We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Omni San Diego Hotel
Ranked #19 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 October 2012

The Omni is situated in a good location near Gaslamp district and overlooks Petco park, very good location. Our room was a good size but the bathroom is only screened off from the room with badly fitting doors/wooden blind not very private and noisy especially in the mornings with the additional noise from other bathrooms in the next rooms around ours. The view of the water from our room was great and we could always watch the Navy ships and helicopters arriving/departing or practicing plus a wonderful view of Colanardo in the distance. Downside we could also see and hear the trains arriving and departing 24/7 just below us but you can't have it all. The pool is very small and very well used with weddings, corporate events etc but good to have and we did use and appreciate this facility. The 'balcony' in our room was nonexistent but the patio doors did open up and allow us to let in the lovely sunny Californian heat. Maid service very good room and bathroom clean, good supply of towels, shampoo etc. Air-con worked but it was a little loud but not too bad. Hall area on our floor was terrible the carpets awful, old, tired and very brown lets the hotel down. Restaurant good food, room service OK a little cold when it arrived but good food. All staff in hotel and restaurant very kind and friendly, especially concierge who could not have been more helpful, thank you guys. We had a good six nights stay.

Room Tip: High floor with good view, if Petco park is your thing ask for a room facing the stadium you almost...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ManleyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,516)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,511 - 3,517 of 4,516 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2012

This is the hotel to be at when you want a luxury option! It is very nice all over. I was there for only one night and I wish I found this hotel a little earlier so I could have just checked in. It's a little bit more expensive but as you know, you get what you pay for. I was contemplating the Hard Rock with the Omni and I choose the Omni because they have step out balconies. This option is a major + for me! I need a place where I don't feel trapped and I can open the window and enjoy what I want. You can't go wrong with this brand! I stayed at a Omni in DC and it was grand and wonderful. This seems to be a newer hotel although I am not sure how long it's been there. Great option! Choose it!

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room with a step out balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VacationManiac85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

Love this place. Great location, great gym and great rooms. As per most hotels the breakfast is extortionate. My advice is to go to Mission on J street, it's a 10 min walk away, better and cheaper! The pool is pretty good and the service from the staff is fantastic. Stayed here a few times now. It's certainly not the cheapest place, but you definitely get what you pay for.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank silvercottage84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2012

the hotel is literally at the entrance to the gaslamp district, if you are staying in the gaslamp you couldnt ask for a better location. right across the street from the hard rock which has an amazing rooftop bar, marriott with another amazing bar also very close. everything is within walking distance. broken yoke cafe close, had our favorite breakfast in SD there. hotel grounds are pretty, the bar has good happy hour prices. our room was very clean, quiet, have no complaints.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2012

Omni is right next to Petco Park, so it's perfect if going to a sports event. It is also very convenient to the convention center, which is just a short walk away.The hotel was immaculate-all areas looked brand new, nothing looked ragged or run down.Seriously, It was so clean it may have passed a white glove test! It was that clean & fresh. The rooms were average size, and the bathrooms were very large. Decor was upscale, beds were comfortable and rooms had nice little amenities most hotels don't have. McCormick & Schmicks is the restaurant in the hotel, excellent breakfast. Hotel Staff, Concierge, restaurant staff, bellman, were all attentive and helpful-I would totally recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jess2uxoxo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

This was our first trip to San Diego and we picked the Omni just because it was connected to Petco Ballfield and we wanted to see the Padres play. But this hotel turned out to be a fantastic selection for many, many other reasons including location, room views and excellent service from the Front Desk, Concierge, Housekeeping and Room Service. Service is a HUGE thing for me as I hate waiting with a passion and don't like to have to call twice.

We arrived at 1:00AM but there was a very friendly and helpful Front Desk that got us checked in quickly. They have web check-in and checkout which is very convenient although I didn't use them.The room was on the 20th floor with twin double beds. The room was very clean and modern and beds very comfortable. We woke up, opened the shades and the whole exterior wall was a floor to ceiling window with magnificent views of the San Diego Bay which in itself was an amenity. So get the highest floor possible facing the bay. Location of the hotel put you within easy walking distance of the bay front and restaurants. The bay front has the Midway Aircraft carrier museum, Star of India tall ship which is where the maritime museum is and lots of great restaurants. There is a boardwalk that goes all along the bayfront for at least 3 miles and is great for walking or jogging.

The concierge desk is manned by 2 so no long waiting and they are very fast and helpful. They planned a sailing trip, a driving trip to La Jolla and suggested many restaurants that were all excellent. Room service was actually fast and the food good. There is a small shop near the concierge's desk that has cold drinks, breakfast muffins and a variety of other things in case you forget something. We gave into temptaion and used the convenience bar becuase we got in so late...expensive but convenient.

Having the hotel actually connected to the ballpark was really cool but don't think of this hotel just for the ballpark. The hotel is very, very well staffed which means no wait times and fast service. Plus everyone is happy because they don't have to do a hundred different things. I rented a car for 2 days and the valet service was excellent. But be prepared, parking is expensive at hotels downtown in general at $34 per night. I used a taxi to get around to most places as everything we wanted to see was nearby includng the zoo and airport. La Jolla is a 25 minute drive thus the rental car.
The pool is on the 6th floor but we never used it.

My daughter left a bunch of stuff behind which she told us about on the way to the airport and caused a lot of stress. I called the Front Desk asked them to have it ready for me as I was in a Taxi and coming back with the meter running. I ran in and they had it bagged up and ready to go.

There are ALOT of hotels downtown but given our experience we would return to the Omni.

Room Tip: Defintely get a room 15th floor or higher facing bay. Didn't use Spa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tony0146484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

What a wonderful experience while visiting San diego for the first time. Luxury without being overbearing, efficient and friendly service in the dining room and at the check in desk, a knowledgeable concierge with the right advice (thanks Robert!) and the weather. All conbined to make the downtown experience there fabulous. A pool, a city view, and a location on the edge of what's happening in the downtown topped it off. Nice and simple. We would return anytime.

Room Tip: We overlooked the Gas Lamp while viewing the convention center and Coronado beyond. it was tough to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cheryl A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
#76 of 279 in San Diego
5,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#34 of 279 in San Diego
5,402 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 279 in San Diego
2,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni San Diego Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni San Diego Hotel

Address: 675 L Street, San Diego, CA 92101-7022
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , East Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#16 Family Hotel in San Diego
#20 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#22 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: £105 - £285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni San Diego Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 511
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Omni San Diego is located in downtown San Diego, just steps from the historic Gaslamp quarter and connected via skybridge to the San Diego Padres ballpark, PETCO Park. This luxury hotel was designed with a cosmopolitan feel to compliment the sunny San Diego setting. The interior is contemporary and comfortable, decorated in warm earth tones and natural materials. Guestrooms are relaxing and well appointed with the finest bedding, upscale bathroom amenities, free wireless internet and unbeatable views. In addition, the hotel houses an extensive collection of rare baseball memorabilia, including a variety of autographed baseballs, jerseys, and a Babe Ruth contract. Whether traveling for business or leisure, a stay at the Omni San Diego Hotel is one you won't soon forget. Culinary offerings include McCormick & Schmick’s Seafood Restaurant, open daily, 6am to midnight. Offering the freshest selection of seafood in San Diego, menus are printed daily based upon local fish market supply and focus on seasonal, locally sourced, farm-to-table creations highlighting organic ingredients. Supplementing the menu is a thoughtful beverage list including progressive wines-by-the-glass and mixologist inspired cocktails with a “house made” approach. The Terrace Bar & Grill, open everyday through September, 11am to 8pm – Poolside, Level 6. In-Room/Remote Dining: 24 hours a day online. Morsel’s Café: Open everyday, 6am to 10pm – Lobby Level. Enjoy a variety of Starbuck’s coffee beverages, grab a snack to go, pick up travel-friendly sundries or a San Diego themed gift on the run. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Omni San Diego Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing