We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy hotel in a great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Omni San Diego Hotel
Ranked #12 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Central New Jersey
Level Contributor
127 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Comfy hotel in a great location!”
Reviewed 2 May 2011

This hotel definitely met and exceeded my expectations! After thoroughly searching through the many hotels in San Diego, my friend and I chose the Omni for the great price that was offered, it's proximity to Petco Park (we had tickets to a Padres game), and the pleasant reviews other travelers had given it.

Based on prior experiences with Omni hotels, it came as no surprise that the room was spacious, clean, and very comfortable. One perk for us with the connecting bridge from the hotel straight into Petco Park. This made attending and exiting the stadium so quick and efficient! It was a small luxury to us considering we are used to waiting in long lines to exit our hometown stadiums.

The rooftop pool/hot tub area was very nice and relaxing. An extra pleasure was the pool side service for drinks and food. Although the food was a bit pricey, we did enjoy a lovely lunch by the pool. The hotel staff were very courteous and helpful to ensure our stay was pleasant and that all our wants/needs were met.

Being located right next to a trolley stop, the bay, and the Gaslamp Quarter, the hotels' location is perfect. Everything was in an easy walking distance and those things that were not, were just a quick trolley ride or an inexpensive cab ride away (e.g. the airport and the San Diego zoo).

Overall, this hotel was truly excellent and I would recommend it, especially if you are in town for a ball game and price is righ!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,759
    1,046
    253
    100
    44
See reviews for
720
1,085
164
1,777
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (523)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Level Contributor
199 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2011

I loved this hotel. Check in was super smooth and easy and i was able to check in at 9am on a weekday. Hotel staff was very welcoming and concierge pointed us towards our sightseeing journey. The room was very large and luxurious. We had a view of PETCO park. The bathroom was sooo roomy i loved that traveling with a family. No counter space to store toiletries but i just moved all their items on the shelves and used that. It was right in the beginning of the Gaslamp district and there were tons of restaurants and bars in walking distance. There is also a Mccormick restaurant in the hotel. We were there on a game night, and the atmosphere changed dramatically. It was full of traveling fans (you could tell when everyone in the elevator was wearing the opposing team's jerseys), baseball players who were being stopped for autographs and pictures and their families. In addition, the street in front of the hotel was closed for the game and droves of fans walked towards the hotel for the game. Nevertheless, it didnt bother us at all, we could hear a tiny bit of the game from the room but the bed was so comfy we were fast asleep. We had two snafus but they were quickly addressed. Some sort of water leak happened and there was no hot water in the hotel for about 2 hours at night...right at bath and bedtime...but they apologized worked on it and made a personal trip to the room armed with free bottled water to announce the arrival of the hot water. I thought that was very nice. Earlier in the evening we had received the most delicious cookies and milk complimentary for the kid...yeah i tasted it LOL! And upon arrival our child got an Omni fun backpack with toys that kept her busy in the room. They also had the option of borrowing a toy box full of toys for your stay. In addition we received the newspaper, 2 morning beverages and free wifi for being select guests. I couldnt imagine staying anywhere else in San Diego unless i wanted a beachfront hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prissywanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2011

A group of friends and I decided to take a random trip to San Diego. I booked the hotel using Priceline and got a real good rate, about 50% off. Once we got the hotel we noticed that it was right next to the baseball stadium (Petco Park), and literally a few hundred yards from the Gaslamp district. This was perfect because we did most of our travels there.

We did go to the beach one day but the traffic was pretty bad, and getting out of the hotel was annoying. Even though the hotel and rooms are very well presented, the rooms are a bit smaller than most 4 star hotels.

I would say that if you were looking to hang out in downtown San Diego most of the time, and could afford $150-$200 a night, then this hotel would be a good choice. Otherwise, if you want to hit up the beaches for most of your travels, then maybe downtown San Diego isn't your best choice.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aspataro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
86 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2011

The Omni is a stunning building from the outside, and the blandest thing ever once inside. There's nothing wrong with it, but it lacks personality, style, and sense of place. A banal business property, with poorly designed rooms, very disappointing given the stark contrast with the shiny architecture. Service is competent though, which is good thing in such a busy property. Definitely not my cup of tea, although reasonably priced. Would only recommend it to undemanding business customers looking for a safe place to crash with a swift laundry service, or for attendees at a conference on the other side of the street, you won't get any closer than this to the Convention Center.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PortoTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Mexico
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2011

This hotel was pretty nice. It is expensive but it is nice. The rooms aren't anything to write home about but they are clean and have pretty good views. The front-desk staff and bellhops were very nice and helpful. The hotel is right next to the Gaslamp District and across the street from the convention center. It is also right next to a trolley stop but the sound of the bell couldn't be heard in the hotel so it didn't disrupt my sleep one bit. But it did allow us to catch the trolley to the harbor to go whale watching. The Hardrock Hotel is right across the street and is very loud with all the music playing but it could not be heard in the hotel.
One weird thing about this hotel is that the bathroom door is a sliding door. I thought it was cool at first but then noticed that when closed there are gaps on either end of the door so if you are rooming with someone they would definitely be able to see into the bathroom.
You also have to pay for the internet but if you sign up for their "club" you can get it for free. Just make sure to check your bill before you leave because although I signed up for the club I was charged for the internet. But, the people at the front desk were more than happy to remove the charge from my bill when I told them that I had signed up for their club.
This hotel has a restaurant in it, which is expensive. If you like paying $16 for a bagel then you will be right at home in this restaurant.
Overall, I would recommend this hotel, and I would definitely recommend it if you can get a great deal on a room. If you aren't planning on spending a lot of time in your room then it would be more cost effective to stay at a less expensive hotel.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveldamsel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
50 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2011

I was actually sad when I had to check out after my two nights. This was a beautiful hotel with lots of little perks that made me feel, well, spoiled to get to stay here. The rooms were large and immaculate, looking like they were brand new. I had a great view over to Coronado (if only they would move that Hilton over there) and could get over to the convention center in less than five minutes.

The Gaslight District is just out the front door and the trolley line is also right there. You can hear the whistle from the train at night but I imagine this is an issue for every single hotel in this area. The windows shut pretty tight, so other outside noise was not a problem.

I did want to note that they have a little coffee shop in the hotel, but it's really tucked away. If you head to the left, past the front desk, you'll be able to find it.

It's definitely pricey (I would not have been able to afford this place if work wasn't helping to foot the bill), but then again everything is in this area of San Diego.

The best part? They offer free (!!) wireless if you're a member of their rewards club (which is also free). When you're trying to stand out among the Marriotts and Hiltons, this is the way to do it.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RamblingRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2011

We stayed here as part of a convention and I would highly recommend it to anyone and definitely stay here again. I would also highly recommend enrolling in the omni select guest program on arrival. It's FREE and it allows two free beverages for 2 guests delivered to your room in the morning (the best coffee!) as well as a newspaper, free internet and they even upgraded us to a larger room. The hotel is so convenient to the gaslamp district, convention center, petco park and the transit system. It was an easy walk to everything. ALL of the staff are so freindly and helpful. The pool area and exercise rooms are unbelieveable and there is always fresh lemon water in the lobby and exercise room. My only regret is that I only stayed 5 days!

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank itech425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#37 of 279 in San Diego
5,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
#74 of 279 in San Diego
4,746 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#42 of 279 in San Diego
1,951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni San Diego Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni San Diego Hotel

Property: Omni San Diego Hotel
Address: 675 L Street, San Diego, CA 92101-7022
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , East Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#16 Family Hotel in San Diego
#20 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#22 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni San Diego Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 511
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Omni San Diego is located in downtown San Diego, just steps from the historic Gaslamp quarter and connected via skybridge to the San Diego Padres ballpark, PETCO Park. This luxury hotel was designed with a cosmopolitan feel to compliment the sunny San Diego setting. The interior is contemporary and comfortable, decorated in warm earth tones and natural materials. Guestrooms are relaxing and well appointed with the finest bedding, upscale bathroom amenities, free wireless internet and unbeatable views. In addition, the hotel houses an extensive collection of rare baseball memorabilia, including a variety of autographed baseballs, jerseys, and a Babe Ruth contract. Whether traveling for business or leisure, a stay at the Omni San Diego Hotel is one you won't soon forget. Culinary offerings include McCormick & Schmick’s Seafood Restaurant, open daily, 6am to midnight. Offering the freshest selection of seafood in San Diego, menus are printed daily based upon local fish market supply and focus on seasonal, locally sourced, farm-to-table creations highlighting organic ingredients. Supplementing the menu is a thoughtful beverage list including progressive wines-by-the-glass and mixologist inspired cocktails with a “house made” approach. The Terrace Bar & Grill, open everyday through September, 11am to 8pm – Poolside, Level 6. In-Room/Remote Dining: 24 hours a day online. Morsel’s Café: Open everyday, 6am to 10pm – Lobby Level. Enjoy a variety of Starbuck’s coffee beverages, grab a snack to go, pick up travel-friendly sundries or a San Diego themed gift on the run. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Omni San Diego Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing