garden Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Dear Decla1983,
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Best Western Plus Cabrillo Garden Inn and for taking the time to share your experience you had at our property.
We are appreciating your comments and we are looking forward to have you as our guest again in the near future.

Y Chen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (278)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

128 - 134 of 278 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2014

The hotel exterior presents as an average motel, but on checkin Carlos was incredibly helpful and our room (225) was quiet, clean and comfortable. Bathroom small, but with good shower. WiFi good. We paid ~USD200 per night for 3 nights and at this rate on the 4 July long weekend, we were happy with our stay. Good breakfast and the only scrambled eggs that weren't overcooked on our 8 week trip to USA. Kitchen staff very friendly and accommodating. Compared to other BW+ over the last 8 weeks, the rating for the building could be challenged.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank 750mandyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Y_Chen, Manager at Best Western Cabrillo Garden Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

Dear 750mandyr,

Thank you for your feedback regarding the recent stay at our property.
We are glad that our staff helped on making your stay more comfortable.
Thank you again for taking your time to share your experience. Your comments are very important to us in improving our business.

Y Chen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

It's a decent Best Western, don't know how it got the PLUS rating though. It is typical of a BW motel. two story in middle of downtown full of highrises, In a semi decent neighborhood. Staff are EXCELLENT! They really go out of their way.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Les A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Y_Chen, Manager at Best Western Cabrillo Garden Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Dear Earnest A,

Thank you for sharing your feedback in regards to your stay at the Best Western Plus Cabrillo Garden Inn.
We are happy that our staff made your stay more comfortable and we hope you will be staying with us again soon.

Y Chen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

This is a great hotel. It has been around since at least 1946. The hotel is relatively small, as hotels go these days, but it is comfortable, and the staff is very helpful. Equally important, it is within walking distance of most of San Diego's downtown high spots, or the trolley is just a few blocks away.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank PAUL S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Y_Chen, Manager at Best Western Cabrillo Garden Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Dear Paul S,

Thank you for your comments regarding the recent stay at our property.

We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay at the Best Western Plus Cabrillo Garden Inn and we hope to see you back soon.

Y Chen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Loved this small, well-located San Diego hotel. Charming decor, friendly and helpful staff and a nice rooftop patio to relax on made it a great experience and very good value. We were able to walk to the Rock and Roll Marathon Start and Finish lines, Petco Park for baseball, Horton Mall for shopping, Little Italy and Gaslamp Quarter for fine dining, Convention Center and waterfront. It was ideal.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Sylvia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Y_Chen, Manager at Best Western Cabrillo Garden Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Dear Sylvia K,

Thank you for your review regarding our hotel Best Western Plus Cabrillo Garden Inn San Diego.
We are pleased that you have enjoyed your stay at our property and we are hoping to have you as our guest in the near future.

Y Chen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Highest compliments to the owners and staff for a very nice setting and excellent service. The staff was knowledgeable and gracious. The breakfast lady was fantastic for her preparation and service. The rooms were just great for sleep and the upstairs roof top garden was nice for relaxation and a nice view of the city. Would highly recommend for value and a good experience.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Kenneth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Y_Chen, Manager at Best Western Cabrillo Garden Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Dear Kenneth M,

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your stay at Best Western Cabrillo Garden Inn.
We are pleased that you enjoyed our hotel and friendly staff.
Thank you again for your review and we hope to see you back soon.

Y Chen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Our stay at the Best Western Plus Cabrillo Garden Inn was absolutely wonderful. The staff was helpful and welcoming right from check-in. The walked us through a map of San Diego including places to visit, eat, and where to walk. Our room was very clean and well presented when we walked in, and it was continued to be well kept over our week of stay. The terrace was also a wonderful place to enjoy a class of wine and conversation with friends. Overall, our stay in San Diego was great, and the staff at the Cabrillo Garden Inn made it all possible!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Katie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Y_Chen, Manager at Best Western Cabrillo Garden Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2014

Dear Katie S,
Thank you for your kind comments regarding your stay at Best Western Plus Cabrillo Garden Inn.
We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay at our property and that you loved the accommodation, our friendly staff and convenient location.
We hope to see you again in the near future.
Y Chen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Best Western Plus Bayside Inn
Downtown
Days Inn San Diego/Downtown/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown
Downtown
SpringHill Suites San Diego Downtown/Bayfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Cabrillo Garden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Cabrillo Garden Inn

Address: 840 A St, San Diego, CA 92101-4613
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #118 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range: £114 - £220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Cabrillo Garden Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Cabrillo Garden Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Cabrillo Garden Hotel San Diego
Best Western San Diego
San Diego Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing