We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Almost Incredible View”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Omni San Diego Hotel
Ranked #13 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Southrn California
Level Contributor
151 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“An Almost Incredible View”
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Having not previously stayed at an Omni, I was impressed. Great staff, room and location. The view was a "surprise" on two levels: 1.) The good...an incredible view of the San Diego Harbor (wasn't expecting that for the price!) 2.) The sad...it was marred by a window badly in need of a wash...I ended up leaving the sheers closed to help disguise the dirt. That said, the room itself was immaculate and well appointed. Would I go back - absolutely! Now that this chain is on my radar, I'll keep an eye out for them and see how others compare to this delightful lodging.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JudyTheGypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,188 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,750
    1,044
    251
    99
    44
See reviews for
717
1,083
164
1,769
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (523)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mérida, Mexico
1 review
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Your best option if you come for business, the hotel is very nice, rooms are spacious and comfortable but the location is great! just a few steps of the convention center and Gaslamp one of the must beautiful áreas of the city

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Jessica F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

I stayed here for four nights on a business trip. The hotel is in a great location, close to the San Diego convention center, to 5th Avenue, the main drag of the Gaslamp Quarter, and right across the street from Petco Park. My room was reasonably quiet, although I could hear car alarms going off in the parking garage across the street. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was spacious. The all-important electrical outlets for charging those pesky devices were easily accessible and convenient. The provided alarm clock doubled as a charging station for an iPod or iPhone, up to the 4S model.

There were a couple of things that prevented me from giving 5 stars (because it's always easier to complain, isn't it?). The main one was the slightly wonky plumbing. If the shower was on, the sink wouldn't drain and kind of gurgled at me. The bathtub was slow to drain, leaving me standing in a couple inches of water at the end of a 5 minute shower. The biggest problem for me was that the shower head wasn't adjustable. Not something I'd usually complain about, but the one setting was actually painful to stand under, regardless of temperature, to the point that it felt like being poked by needles. That said, I will concede these could all have been problems with my specific room. A minor complaint was that I could hear the man in the room next to me when he spoke or used the bathroom. I couldn't hear the person on the other side of me, though, and the one I could hear wasn't too bad. The other minor complaint was that there was very little available drawer space.

Truthfully, the prime location of this hotel pretty much trumps my complaints, though, and I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: High number rooms are on the ballpark side. A high floor (more than 15) might be able to see into t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jesse C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upland, United States
1 review
Reviewed 3 March 2014

This hotel was a pleasant surprise. I came on business and found them to be an excellent hotel I will come back to for pleasure. Their customer service is top-notch and the hotel was clean and well packaged.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Ymasumac M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, United States
1 review
Reviewed 3 March 2014

I 100% recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to San Diego, it's in a perfect location & has really friendly staff! Whether it be vacation or business, it's a great hotel & I would definitely come back!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Tina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunnyvale, United States
1 review
Reviewed 28 February 2014

I stayed here for a training that was hosting at the hotel. The location is perfect, there are plenty of food options nearby. Also the hotel is very clean and quiet. The staff is friendly and professional. The hotel is very pricey but I would say that the price is worth the piece of mind that you get when staying here. I would definitely stay here again if in the area on business.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Kevin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaysia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

The hotel is very close to the PETCO park, and the Gaslamp French Quarter.
The housekeeping service came so late, this was the unsatisfied part. We're back to our room then they just came, so we just rejected them.
Complimentary internet connection. the room has excellent design, I love it.
Everything was good.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ahiong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#39 of 279 in San Diego
5,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
#74 of 279 in San Diego
4,738 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#42 of 279 in San Diego
1,947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni San Diego Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni San Diego Hotel

Property: Omni San Diego Hotel
Address: 675 L Street, San Diego, CA 92101-7022
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , East Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#16 Family Hotel in San Diego
#20 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#22 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni San Diego Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 511
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Omni San Diego is located in downtown San Diego, just steps from the historic Gaslamp quarter and connected via skybridge to the San Diego Padres ballpark, PETCO Park. This luxury hotel was designed with a cosmopolitan feel to compliment the sunny San Diego setting. The interior is contemporary and comfortable, decorated in warm earth tones and natural materials. Guestrooms are relaxing and well appointed with the finest bedding, upscale bathroom amenities, free wireless internet and unbeatable views. In addition, the hotel houses an extensive collection of rare baseball memorabilia, including a variety of autographed baseballs, jerseys, and a Babe Ruth contract. Whether traveling for business or leisure, a stay at the Omni San Diego Hotel is one you won't soon forget. Culinary offerings include McCormick & Schmick’s Seafood Restaurant, open daily, 6am to midnight. Offering the freshest selection of seafood in San Diego, menus are printed daily based upon local fish market supply and focus on seasonal, locally sourced, farm-to-table creations highlighting organic ingredients. Supplementing the menu is a thoughtful beverage list including progressive wines-by-the-glass and mixologist inspired cocktails with a “house made” approach. The Terrace Bar & Grill, open everyday through September, 11am to 8pm – Poolside, Level 6. In-Room/Remote Dining: 24 hours a day online. Morsel’s Café: Open everyday, 6am to 10pm – Lobby Level. Enjoy a variety of Starbuck’s coffee beverages, grab a snack to go, pick up travel-friendly sundries or a San Diego themed gift on the run. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Omni San Diego Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing