We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful and friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Omni San Diego Hotel
Ranked #19 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Everyone at this hotel really seems committed to making your stay more comfortable, from the valets to the bellhops to the restaurant personnel. Joining the reward program (free) gives you complimentary wi-fi and coffee delivered to the room in the morning. The rooms are clean and soothing and the pool deck has a fantastic view of the convention center. We've stayed here twice and it remains our favorite hotel in San Diego.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fallengoddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColleenOmni, Manager at Omni San Diego Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear fallengoddess,
Thank you for the great review! We value customer feedback tremendously and are so pleased that we were able to exceed your expectations. We are so pleased we are your favorite hotel in San Diego and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Sincerely,
Colleen Anderson
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,517)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,476 - 2,482 of 4,517 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2014

Located adjacent to Petco and across from the Convention Center, this newer hotel had nicely decorated rooms. There are lots of restaurants and bars nearby. Great amenities. I would stay here again if I was in town.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

The Omni Hotel in San Diego was excellent and in a fantastic location to experience the best of the gaslamp quarter as well as it was within walking distance to the marina! This was my first time staying at this hotel and I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
Thank Terry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Omni San Diego Hotel was very clean and staff was very friendly. Valet was worth it (at $38) with young children because driving back at night & tired, we would walk straight into the hotel. Plus having them help you with luggage & baggage to your room was priceless when having to carry small children. All valet employees were very courteous & helpful. One evening we forgot my daughter's toothbrush in the car after valet took it away. Minutes later I went downstairs to valet & asked them if they could retrive that toothbrush for my daughter & the valet employees had the toothbrush in my hands within 10 minutes. Front desk & concierge employees were all polite & helful too. It's worth buying Zoo & Legoland tickets with concierge so you don't have to deal with the lines at the parks. Our room was always serviced promptly with care & respect. On day 1, we needed a small fridge for our toddlers milk & it was sent up within 15 minutes from making the call. On day 2, we needed a microwave for some left over food we came back with & it was sent up within 15 minutes from making the call. The beds (2 doubles) were very comfortable & the room was spacious enough for 2 adults & 2 children. Bathroom was very nice & spacious. No water issues with drainage or temperature. We upgraded at booking over phone to a room with a view (20th fl.) & little did we know it was well worth it. During the day we could see people, trains, boats & cars below the hotel by Harbor Drive & during the night the view was to die for!!! My wife still misses the view. Even with a major event (Rock & Roll marathon) going on the weekend we were there, the traffic in the hotel & around did not feel overcrowded. We never ate at the hotel because there were plenty of eating place within 3-6 blocks from the hotel. There's a CVS about 4 blocks north of hotel, so we had all we needed within walking distance. Pool & terrace area looked very relaxing & was very clean. Did not go swmming (weather was a bit too cold). The zoo is witin 10-12 minutes from hotel. Check out was swift & fast.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with water/city view (east & northeast view).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dynamo22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

This is the place to stay in San Diego. The staff is exceptionally friendly, attentive, and helpful, and see to it that you never have to wait. Rooms are excellent, the bed is deliciously comfortable, and it is quiet and easy to get a good night's sleep. The location can't be beat - right next to the Gas Lamp District, and close to the water. You just can't go wrong at this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
Thank Tracey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

we stayed at the hotel for 5 days. we had excellent service but the room had issues, including carpet smelling like urine and some plug ins not working. also, bathroom doors do not close tight enough so if you are sharing a room with somebody, you do not get a private experience. on the plus side, the view was great.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Tetyana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

The Omni San Diego has hands-down some of the best service I've ever experienced in a hotel. We came to celebrate my friend's birthday--we walked into the room (highest floor with a beautiful view of Gaslamp) and there was a bottle of champagne and a little dessert plate for her. What a way to be welcomed :) Then when we called for 6 more champagne glasses, they sent them up with 6 more chocolate covered strawberries! We felt so special. I also called down for a toothbrush because I forgot mine--it was there in like five minutes. The room was beautiful, very modern and updated with lots of room to get ready, even in a standard room. Lighting in the bathroom was great. Beds were SO comfortable!!! Omni could not be in a more perfect location - right in the heart of the Gaslamp. We went to Stingaree and it look five minutes to walk there. And it's literally RIGHT next to Petco Park! Staff was very nice and accommodating--May Beth checked us in and was so sweet. I wish we could remember who checked us out Saturday morning, he was also a super nice guy. Be aware of parking prices-- $38 to valet (pretty standard for a downtown area hotel), but one of my friends parked at the structure across the street and it was $15.

Room Tip: the higher floor the better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christinaelizabeth22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
#76 of 279 in San Diego
5,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#34 of 279 in San Diego
5,402 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 279 in San Diego
2,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni San Diego Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni San Diego Hotel

Address: 675 L Street, San Diego, CA 92101-7022
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , East Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#16 Family Hotel in San Diego
#20 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#22 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: £105 - £285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni San Diego Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 511
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Omni San Diego is located in downtown San Diego, just steps from the historic Gaslamp quarter and connected via skybridge to the San Diego Padres ballpark, PETCO Park. This luxury hotel was designed with a cosmopolitan feel to compliment the sunny San Diego setting. The interior is contemporary and comfortable, decorated in warm earth tones and natural materials. Guestrooms are relaxing and well appointed with the finest bedding, upscale bathroom amenities, free wireless internet and unbeatable views. In addition, the hotel houses an extensive collection of rare baseball memorabilia, including a variety of autographed baseballs, jerseys, and a Babe Ruth contract. Whether traveling for business or leisure, a stay at the Omni San Diego Hotel is one you won't soon forget. Culinary offerings include McCormick & Schmick’s Seafood Restaurant, open daily, 6am to midnight. Offering the freshest selection of seafood in San Diego, menus are printed daily based upon local fish market supply and focus on seasonal, locally sourced, farm-to-table creations highlighting organic ingredients. Supplementing the menu is a thoughtful beverage list including progressive wines-by-the-glass and mixologist inspired cocktails with a “house made” approach. The Terrace Bar & Grill, open everyday through September, 11am to 8pm – Poolside, Level 6. In-Room/Remote Dining: 24 hours a day online. Morsel’s Café: Open everyday, 6am to 10pm – Lobby Level. Enjoy a variety of Starbuck’s coffee beverages, grab a snack to go, pick up travel-friendly sundries or a San Diego themed gift on the run. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Omni San Diego Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing