We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“San Diego Vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego SeaWorld/Zoo Area
Ranked #153 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We stayed at the LaQuinta Inn for our family vacation in San Diego. The location was great for day trips to the beach, zoo, Midway, and Sea World, but a car is necessary. The breakfasts were great for our family. The pool and hot tub were clean and fun for the children.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephan B, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego SeaWorld/Zoo Area, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear Sarah,

Thank you for your review of La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego. I am happy to hear that your stay was nice and your children enjoyed our complimentary breakfast. Our central location definitely makes exploring San Diego convenient. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next vacation to San Diego.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (837)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

431 - 437 of 837 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2014

i dont know what everyone is talking about. i stayed here 2 weeks ago and found the place to be great. the king suite was of a good size. the fridge was oversized and had a micro. 2 tvs and wi fi. the room was spotless. so many lamps that it looked like vegas when they were all lit up. the bathroom didnt have one speck in it. the shower head was so wonderful if i had a wrench i would of taken it home :) the shower curtain was of hilton or sheraton quality. beautiful and new. the pool was the regular size of most hotels and a jacuzzi. the pool has beautiful landscaping and all new chairs. each chair had a folded towel on it. very classy. the breakfast was continental. if you want a big breakfast then go to a restaurant. damn if you go to starbucks a coffee and roll will run you 7 dollars. a bowl of cereal at the hilton is 6 bucks. quit complaining. the breakfast room was big. and tables outside. anyone who complains about the size of the room and pool is having a bad day. they also allow pets. what an added bonus. yes i didnt like paying 8 dollars to park but i paid 46 dollars in san francisco. the office staff was sooo friendly . everyone always smiling. i must of lucked out and got the perfect room. i am going back again and again. and what nonsense complaining about traffic noise. all the hotels there are at the freeway. there wasnt traffic noise at nite. if you dont want noise go to the mountains not san diego off the freeway.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank conway1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephan B, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego SeaWorld/Zoo Area, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear Conway1951,

Thank you for your wonderful review. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego. We strive to provide a great experience and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Normal LaQuinta stay only we had trouble receiving towels and housekeeping. Two buildings, but only one breakfast area so not able to take advantage of it as there was no room to sit. Wi-fi kept fading in and out especially in the evenings.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
Thank Audrey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephan B, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego SeaWorld/Zoo Area, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear Audrey,

Thank you for taking the time to review La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego. We continually strive to improve our product and service quality and appreciate the feedback. We apologize for the issue you faced with towels. One of our laundry dryers had required repair and delayed laundry processing. This has since been resolved. We are investigating upgrading our breakfast area to enhance the dining experience. I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back and demonstrate our true La Quinta hospitality.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

I was there 3 days. Good overall experience.
positives-inexpensive,good breakfast,clean, close to Sea World, helpful staff(I needlot's of help).
negatives-lot's of kids,crowded at breakfast ~9am, elavator, parking tight.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
Thank pwalesky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephan B, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego SeaWorld/Zoo Area, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear P. Walesky,

Thank you for your review of La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay at our Hotel. We are currently investigating alternatives for our parking and our breakfast experience. We appreciate you have a choice of accommodations and thank you for choosing us for your recent visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

This is a tired hotel in need of a major remodel. Rusty fixtures and sinks. The breakfast needs updated food choices not just waffles, toast and bagels. The staff was very friendly and helpful. However the cleanliness and much needed maintenance issues cannot be overlooked.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
Thank Steven J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephan B, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego SeaWorld/Zoo Area, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear Steven,

Thank you for taking the time to review La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego. It is through such feedback that we may strive to continually improve our product and service standards. I want to assure you that we take your concerns seriously. We are now looking at some upgrades to the property to provide a pleasant experience to our guests. I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back and demonstrate our true La Quinta hospitality.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Only blemish is that we had no wash cloths. We asked for some and were supplied with more hand & bath towels. Also, the wi-fi was barley existent. Of course we were not there to surf the internet so that was no big deal - just noticeable. I would still recommend this place.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
Thank Leo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephan B, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego SeaWorld/Zoo Area, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Dear Leo S.,

Thank you for your nice review. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay. I am currently investigating alternatives for the speed of the internet. We understand you have a choice of accommodations and thank you for choosing La Quinta Mission Valley for your recent stay. We hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

I have never stayed at a worse hotel. The only decent thing was the bed and tv. We walked in our room and their was roaches and other bugs. Other families on our team experienced the same thing! It took them 24-hours to move us rooms. Additionally, they were very inconsistent with late check-out between one family on our football team and another. I will NEVER stay at this chain again. Lastly, if you like friendly "service" this is NOT the hotel for you.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaepei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephan B, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego SeaWorld/Zoo Area, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Dear Jaepei,

Thank you for reviewing the La Quinta Inn Mission Valley. It is through such feedback that we may strive to improve our product and service standards. I apologize for your experience at our Hotel. As the new General Manager here, I take your concerns seriously. We have installed seals and have contacted our Pest Control to resolve the issue. I am also implementing service training in order that we exceed our Guests' expectations and anticipate Guests' needs.

I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back and prove our true La Quinta hospitality.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Quality Suites San Diego SeaWorld Area
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Comfort Inn & Suites Zoo / SeaWorld Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn San Diego
Kings Inn San Diego
#27 of 286 in San Diego
2,422 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Handlery Hotel San Diego
Handlery Hotel San Diego
#132 of 286 in San Diego
1,267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego SeaWorld/Zoo Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego SeaWorld/Zoo Area

Address: 641 Camino Del Rio S, San Diego, CA 92108-3512
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#68 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: £66 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego SeaWorld/Zoo Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Quinta Inn & Suites is a pet- and family-friendly San Diego hotel, located in Hotel Circle. We are a San Diego Zoo Preferred Partner hotel, and we welcome all guests to enjoy our amenities, including free WiFi, free hot breakfast, and a convenient location near the San Diego Zoo, SeaWorld, Balboa Park, downtown San Diego, and Qualcomm Stadium. Hotel parking fee is $10.00 daily and parking for over-sized vehicles is subject to availability. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LaQuinta, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego SeaWorld/Zoo Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn San Diego - Mission Valley Hotel San Diego
La Quinta Mission Valley
La Quinta San Diego
San Diego La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing