We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location. Creature Comforts & San Diego”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Omni San Diego Hotel
Ranked #14 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Rockland Cnty, New York
Level Contributor
52 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great Location. Creature Comforts & San Diego”
Reviewed 15 May 2011

Having been to San Diego for conferences in the past, I was looking forward to attending this business meeting, this hotel helped make it one of the best. Omni Hotels brand is a great customer service focused enterprise. Check in was very welcoming, card-keys waiting.

I got a mid-level floor. Every morning had OJ, coffee, and a paper waiting for me. Simple pleasures so far from home. The hotel decor was subtle-chic and staff unobtrusive.

Hotel bar food tasty. Lobby bar very expensive, but not to worry, the Gas lamp district is right outside the door. Extra-ordinary selection of restaurants for foodies (also, visit the Palm Steakhouse a few blocks away)

Conference Rooms were fine seats were comfortable. Better yet, when interrupted for a phone call, you can walk out on the veranda and speak in 70 degree San Diego sun while the Santa Fe railroad cars slowly coast by. I understand why people love San Diego.

Rooms were well appointed, not ostentatious. Toiletries are among the best in the industry. Everything in the city is within walking distance. The convention center is across the street. This is the only place i would stay for another convention.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChiefJack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,709
    1,035
    249
    96
    43
See reviews for
703
1,074
163
1,741
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (521)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2011

Our main purpose was to go to San Diego and to head to a Phillies/Padres game. We picked this hotel due to its close location to PETCO park. The hotel has its own separate entrance way into the park so you dont have to fight crowds. Very Convenient!

Service at the Omni was fabulous! Anything we needed, they were willing to try to get for us as well as help us out in any way with restaurants, directions, things to do, etc. Our flight did not leave until 10:00 PM and the hotel allowed us to stay and not check out until 6:00 PM which was so beneficial. We could have the entire day to explore and site see.

When i decide to go back to San Diego, I will stay at this hotel again. I do not have one bad thing to say about this hotel. Book your stay here now. :-)

Room Tip: request upper level room. Great views of the park
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nikkipell31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central New Jersey
Level Contributor
127 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2011

This hotel definitely met and exceeded my expectations! After thoroughly searching through the many hotels in San Diego, my friend and I chose the Omni for the great price that was offered, it's proximity to Petco Park (we had tickets to a Padres game), and the pleasant reviews other travelers had given it.

Based on prior experiences with Omni hotels, it came as no surprise that the room was spacious, clean, and very comfortable. One perk for us with the connecting bridge from the hotel straight into Petco Park. This made attending and exiting the stadium so quick and efficient! It was a small luxury to us considering we are used to waiting in long lines to exit our hometown stadiums.

The rooftop pool/hot tub area was very nice and relaxing. An extra pleasure was the pool side service for drinks and food. Although the food was a bit pricey, we did enjoy a lovely lunch by the pool. The hotel staff were very courteous and helpful to ensure our stay was pleasant and that all our wants/needs were met.

Being located right next to a trolley stop, the bay, and the Gaslamp Quarter, the hotels' location is perfect. Everything was in an easy walking distance and those things that were not, were just a quick trolley ride or an inexpensive cab ride away (e.g. the airport and the San Diego zoo).

Overall, this hotel was truly excellent and I would recommend it, especially if you are in town for a ball game and price is righ!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level Contributor
191 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2011

I loved this hotel. Check in was super smooth and easy and i was able to check in at 9am on a weekday. Hotel staff was very welcoming and concierge pointed us towards our sightseeing journey. The room was very large and luxurious. We had a view of PETCO park. The bathroom was sooo roomy i loved that traveling with a family. No counter space to store toiletries but i just moved all their items on the shelves and used that. It was right in the beginning of the Gaslamp district and there were tons of restaurants and bars in walking distance. There is also a Mccormick restaurant in the hotel. We were there on a game night, and the atmosphere changed dramatically. It was full of traveling fans (you could tell when everyone in the elevator was wearing the opposing team's jerseys), baseball players who were being stopped for autographs and pictures and their families. In addition, the street in front of the hotel was closed for the game and droves of fans walked towards the hotel for the game. Nevertheless, it didnt bother us at all, we could hear a tiny bit of the game from the room but the bed was so comfy we were fast asleep. We had two snafus but they were quickly addressed. Some sort of water leak happened and there was no hot water in the hotel for about 2 hours at night...right at bath and bedtime...but they apologized worked on it and made a personal trip to the room armed with free bottled water to announce the arrival of the hot water. I thought that was very nice. Earlier in the evening we had received the most delicious cookies and milk complimentary for the kid...yeah i tasted it LOL! And upon arrival our child got an Omni fun backpack with toys that kept her busy in the room. They also had the option of borrowing a toy box full of toys for your stay. In addition we received the newspaper, 2 morning beverages and free wifi for being select guests. I couldnt imagine staying anywhere else in San Diego unless i wanted a beachfront hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prissywanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2011

A group of friends and I decided to take a random trip to San Diego. I booked the hotel using Priceline and got a real good rate, about 50% off. Once we got the hotel we noticed that it was right next to the baseball stadium (Petco Park), and literally a few hundred yards from the Gaslamp district. This was perfect because we did most of our travels there.

We did go to the beach one day but the traffic was pretty bad, and getting out of the hotel was annoying. Even though the hotel and rooms are very well presented, the rooms are a bit smaller than most 4 star hotels.

I would say that if you were looking to hang out in downtown San Diego most of the time, and could afford $150-$200 a night, then this hotel would be a good choice. Otherwise, if you want to hit up the beaches for most of your travels, then maybe downtown San Diego isn't your best choice.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aspataro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
86 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2011

The Omni is a stunning building from the outside, and the blandest thing ever once inside. There's nothing wrong with it, but it lacks personality, style, and sense of place. A banal business property, with poorly designed rooms, very disappointing given the stark contrast with the shiny architecture. Service is competent though, which is good thing in such a busy property. Definitely not my cup of tea, although reasonably priced. Would only recommend it to undemanding business customers looking for a safe place to crash with a swift laundry service, or for attendees at a conference on the other side of the street, you won't get any closer than this to the Convention Center.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PortoTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2011

This hotel was pretty nice. It is expensive but it is nice. The rooms aren't anything to write home about but they are clean and have pretty good views. The front-desk staff and bellhops were very nice and helpful. The hotel is right next to the Gaslamp District and across the street from the convention center. It is also right next to a trolley stop but the sound of the bell couldn't be heard in the hotel so it didn't disrupt my sleep one bit. But it did allow us to catch the trolley to the harbor to go whale watching. The Hardrock Hotel is right across the street and is very loud with all the music playing but it could not be heard in the hotel.
One weird thing about this hotel is that the bathroom door is a sliding door. I thought it was cool at first but then noticed that when closed there are gaps on either end of the door so if you are rooming with someone they would definitely be able to see into the bathroom.
You also have to pay for the internet but if you sign up for their "club" you can get it for free. Just make sure to check your bill before you leave because although I signed up for the club I was charged for the internet. But, the people at the front desk were more than happy to remove the charge from my bill when I told them that I had signed up for their club.
This hotel has a restaurant in it, which is expensive. If you like paying $16 for a bagel then you will be right at home in this restaurant.
Overall, I would recommend this hotel, and I would definitely recommend it if you can get a great deal on a room. If you aren't planning on spending a lot of time in your room then it would be more cost effective to stay at a less expensive hotel.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveldamsel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#37 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#45 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,918 reviews
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
#74 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,693 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni San Diego Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni San Diego Hotel

Property: Omni San Diego Hotel
Address: 675 L Street, San Diego, CA 92101-7022
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , East Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#16 Family Hotel in San Diego
#20 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#22 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni San Diego Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 511
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Omni San Diego is located in downtown San Diego, just steps from the historic Gaslamp quarter and connected via skybridge to the San Diego Padres ballpark, PETCO Park. This luxury hotel was designed with a cosmopolitan feel to compliment the sunny San Diego setting. The interior is contemporary and comfortable, decorated in warm earth tones and natural materials. Guestrooms are relaxing and well appointed with the finest bedding, upscale bathroom amenities, free wireless internet and unbeatable views. In addition, the hotel houses an extensive collection of rare baseball memorabilia, including a variety of autographed baseballs, jerseys, and a Babe Ruth contract. Whether traveling for business or leisure, a stay at the Omni San Diego Hotel is one you won't soon forget. Culinary offerings include McCormick & Schmick’s Seafood Restaurant, open daily, 6am to midnight. Offering the freshest selection of seafood in San Diego, menus are printed daily based upon local fish market supply and focus on seasonal, locally sourced, farm-to-table creations highlighting organic ingredients. Supplementing the menu is a thoughtful beverage list including progressive wines-by-the-glass and mixologist inspired cocktails with a “house made” approach. The Terrace Bar & Grill, open everyday through September, 11am to 8pm – Poolside, Level 6. In-Room/Remote Dining: 24 hours a day online. Morsel’s Café: Open everyday, 6am to 10pm – Lobby Level. Enjoy a variety of Starbuck’s coffee beverages, grab a snack to go, pick up travel-friendly sundries or a San Diego themed gift on the run. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Omni San Diego Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing