We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Omni San Diego Hotel
Ranked #12 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
chicago
Level Contributor
70 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 2 June 2011

Just stayed at the Omni during Memorial Day weekend May 27-30th and had a great time. Conveniently located in the gaslamp district across Petco Park. The only negative is they have a "late night menu" that restricts your options for room service. Valet is expected at $30.00+ a day like most downtown locations. Me being from Chicago area our hotels have similar rates. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bilah1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,759
    1,046
    253
    100
    44
See reviews for
720
1,085
164
1,777
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (523)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
palm springs, california
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 May 2011

I've been a big fan of Omni Hotels for some time and The Omni San Diego only reinforced my feelings! From the reception desk to housekeeping and room service, this hotel is a class act. I've been a Select Guest (the Omni's loyalty program) for many years and it is a wonderful program--free WIFI, complimentary morning beverage service delivered to your room at the time you request, room upgrades, complimentary clothes pressing and shoe shines, too. I can't say enough good things about this hotel--I wouldn't dream of staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank enjoyinglifeca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2011

We spent three nights here on our southern california road trip holiday it was a fantastic location, great staff and we had a great deal that included parking and breakfast each day.

This is the second Omni we have stayed in and have had great experiences both times.

We went to the baseball and it was great as it was so close and had it's own access bridge so we didn't have to deal with any of the crowds.

It was easy access to bars and resturants in the Gas Lamp Quater, some hotels in the area seemed to be on streets that didn't look too safe at night so we were very happy with the location as we hadn't been there before and some of the hotels we considered seemed to be in some sketchy blocks. The conceirge gave us fantastic resturant recommendations every night.

Would stay there again for sure.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MCSallyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MD
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2011

Great choice if you are attending a Padres game and looking for a clean, comfortable hotel. Yes, it's got a bit of the austere corporate convention center hotel feel to it but meets most of the checklist if you need something reliable and well located with good value. Only potential negative from a sleep quality perspective was the thumping electronica well past midnight at the rooftop bar a block north. Sounded like a great party but beware if you are a light sleeper and get a room facing north.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MdEst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockland Cnty, New York
Level Contributor
52 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2011

Having been to San Diego for conferences in the past, I was looking forward to attending this business meeting, this hotel helped make it one of the best. Omni Hotels brand is a great customer service focused enterprise. Check in was very welcoming, card-keys waiting.

I got a mid-level floor. Every morning had OJ, coffee, and a paper waiting for me. Simple pleasures so far from home. The hotel decor was subtle-chic and staff unobtrusive.

Hotel bar food tasty. Lobby bar very expensive, but not to worry, the Gas lamp district is right outside the door. Extra-ordinary selection of restaurants for foodies (also, visit the Palm Steakhouse a few blocks away)

Conference Rooms were fine seats were comfortable. Better yet, when interrupted for a phone call, you can walk out on the veranda and speak in 70 degree San Diego sun while the Santa Fe railroad cars slowly coast by. I understand why people love San Diego.

Rooms were well appointed, not ostentatious. Toiletries are among the best in the industry. Everything in the city is within walking distance. The convention center is across the street. This is the only place i would stay for another convention.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChiefJack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2011

Our main purpose was to go to San Diego and to head to a Phillies/Padres game. We picked this hotel due to its close location to PETCO park. The hotel has its own separate entrance way into the park so you dont have to fight crowds. Very Convenient!

Service at the Omni was fabulous! Anything we needed, they were willing to try to get for us as well as help us out in any way with restaurants, directions, things to do, etc. Our flight did not leave until 10:00 PM and the hotel allowed us to stay and not check out until 6:00 PM which was so beneficial. We could have the entire day to explore and site see.

When i decide to go back to San Diego, I will stay at this hotel again. I do not have one bad thing to say about this hotel. Book your stay here now. :-)

Room Tip: request upper level room. Great views of the park
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nikkipell31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central New Jersey
Level Contributor
127 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2011

This hotel definitely met and exceeded my expectations! After thoroughly searching through the many hotels in San Diego, my friend and I chose the Omni for the great price that was offered, it's proximity to Petco Park (we had tickets to a Padres game), and the pleasant reviews other travelers had given it.

Based on prior experiences with Omni hotels, it came as no surprise that the room was spacious, clean, and very comfortable. One perk for us with the connecting bridge from the hotel straight into Petco Park. This made attending and exiting the stadium so quick and efficient! It was a small luxury to us considering we are used to waiting in long lines to exit our hometown stadiums.

The rooftop pool/hot tub area was very nice and relaxing. An extra pleasure was the pool side service for drinks and food. Although the food was a bit pricey, we did enjoy a lovely lunch by the pool. The hotel staff were very courteous and helpful to ensure our stay was pleasant and that all our wants/needs were met.

Being located right next to a trolley stop, the bay, and the Gaslamp Quarter, the hotels' location is perfect. Everything was in an easy walking distance and those things that were not, were just a quick trolley ride or an inexpensive cab ride away (e.g. the airport and the San Diego zoo).

Overall, this hotel was truly excellent and I would recommend it, especially if you are in town for a ball game and price is righ!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#37 of 279 in San Diego
5,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
#74 of 279 in San Diego
4,749 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#42 of 279 in San Diego
1,953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni San Diego Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni San Diego Hotel

Property: Omni San Diego Hotel
Address: 675 L Street, San Diego, CA 92101-7022
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , East Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#16 Family Hotel in San Diego
#20 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#22 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni San Diego Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 511
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Omni San Diego is located in downtown San Diego, just steps from the historic Gaslamp quarter and connected via skybridge to the San Diego Padres ballpark, PETCO Park. This luxury hotel was designed with a cosmopolitan feel to compliment the sunny San Diego setting. The interior is contemporary and comfortable, decorated in warm earth tones and natural materials. Guestrooms are relaxing and well appointed with the finest bedding, upscale bathroom amenities, free wireless internet and unbeatable views. In addition, the hotel houses an extensive collection of rare baseball memorabilia, including a variety of autographed baseballs, jerseys, and a Babe Ruth contract. Whether traveling for business or leisure, a stay at the Omni San Diego Hotel is one you won't soon forget. Culinary offerings include McCormick & Schmick’s Seafood Restaurant, open daily, 6am to midnight. Offering the freshest selection of seafood in San Diego, menus are printed daily based upon local fish market supply and focus on seasonal, locally sourced, farm-to-table creations highlighting organic ingredients. Supplementing the menu is a thoughtful beverage list including progressive wines-by-the-glass and mixologist inspired cocktails with a “house made” approach. The Terrace Bar & Grill, open everyday through September, 11am to 8pm – Poolside, Level 6. In-Room/Remote Dining: 24 hours a day online. Morsel’s Café: Open everyday, 6am to 10pm – Lobby Level. Enjoy a variety of Starbuck’s coffee beverages, grab a snack to go, pick up travel-friendly sundries or a San Diego themed gift on the run. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Omni San Diego Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing