We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Getaway with City Scapes”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Omni San Diego Hotel
Ranked #19 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Unbelievable hotel for the price. Definitely recommend a one bedroom suite over a room. Guest experience was fabulous and all thanks to a very friendly gentleman from McCormick and Schmick who provided me with a rate I couldn't refuse. Highly recommend if you're thinking of nightlife in gaslamp district also.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
Thank Will V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,514)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,578 - 2,584 of 4,514 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2014

We chose the hotel based on price and location and on that basis were satisfied. The rooms are of a reasonable size and well maintained. There are some nice touches, my tip would be to join the Omni loyalty scheme before you arrive and qualify for free beverages delivered to your room each morning and free wifi. If you plan to visit Petco Park for the baseball it is ideally located and you can also walk easily into the busy Gaslamp area for bars and restaurants. Another bonus is the nearby trolley stop which takes you around town very quickly and cheaply. If you don't have a car it is a good idea to buy a 1/2/3 day pass which allows you to use trolleys and buses around the metropolitan area. We visited the Old Town, La Jolla and Balboa park using ours.The hotel does, however, have some limitations. There is a very small lobby area and the pool area is not great, neither of which concerned us. You do start to worry though when you find a set of earplugs in your room! Sure enough our room overlooked the railway tracks (as do many) and we were woken by incredibly loud shunting noises, whistles blowing etc in the middle of the night. So be warned.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lambley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

This was the noisiest hotel I’ve stayed in within the past 10 years. The noise is internal and external. Here’s what you can hear all day and night:

- Neighbor’s TV and conversations
- Doors SLAMMING shut repeatedly - all through the hall and above/below your room
- Extremely loud non-insulated pipes when people take showers or use the sink (louder than the shower itself)
- Some kind of jackhammering noise in the middle of the night that I was told is “air in the pipes” - I think it was the freight trains running outside

All of the above has been mentioned in other reviews, and I ignored all of it because I only had to stay one night. Well, it wasn't a good night. The rooms are generally nice and the beds are fine. The linens are ok - not that soft - though they do keep an extra non-feather blanket in the closet which a lot of hotels do not (or it’s raggedy and gross - theirs was nice). The lamps are very dim here - even on the highest setting. If you need light, you have to go in the bathroom. It’s very clean, but the why put all the towels on the lowest shelves as if they were virtually on the floor? These are minor things, but it's just an odd design choice - and for sanitary reasons... to bend over to the floor to get wash cloths and towels?

The temperature control of the guest rooms was perfect, but that’s about all I liked. Even the shower pressure was bad - it took me twice as long to get out of the shower.

They charge $7 if you drink the water bottles in your room. Unbelievable. The St. Regis doesn’t charge for water...but the Omni charges SEVEN dollars for a bottle smaller than what is $0.99 at CVS?

By the way - add like 14% per night to your bill for tax and “SD tourist fee” or something. The price is not worth it - but SD is very expensive, especially around this area.

They did allow me a 2 hour late checkout - so thanks for that. And they gave me a white noise machine but it didn’t even drown out the sounds in the hotel...they were that loud.

Room Tip: There are NO quiet rooms here. NONE - I looked at several. Stay somewhere else if you are a light...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Inverary09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

I always stay at the Omni when attending a convention in San Diego. It is the nicest, by far, of the hotels in the area. I have stayed also at the Marriott, Hilton, and Hyatt and they cannot compare. The Omni experience wants for nothing.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
Thank Michael D G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Very nice hotel for reasonable price in extremely convenient location - right beside Petco Park, convention center, trolley stop, and Gaslamp/downtown district. Easy walk to Seaport Village/waterfront. Hotel restaurant and bar had good food and great happy hour. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
Thank APoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Nice hotel; clean and modern; convenient to San Diego Gaslamp Quarter and PETCO Park. Called before coming to request view of PETCO Park, but when we checked in at 12:30 noon there weren't any rooms to fit my request. I was a little disappointed. Had a room overlooking the parking garage. Bed comfortable. Room small and large bathroom. Flat screen TV. A/C worked well. Very busy hotel lobby. Busy street at front of hotel and valet parking is the only parking available at the hotel and costs $38 per night. It was an adventure and we were able to walk a short distance to one of our favorite steak restaurants, Flemings. Most things downtown are close to this hotel. We live in the county and come downtown occasionally for a mini-vacation. We used a GROUPON for this hotel, which was a great savings over the rack rate.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wileygreen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColleenOmni, Manager at Omni San Diego Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Dear Wileygreen1,
Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. I'm sorry to see that we didn't exceed your expectations on this visit and that you were disappointed with your room assignment. We do take our guest's feedback very seriously and do our best to continually improve our services and guest experience. I did want to let you know that there is a Self Parking Lot that is managed by the City located directly across the street from the hotel.
The nightly rates are approximately $16-$18 but you do not have the same unlimited in & out privileges you have with Valet Parking. I hope this information is helpful for your next visit and that you will consider staying with us again.
Sincerely,
Colleen Anderson
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

The message light on the phone wouldn't go off, called front desk 4 times to reset. They sent Engineering who couldn't get it done either, even by replacing the phones. Wasted an hour of our evening. Solution was to unplug the phones overnight to avoid the message alert chiming all night. It was fine in the morning. Also when Windy outside the wind whistles in the hallways, and dust comes out of the light fixtures in the hall by elevators

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
Thank Timothy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColleenOmni, Manager at Omni San Diego Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Dear Timothy K,
Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. I'm sorry to see that we didn't exceed your expectations on this visit and that you had issues with the phone in your guestroom. We have learned that the voicemail system needed to be reset and apologize that we were unable to rectify the issue more promptly for you. I will also share your concerns about the wind sound and dust with our Engineering and Housekeeping teams. We appreciate your business.
Sincerely,
Colleen Anderson
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
#76 of 279 in San Diego
5,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#34 of 279 in San Diego
5,402 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 279 in San Diego
2,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni San Diego Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni San Diego Hotel

Address: 675 L Street, San Diego, CA 92101-7022
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , East Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#16 Family Hotel in San Diego
#20 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#22 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: £105 - £285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni San Diego Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 511
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Omni San Diego is located in downtown San Diego, just steps from the historic Gaslamp quarter and connected via skybridge to the San Diego Padres ballpark, PETCO Park. This luxury hotel was designed with a cosmopolitan feel to compliment the sunny San Diego setting. The interior is contemporary and comfortable, decorated in warm earth tones and natural materials. Guestrooms are relaxing and well appointed with the finest bedding, upscale bathroom amenities, free wireless internet and unbeatable views. In addition, the hotel houses an extensive collection of rare baseball memorabilia, including a variety of autographed baseballs, jerseys, and a Babe Ruth contract. Whether traveling for business or leisure, a stay at the Omni San Diego Hotel is one you won't soon forget. Culinary offerings include McCormick & Schmick’s Seafood Restaurant, open daily, 6am to midnight. Offering the freshest selection of seafood in San Diego, menus are printed daily based upon local fish market supply and focus on seasonal, locally sourced, farm-to-table creations highlighting organic ingredients. Supplementing the menu is a thoughtful beverage list including progressive wines-by-the-glass and mixologist inspired cocktails with a “house made” approach. The Terrace Bar & Grill, open everyday through September, 11am to 8pm – Poolside, Level 6. In-Room/Remote Dining: 24 hours a day online. Morsel’s Café: Open everyday, 6am to 10pm – Lobby Level. Enjoy a variety of Starbuck’s coffee beverages, grab a snack to go, pick up travel-friendly sundries or a San Diego themed gift on the run. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Omni San Diego Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing