We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and fantastic hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Omni San Diego Hotel
Ranked #12 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, United States
2 reviews
“Great location and fantastic hotel”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

The hotel staff made you feel as a welcome member of the family. They responded quickly to any issues which arose. The beds were extremely comfortable. Free wi fi through membership in the Omni club, (instant gold status) was a plus. Sign up before you stay, it fast and easy.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,262 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,792
    1,064
    261
    101
    44
See reviews for
738
1,105
164
1,792
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (527)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We stayed for a couple nights at the downtown San Diego Omni, as we typically do in each City which is privileged to have a Omni Hotel.
Being Platinum Level guests, we enjoyed our stay.
We called concierge to obtain tickets to the ballpark, which is adjacent to the hotel.
We were offered some seats in the VIP Field at a great price, however once inside the ballpark we realized that there is an OMNI preferred guest area, which was not disclosed by concierge at time of booking our tickets, this was a bit of a disappointment.
We let Concierge know our concerns, and they were very prompt to take notice about this.

Food at the pool was excellent! service courteous and prompt.


We enjoy staying at Omni hotels, because its almost as being at home.
We will be back soon. Loved San Diego.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the bay will have a bit more of noise, due to the trolley, train and traffic on the roa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taco_Connosieur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColleenOmni, Manager at Omni San Diego Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Taco_Connoisseur,
Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. We greatly appreciate the 5 stars!
I also appreciate you sharing the communication regarding the baseball tickets and assure you we will follow up with our team.
We are thankful for your business and hope to welcome you back again soon!
Sincerely,
Colleen Anderson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

The location of the Omni Hotel in San Diego is convenient all around. It was a short taxi ride from the airport and at the entry to the Gas Lamp district, where some of the best night life can be found. It is also connected to Petco Park, home of the San Diego Padres. The views from the hotel rooms are of the downtown area, the bay or both. Room prices are reasonable for the quality. Five Stars!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Denis W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColleenOmni, Manager at Omni San Diego Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Denis W.,
Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. We greatly appreciate the 5 stars!
We are thankful for your business and hope to welcome you back again soon!
Sincerely,
Colleen Anderson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corvallis, United States
1 review
Reviewed 6 May 2014

The staff is soooo helpful and friendly and the accomodations and services were excellent. I will stay here again if I return to San Diego. Hotel is directly across from convention center and 2 blocks from major trolly/bus routes.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Michelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColleenOmni, Manager at Omni San Diego Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Michelle H.,
Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. We greatly appreciate the 5 stars!
We are so fortunate to have the best staff in San Diego and am so glad you had a great stay with us.
Sincerely,
Colleen Anderson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northeastern Ontario, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

The Omni is right on the edge of the Gaslamp Quarter and nearly attached to Petco Park -- great for baseball and exploring the Quarter as well as the Marina. Getting in to a Padres game is the easiest experience you will ever have -- walk across the bridge and you're in. No lineups. Join the Loyalty program for free Wifi and morning beverage service -- staff didn't point this out until our 2nd last night but it's a huge advantage. The pool is nice, (could use a few more trees or greenery) but do not expect food or drink service. We were there during a heat wave (between 87-94 each day) and there was never any staff to be found. The beds, linens and towels are premium quality, which was much appreciated. Our room (King bed) was a reasonable size but had a view of a parking garage, so consider paying more for a better view. I would have preferred a mini-fridge over a mini-bar (*hint*). I can't say enough about the front desk, concierge and door staff -- they were welcoming and helpful. We felt appreciated. Not so in McCormick and Schmick restaurant. The restaurant was so dark, we weren't sure they were even open at 9:30 pm. They were, and so we had a small meal post-ballgame and the staffing was bizarre to say the least. The bar waitress was taking restaurant orders in what appeared to be a cheerleader's outfit. The wait staff occasionally delivered food but mostly carried out orders given by whom I assume was the dining room manager. He, in his turn, was dancing attendance on certain athletes who were staying at the hotel. We might have been chopped liver once they showed up. It took fifteen minutes to have the dishes cleared away and another ten to get the bill. Then my husband had to go looking for a pen to sign it. I doubt anyone noticed us leaving. Lesson learned: do not eat here after ballgames unless you are on the team. This restaurant is pricey, so we breakfasted a short walk up 6th at The Broken Yolk. It was terrific.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank oceanside1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

I chose this location because of its vicinity to the gaslamp district and the main transportation lines. (World class transit system in San Diego, btw!) I was hoping for an upscale hotel for a reasonable price, and I was not disappointed. The staff is quite friendly. The lobby and pool are chic and beautiful.

The room disappointed me somewhat. The bed was not very comfortable, and there was little storage space for clothes (think- three drawers and a small closet). The design was modern and sleek, but I expected a bit more flair.

I joined the omni loyalty program, and was pleasantly surprised that they offered free wi-fi to members as well as complimentary morning beverages. IMHO, these should be standard for all guests. The coffee was very good, however!!! Best ever, according to my husband.

If you are a night-clubbing baseball fan, this would be a great choice.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirste P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColleenOmni, Manager at Omni San Diego Hotel, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Kirste P
Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. I was pleased to see that you enjoyed the location of the hotel as well as our staff. I am sorry you found the bed and room disappointing.
We appreciate your business and thank you for staying with us.
Sincerely
Colleen Anderson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, CA, United States
1 review
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Overall experience was outstanding. Totally beyond expectation. Great baseball package. Location location location. Total package was well worth the price. Yada yada yada yada yada yada!!!! Entire staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank F. Kelly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColleenOmni, Manager at Omni San Diego Hotel, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear F Kelly W.,
Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. I was pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay! We are very grateful for your business and the 5 star review!
We appreciate your business and thank you for staying with us.
Sincerely
Colleen Anderson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#37 of 278 in San Diego
5,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
#77 of 278 in San Diego
4,834 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#41 of 278 in San Diego
1,983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni San Diego Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni San Diego Hotel

Property: Omni San Diego Hotel
Address: 675 L Street, San Diego, CA 92101-7022
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , East Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#16 Family Hotel in San Diego
#20 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#22 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni San Diego Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 511
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Omni San Diego is located in downtown San Diego, just steps from the historic Gaslamp quarter and connected via skybridge to the San Diego Padres ballpark, PETCO Park. This luxury hotel was designed with a cosmopolitan feel to compliment the sunny San Diego setting. The interior is contemporary and comfortable, decorated in warm earth tones and natural materials. Guestrooms are relaxing and well appointed with the finest bedding, upscale bathroom amenities, free wireless internet and unbeatable views. In addition, the hotel houses an extensive collection of rare baseball memorabilia, including a variety of autographed baseballs, jerseys, and a Babe Ruth contract. Whether traveling for business or leisure, a stay at the Omni San Diego Hotel is one you won't soon forget. Culinary offerings include McCormick & Schmick’s Seafood Restaurant, open daily, 6am to midnight. Offering the freshest selection of seafood in San Diego, menus are printed daily based upon local fish market supply and focus on seasonal, locally sourced, farm-to-table creations highlighting organic ingredients. Supplementing the menu is a thoughtful beverage list including progressive wines-by-the-glass and mixologist inspired cocktails with a “house made” approach. The Terrace Bar & Grill, open everyday through September, 11am to 8pm – Poolside, Level 6. In-Room/Remote Dining: 24 hours a day online. Morsel’s Café: Open everyday, 6am to 10pm – Lobby Level. Enjoy a variety of Starbuck’s coffee beverages, grab a snack to go, pick up travel-friendly sundries or a San Diego themed gift on the run. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Omni San Diego Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing