We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, top-notch staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Omni San Diego Hotel
Ranked #23 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Just returned from a family get-together in San Diego and a four-night stay at the Omni. We all loved it. I requested a quiet location, and enjoyed just that, on one of the upper floors, and had a view of the water besides. From check-in to housekeeping to food service staff, we were treated with gracious, timely and professional service, something that makes a tremendous difference. The room was neat as a pin, with lovely furnishings. It's a business-oriented hotel, so there's a coffee and tea maker in the room but no mini-frig. No matter to us. Hotel food was delicious, whether served in the restaurant or the room. The location is great, lots of opportunities within walking distance, and we easily found our way to other city spots via trolley. I'd definitely stay here again and recommend it without reservation. :)

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GboNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,651)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,909 - 2,915 of 4,651 reviews

Reviewed 21 January 2014

Not familiar with the Omni brand I was not sure what the hotel would be like. I am happy to say it was fantastic. The rooms were spacious and very clean. Staff were very helpful especially the concierge (Eva?) who was so knowledgeable providing advice on what attractions to visit and means of transport available for a family of five. Small touches like milk and cookies for the boys before bedtime were appreciated. The Omni is well located with some great restaurants nearby. Would thoroughly recommend this hotel for its high standards and excellent value.

Room Tip: The hotel provides discounts to some attractions. Also join their loyalty program as it provides som...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gayle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights on our "baby moon" - one last attempt to get away from cold Chicago weather before baby arrives. I could not have been happier with our stay for several reasons. Coming from downtown Chicago this hotel reminded me of downtown apartment. Location is excellent right by the downtown Gaslamp Quarter with walking to several restaurants, bars, stores. Noise was well-controlled - I could not hear anyone down on the street after getting up to my room. Trolley line is just steps from the front door - super easy to use but not at all noticeable/noisy otherwise. Staff was fantastic, helpful concierge, clean modern rooms, comfortable beds. We were in room 1702 which did not have a good view, but I knew that going in and wanted to see the city outdoors in the beautiful weather as opposed to from my hotel room window.
Recommend signing up for the free Omni rewards program before checking in b/c you get free wi-fi and free coffee for up to 4 people in the room every morning. We did not take advantage of the hotel breakfast b/c we found a great little place just a couple blocks North on 6th St called the Broken Yolk - highly recommend it!
Similar to any other big city though, walk too far the wrong way and you're in a sketchy area. For me that line was the ballpark right next to the Omni. We walked around to the Eastern side of the park looking for a brunch place I read about and found ourselves by train tracks and cart-laden homeless persons. The hotel is on the edge of the up-and-coming East Village perfectly safe if you stay within the Gaslamp area, just would not recommend walking East beyond Petco stadium.
Overall - would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Inner rooms do not have a good view of city/water (ours was --02), but in my opinion this is a place...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vamos10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

We had room 1714, a large quiet corner room with views of the water from one window and downtown from the other, and sliding doors opening to a small patio. King Bed was super comfortable, provided bathrobes perfect for our return from the very nice roof top hot tub, extra large bath room with good water pressure and over sized large soft towels. As requested, Housekeeping left us extra coffee pods each morning. Parking garage across the street very convenient at $15 a day compared to $37 hotel valet. Within walking distance of Gas lamp Quarter, and many restaurants. Trolly is just steps away. Our stay at the Omni made for a perfect San Diego weekend.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank lynnjm52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights, including New Year eve. We were on 7th floor, had a very nice view of Gaslamp district, and despite New Year eve Gaslamp district activities and open windows couldn't hear much of the streets' noise. The most impressive part was the ability to open the windows in the room and have the ocean breeze. The room itself was very comfortable, nicely designed, clean and spacious, and we slept very well there. The hotel's location is extremely convenient: it's just across Gaslamp district with tons of restaurants, bars, small shops, a movie theater (which is extremely pretty and looks like an old opera house), CVS pharmacy and etc. Also, it's just across San Diego Convention Center (2 min of a walking distance), and very close the ocean. I believe it's about 5 min drive from Balboa Park as well. If you don't want to use the hotel valet parking, there is a public parking building just across the hotel's main entrance and it's about $5.00 a day.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peppa_shopping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

The hotel is very modern and confortable. Room are very large and quiet. They upgraded me to a room with a view of the bay. I got everything I asked for during the reservation. I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
Thank Luca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights the week of Christmas, we actually checked out Christmas Eve. We were on the 14th floor, had a great view of the bay and Coronado Bridge. Our sliding glass doors opened so it was nice to have a breeze, no balcony though. The room was very clean, good size, we couldn't have been more please with our stay.
The hotel is about a block away from the Gaslamp District, close walk to everything and the trolley as well.
We would definitely recommend this hotel and we will stay here again when we are in San Diego.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the Coronado Bridge. It can be a little noisy if you have the sliding glas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhoenixPhoenician
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#28 of 286 in San Diego
5,559 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
#77 of 286 in San Diego
5,185 reviews
Downtown
Pendry San Diego
Pendry San Diego
#2 of 286 in San Diego
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni San Diego Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni San Diego Hotel

Address: 675 L Street, San Diego, CA 92101-7022
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , East Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#16 Family Hotel in San Diego
#20 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#22 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: £137 - £365 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni San Diego Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 511
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Omni San Diego is located in downtown San Diego, just steps from the historic Gaslamp quarter and connected via skybridge to the San Diego Padres ballpark, PETCO Park. This luxury hotel was designed with a cosmopolitan feel to compliment the sunny San Diego setting. The interior is contemporary and comfortable, decorated in warm earth tones and natural materials. Guestrooms are relaxing and well appointed with the finest bedding, upscale bathroom amenities, free wireless internet and unbeatable views. In addition, the hotel houses an extensive collection of rare baseball memorabilia, including a variety of autographed baseballs, jerseys, and a Babe Ruth contract. Whether traveling for business or leisure, a stay at the Omni San Diego Hotel is one you won't soon forget. Culinary offerings include McCormick & Schmick’s Seafood Restaurant, open daily, 6am to midnight. Offering the freshest selection of seafood in San Diego, menus are printed daily based upon local fish market supply and focus on seasonal, locally sourced, farm-to-table creations highlighting organic ingredients. Supplementing the menu is a thoughtful beverage list including progressive wines-by-the-glass and mixologist inspired cocktails with a “house made” approach. The Terrace Bar & Grill, open everyday through September, 11am to 8pm – Poolside, Level 6. In-Room/Remote Dining: 24 hours a day online. Morsel’s Café: Open everyday, 6am to 10pm – Lobby Level. Enjoy a variety of Starbuck’s coffee beverages, grab a snack to go, pick up travel-friendly sundries or a San Diego themed gift on the run. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Omni San Diego Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing