We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not a good stay” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Omni San Diego Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Omni San Diego Hotel
Ranked #14 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not a good stay”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

I stayed for 2 nights. The rooms are very nice, but the experience was bad because of the poor service. The first morning at 7 am much to my surprise there was no hot water. I later found out this had already been going on for 24 hours, and the hotel could have warned me about the problem at check-in but did not do so.

After I left I found out the hotel had placed a $150 hold on my credit card account at check-in for incidentals. It was then not released immediately even though I didn't spend any extra money. Although I realize this is a practice at some hotels, they could have at least had the courtesy to warn me when I checked in, which they did not do.

Finally, I was traveling for a meeting and knew there should be an information packet for me when I checked in. I repeatedly asked about it, and was given incorrect information about it several times ("It's in your room." It was not. "No one left anything for you." They did), and only the next day did they deliver the packet.

Although the manager did comp me $50 at McCormick and Schmick's for dinner because of the problems, I would rather have had an honest and well-run hotel experience than the $50.

The trains that roll by all night are also noisy, but fortunately I was on a high floor. I would avoid staying here in the future.

Room Tip: Stay on a high floor or on the north or east sides or you will hear constant noise all night from th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darren G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColleenOmni, Manager at Omni San Diego Hotel, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear Darren G.
Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. I would like to apologize for the issues you experienced during your time with us. The hot water shortage was unexpected and did not affect the entire building. I do apologize that you were in one of the affected rooms and that we were unable to notify you sooner.
Regarding the charge to your credit card for incidentals, you are correct. This is an industry practice but you should by all means have been notified at check-in. We take guest feedback very seriously and will share this review with our team as an opportunity to improve our service.
I will also follow up with the staff regarding your missing meeting materials.
I can assure you this is not a typical guest experience with us and I am sorry you had a disappointing stay.
Sincerely,
Colleen Anderson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,981 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,605
    1,006
    236
    94
    40
See reviews for
672
1,041
159
1,667
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (513)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

I stayed for two nights and three days with my child and mom for Thanks giving. It was beyond my expectation!!! our room was on the 18th floor overlooking the ocean, super clean, comfortable and spacious. The location was walking distance to the happening downtown and restaurants. The service was EXCELLENT !!! We felt very special. I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank sara20460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brea, CA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

Fantastic location and service. The convenience of the trolley line and Gaslamp were great. The room was wonderful and the strawberries and champagne for our anniversary were the frosting on the cake. I would definitely return and recommend to others.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank huscrbil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Modesto, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

I researched and researched all hotels in San Diego. I have picky tastes. I am a Four Seasons kinda guy. You can't beat the location. It is near the airport, steps from Gaslamp and 10 minutes to Fashion Valley mall. Everyone from valet, bellman, to front desk staff were friendly and helpful. Valet gives you water every morning. Beds were soft and comfortable. Great views from the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank somlvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

Once again, I had an amazing stay at the Omni while in San Diego visiting family for Thanksgiving. The staff are so nice and the room was clean and comfortable. I had the pool almost entirely to myself, and enjoyed the warm San Diego weather. I wouldn't stay anywhere else but the Omni!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank RetroStewardess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glendale, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

Great location! Great service! Would stay there again in a heartbeat. We went to celebrate my birthday, and the staff went out of their way to make my trip extra special. We were upgraded to a suite without asking. Definitely recommend!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Heath S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pismo Beach, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

This hotel always delivers in service, comfort, and convenience. Location is fantastic. Walk to everything or hop on the trolley which is steps away. Rooms are well appointed with very nice amenities. Employees are awesome. Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LocoTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#36 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#44 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,883 reviews
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Hotel Z - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni San Diego Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni San Diego Hotel

Property: Omni San Diego Hotel
Address: 675 L Street, San Diego, CA 92101-7022
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , East Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#16 Family Hotel in San Diego
#20 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#22 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni San Diego Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 511
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Omni San Diego is located in downtown San Diego, just steps from the historic Gaslamp quarter and connected via skybridge to the San Diego Padres ballpark, PETCO Park. This luxury hotel was designed with a cosmopolitan feel to compliment the sunny San Diego setting. The interior is contemporary and comfortable, decorated in warm earth tones and natural materials. Guestrooms are relaxing and well appointed with the finest bedding, upscale bathroom amenities, free wireless internet and unbeatable views. In addition, the hotel houses an extensive collection of rare baseball memorabilia, including a variety of autographed baseballs, jerseys, and a Babe Ruth contract. Whether traveling for business or leisure, a stay at the Omni San Diego Hotel is one you won't soon forget. Culinary offerings include McCormick & Schmick’s Seafood Restaurant, open daily, 6am to midnight. Offering the freshest selection of seafood in San Diego, menus are printed daily based upon local fish market supply and focus on seasonal, locally sourced, farm-to-table creations highlighting organic ingredients. Supplementing the menu is a thoughtful beverage list including progressive wines-by-the-glass and mixologist inspired cocktails with a “house made” approach. The Terrace Bar & Grill, open everyday through September, 11am to 8pm – Poolside, Level 6. In-Room/Remote Dining: 24 hours a day online. Morsel’s Café: Open everyday, 6am to 10pm – Lobby Level. Enjoy a variety of Starbuck’s coffee beverages, grab a snack to go, pick up travel-friendly sundries or a San Diego themed gift on the run. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Omni San Diego Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing