We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't plan on sleeping”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego SeaWorld/Zoo Area
Ranked #164 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Don't plan on sleeping”
Reviewed 28 June 2011

Recently spend two nights at this place. Very noisy place. Closer on room next to ours broke so door slammed all night long. I went to complain to manager and I was told "she is too busy". Would recommend Motel 6 over this.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DW0001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

760 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    241
    166
    91
    60
See reviews for
402
139
44
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 June 2011

Don't stay at this location I was so disspapointed. The pull out sofa was worse than something that came out of the trash. DOn't think for one minute my child would sleep on that nasty thing. They gave me a bedspread to use because they had no blankets. The Queen bed had no bedspread. The tub did not drain. I killed gray spiders the first night there. Front desk staff not friendly or helpful. Parking is underground in the garage or in a very crowded parking lot. After 10pm you are out of luck to get any parking at all. In addition to all the incoveniences this Hotel offered I never earned my La Quinta rewards nothing ever credited for the 3 night stay in this pie hole from May 28/11-5/31/11. They sure are eager to suck your money from you upon check in though. Also note that I tried to use the pool but each time it was out of towels. I would never return to this hotel. Total Fail!! I don't have a picture of the free standing water in the bathtub since I did not take my camera in there with me. It was gross.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ladydiannexxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Diego hotels

Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2011

Great location right where several freeways meet, which is good. Right around the corner from the UCSD Extension building if you're in town for classes there. It's close to the beaches/SeaWorld by car, but don't try walking to the shopping mall like they advertise unless you are all in shape and adventurous - you have to cross the busy bridge over I-8 to get there.

Parking was not ideal, you have to park near the front of the parking structure to get to the elevators and the support poles obstruct several spaces. If you park closest to the elevator, make sure you have a small car or you will need a lookout to back out without damaging anything. We had a Chrysler Pacifica and parked fairly close, but another guest parked his Honda Ridgeline right next to us and we couldn't get past that truck's rear end -- I had to back out like I was going deeper into the structure and do a 3-pt turn just to come back to the exit!

We had a 2nd floor suite w/ a king size bed, which meant an odd-numbered room (even numbers were on one side of the floor, odd numbers on the other). You can hear every noise on the concrete walkways leading to the rooms, so when you're trying to sleep you will hear the late comers with rolling suitcases and the cleaning person's cart when she's nowhere near your room.

My kid was on the hide-a-bed couch, which he said was fine. The main bedroom is separate from the couch area, but there is no privacy door so people on the couch that need access to the bathroom have to pass by the bed - keep that in mind if you sleep with little to nothing on. The toilet cycled on and off every 10 minutes or so, very annoying. Maintenance never came to repair it after I reported it - I finally got my pliers and fixed the flapper myself to get some sleep I asked for extra towels since there were 3 of us in the room - we didn't get them until the last day of our 3-day stay. The bathroom vent/fan is wall-mounted above the toilet, don't get too close because it is full of dust. When we first arrived, the windows had sheers and privacy shades. On the 2nd day of our stay, we came back to find the sheers removed! Apparently the maintenance man did this to all the rooms, but now we had to either leave the shades open and have anyone walking by look into our room, or close the shades and turn on all the lights! So much for the view.

Friday was strange because the flyer guys are all over the place. If they can tell a room is occupied (lights on, noises inside room), they shove flyers into the room through the gap in the side of the door. The 1st time they came, I thought someone was trying to break into the room they were so loud. After the 4th flyer came through in an hour (3 local pizza joints, 1 chinese food place), I complained to the front lobby. Then it magically stopped.

Breakfast was pretty good, get there early because it is like a train station with all the guests eating there. If you don't like the basic waffles/cereal/bagels, you can take a 3-minute walk up Cam. Del Rio S to Denny's. Starbucks is across the street in the mall, too far to walk but a short drive. Room service food quality was good, but the prices in the menu were incorrect...they charged an extra $1 on EVERY ITEM we ordered, which was not cool.

Laundry was pretty good, the dryers actually got clothes dry in one cycle. Don't bother buying the soap/fabric softener from the lobby - bring your own or go to Target in the mall across the street. The wi-fi worked well, no complaints there when we needed to look up places to visit or restaurants.

I normally don't stay here on business trips to SD, even though it's right down the street from the UCSD building I normally am in town to visit. I wouldn't have stayed here this trip except that I got a great deal on a SeaWorld package, which included stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: Get as close to the elevator as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kjbad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lq6119gm, Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego SeaWorld/Zoo Area, responded to this review, 21 June 2011
Thank you for your comments and feedback. I would like to sincerely apologize for the issues you encounter during your stay. We strive to always exceed our guest’s expectations and have already worked on correcting the issues mentioned. It is truly our hope that we will have another chance to earn your patronage. Please feel free to contact me directly at 619-295-6886 if you have any further questions or concerns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2011

for the rates this hotel charges you can find much better, we had a dirty room tub would not drain, pull out bed look like it was pulled from trash can, this hotel has only one exit at front of property so if you get a room in back you must lug all your things to front then all the way to back remember parking is in back.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank franlofter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lq6119gm, Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego SeaWorld/Zoo Area, responded to this review, 21 June 2011
Thank you for your comments and feedback. I was very sorry and disappointed to read about your experience with us. As a La Quinta Inn we strive to always exceed our guest’s expectations. With our recent room renovations and diligence in maintaining the highest quality of cleanliness and preventative maintenance, I assure you the issues have been resolved. I hope you will take an opportunity to try us again next time you are in San Diego. Please feel free to contact me directly at 619-295-6886 if you have any further questions or concerns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lg1955
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2011

We stayed here last week after a horrible experience at another hotel. They were lovely people on the staff, let us check in early and check out late on Monday. We had a King Suite which was twice as big as the crummy hotel and the same price. There was no fee for our dog. The suite has a seperate bedroom area, a small sofa, microwave refrigerator and sink and two TV's. The shower was wonderful. Breakfast was nice even tho it was corwded on the weekend. Very convenient to freeway and not noisy. Definately will stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lg1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
U S A
Level Contributor
269 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2011

After reading a few of the bad reviews I was hesitant about staying here. But once we arrived the grounds were very clean and they allowed us to see our room before we checked in. For less than $100 a night we got a one bedroom suite that was far larger than what we expected! And a wonderful hotel that allows pets free of charge! Our teenager had no problem sleeping on the new hide a bed sofa and the make your own waffels every morning was wonderful! We will stay here everytime we are in the area. Keep up the great work!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank averyfamily3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
155 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2011

I've been choosing La Quinta for personal travel for years because they are pet friendly. The rooms are just fine, clean, and comfortable. Front desk staff is friendly and helpful at check-in. My stay at this particular inn, however, was a disappointment, principally because of management and service issues. 1) The biggest issue is that there is no process to ensure that every room possible is serviced by room attendants. If you have a Do Not Disturb sign on your door when they come, they will not come back unless you specifically request it. Same if your pet is in your room. Thus if you leave the hotel under these circumstances you will come back and find your room has not been serviced, and hotel management will tell you the maid had no way of knowing you wanted service. Management should assume that every guest wants their room to be serviced, unless there is a clear demonstration otherwise. 2) The breakfast room is completely inadequate in size and staffing. Even on the Monday morning following Easter when the hotel had low occupancy the night before, the room was uncomfortably crowded, people were packed 3 or more deep at the waffle makers, and the one attendant was running herself ragged just trying to keep tables clean. Each of the two buildings should have a breakfast room. 3) The pet area is poorly lighted and apparently is never cleaned. Even if you want to pick up your pet's waste as I always do, you are likely to step in something another dog has left behind. 4) Maids will not clean your room while the pet is there, which is perfectly understandable. But there is nowhere in the property that you can go and sit with your pet while the room is cleaned.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on far east side (pet area smells)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Morris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lq6119gm, Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego SeaWorld/Zoo Area, responded to this review, 5 May 2011
As a La Quinta Inn& Suites we are proud to welcome pets and take pride in clean, comfortable rooms and friendly staff. I am sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations. I would like to sincerely apologize for the service issues and the way it was handled by my team. We will continue to work with our staff to ensure that this situation does not happen again, as we have also corrected issues with the pet area so it meets our guest’s standards as well as ours. It is truly our hope that we will have another chance to earn your patronage. Please feel free to contact me personally to make reservations or if I can assist you in any way. Chris Michie Assistant General Manager 619-295-6886; lq6119gm@laquinta.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Quality Suites Mission Valley SeaWorld Area
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Comfort Inn & Suites Zoo / SeaWorld Area
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Mission Valley / Zoo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
BEST WESTERN Seven Seas
BEST WESTERN Seven Seas
#148 of 279 in San Diego
1,439 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Hilton San Diego Mission Valley
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Hotel Circle - San Diego
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego SeaWorld/Zoo Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego SeaWorld/Zoo Area

Property: La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego SeaWorld/Zoo Area
Address: 641 Camino Del Rio S, San Diego, CA 92108-3512
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#68 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego SeaWorld/Zoo Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Quinta Inn & Suites is a pet- and family-friendly San Diego hotel, located in Hotel Circle. We are a San Diego Zoo Preferred Partner hotel, and we welcome all guests to enjoy our amenities, including free WiFi, free hot breakfast, and a convenient location near the San Diego Zoo, SeaWorld, Balboa Park, downtown San Diego, and Qualcomm Stadium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), LaQuinta, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego SeaWorld/Zoo Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn San Diego - Mission Valley Hotel San Diego
La Quinta Mission Valley
La Quinta San Diego
San Diego La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing