We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, Great Location, Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Omni San Diego Hotel
Ranked #13 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“Great Hotel, Great Location, Great Stay”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Booked directly with them by phone and received a good rate for a standard room. Then when I arrived, we realized that we really needed a suite to accommodate the 4 of us (incl. a 2 and 4 year old). The upgrade was made to a junior suite without any issue and our week long stay was great. Pool was warm. Rooms were up to date and clean. Staff was efficient and friendly. Food was of good quality. Location was central to everything in San Diego downtown (all walkable) and also very close to all the major attractions - right across from the convention center as well. We'd stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Keith L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColleenOmni, Manager at Omni San Diego Hotel, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Keith L.,
Thank you for the great review! We're so pleased that you and your family enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Sincerely,
Colleen Anderson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,188 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,750
    1,044
    251
    99
    44
See reviews for
717
1,083
164
1,769
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (523)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 9 July 2014

1) The free coffee service is great but the coffee wasn't. It was way too strong and bold. We did not use it the third day after trying regular the first day and decaf the second day. 2) With such a nice hotel (expensive) and free wifi, I don't understand why you don't offer free internet service in your business center. 3) Our baseball package included "burgers and beer" at the pool. On the first day (Saturday) we used it and it was great with the grill there at the pool. On Monday we called the front desk and were told that the pool service would be there until 6:00 p.m. When we arrived at the pool about 5:15 p.m. and they were wrapping everything up on their way out. No service. 4) We rented the movie, "Heaven is for Real." I use closed caption (CC) extensively when I watch TV. There was no CC for this movie as there was for the other two that we rented. I had trouble understanding the words and was disappointed. 5) Otherwise, everything was great. Thank you for reading this. Dale 650-342-8005

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank daleaage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColleenOmni, Manager at Omni San Diego Hotel, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear daleaage,
Thank you for the great review! We're so pleased that you enjoyed your stay overall and I appreciate you sharing your concerns regarding the wi-fi, cc issue with your movie and the Terrace Bar closure that impacted your Burger & Beer package. For future reference, if we are unable to accommodate your burger & beer at the Terrace for any reason, we are happy to serve it through our In Room Dining Department. Again, thank you for your feedback and for staying with us. We hope to welcome you back again soon!
Sincerely,
Colleen Anderson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Hubby and I decided to stay a night downtown San Diego. Just to get away. Hotel is very nice and service was excellent. We decided not to do the padre game like most people who stay at the hotel. We walked to Little Italy and had lunch. Easy walk and then did shopping at Horton. Later we walked to Seaport Village and then dinner at the hotel McCormicks. Food was a little pricey but very good. Room with view of pool and bay was good size with all amenities. Good location and if ur adventurous you have the trolley station right there..and old town is only a trip away.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room...two views and slightly larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stacey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColleenOmni, Manager at Omni San Diego Hotel, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Stacey L.,
Thank you for the great review! We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay, the amenities of the hotel and our great location. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Sincerely,
Colleen Anderson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson
Level Contributor
1,133 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 685 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

This is a quite small "footprint" property, upon checking in, this becomes very apparent. Once the valet/bell boy hurdle (and accompanying fees) is put behind those checking in, things do pick up a bit. This is a 5 star property (so say the reviewers) and it is indeed a very nice property. We do have very high standards and our gold-standard for Marriott properties is the Marriott in Paris near the Arc de Triomphe. By our standards, this San Diego Omni is close but (sadly) not the same 5 stars rating for us. "Heaven" has a very high standard.

The room is nicely appointed, quite spacious for a hotel room, bathroom is bigger than most, nice variety of "necessities" (including threaded needles and thread! You know you need this from time to time). Although the room includes a mini-frig, it is just barely usable. We did an experiment: a container of ice was waaay more effective than this mini-frig-wanna-be. Major disappointment (not cold by any standards). The coffee maker is included. No microwave (just in case anyone was wondering). The mini-wanna-be-frig is available for your use if you re-arrange things a bit inside this sub-adequate "box." The items inside the frig are not set on metered sensors (like so many in Europe) so re-arranging things will not cost you anything at the end of a visit.

This is prime" gas lamp quarter real estate. Appreciate that for all it has to offer: walk-ability to the marina, Sea Port village, all points up and down the touristy sights, and appreciate that the hotel is so close to Horton Shopping center, Little Italy, and so many sights, sounds, and experiences hard to find anywhere else is such as close proximity.

Personal highlights for us were to meet "Kenny" at the local Ralph's grocery store and become acquainted with the store's service of "steam or fry your choice of fish for free" (Kenny highly recommended the Cajun breading on fried rock cod) Thank you Kenny! It was the perfect way to finish that off your fish recommendation! Pair that with any number of deli side choices (hot or cold) and you have a wonderful dinner to be eaten there on the outdoor patio or in one's hotel room. (Ralph's is on 1st and Market).

Another super-dooper find was gelato store at 509 5th Avenue (www.chocolatsanddiego.com) and, as hard as we looked, this was the ONLY gelato establishment we found! Oh so good! So worth the search! It was very hard to find gelato in this area and this worth the search.

Back to the room: the Omni property is pretty much tucked into a corner that backs upon the trolley and coaster train ends of the line. Noise is not an issue but the rooms in the Omni do come with ear plug aids in the nightstand drawers (how thoughtful).

This location is just about as good as it gets here in San Diego. We would come back in a heart beat but plan for the $38 a day "parking fee" and the $10.00 a day internet fee and the other service appreciation fees for coming and going. If you decide to use public parking, it is near by and costs about $25 a day (PetCo baseball parking area). This location is adjacent to PetCo Park, like really, really adjacent.

If you stay there during a Padres game, you can actually watch the game from the windows near the stairwells on each of the floors. Stroll around after the games for the great post-game shows and excitement.

The hotel complex is newer and has well-insulated windows and walls. Our travel experience was restful in every respect.

Oh, do take the duck tour of the harbor! So worth the $38 per person charge!

Room Tip: Room 1504 was exceptional; located between a stairwell and a hallway, we had absolutely no noise fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank on_the_go_98765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I enjoyed this hotel for its service and location, I was visiting for a long weekend and did not realize what a good location this was, next to Petco Stadium, (direct access from the hotel), benefit for sports fans, I am not, so it was very crowded before and after games, (something to consider), walking distance form San Diego Trolley system and Gaslamp District, where you can party, shop and eat to your hearts content.
My room, was small but with a very large bathroom nicely decorated and with a view of Petco Stadium, the gym is a good size and the pool is on the 6th floor, which was very convenient on the 4th of July to see the fireworks display.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colombianfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColleenOmni, Manager at Omni San Diego Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear colombianfoodie,
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent experience and for the great review. We appreciate your feedback and your business!
Sincerely,
Colleen Anderson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Let's begin with the fact we had to pay for parking. It was extremely disappointing that you had to pay an additional fee to park. I mean you are already paying a substantial amount for the hotel.
However, that wasn't too bad but, the service was terrible!!
The food wasn't up to par at all either. We stayed for 3 nights and have no problem spending money but, we at least want what we pay for.
The location is perfect though. We had the easiest way to Petco park for the game but, would rather have great service then easy access.
Unfortunately, this hotel is not one I would recommend to anyone. Its better to pay for the parking or stay a little further out than spend the amount of money for this hotel and not get what you expect.
I dislike giving bad reviews but, this was not an enjoyable stay and would DEFINITELY not advise anyone to stay there.

Room Tip: Please don't stay here. Let's let the Omni know that they can do much better!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kdog777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColleenOmni, Manager at Omni San Diego Hotel, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear kdog777,
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent experience. I'm very sorry to see that you had a disappointing stay. For any future visits to the Dowtown San Diego/Gaslamp area, please know that there is a City owned Self Parking garage located directly across the street from the hotel and that price is approximately $18 per night. There are no in & out privileges however, so you need to pay each time you leave. The majority of the hotels in San Diego offer Valet Parking and our price is consistent with our competitors. Also, we do have Room Packages that include parking and I'd encourage you to check our our website for available packages and promotions.
I will certainly investigate your disappointment with the food service and again, I apologize we failed to meet your expectations on this visit.
Sincerely,
Colleen Anderson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KUWAIT, Kuwait
1 review
Reviewed 8 July 2014

The omni hotel is a very comfortable and strategically located hotel. Friendly staff, and a content and comfortable hotel room. The hotel is super clean, and has good service, nothing too luxurious though.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Jaber A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColleenOmni, Manager at Omni San Diego Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Jaber A.,
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent experience and for the great review. We appreciate your feedback and your business!
Sincerely,
Colleen Anderson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#39 of 279 in San Diego
5,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
#74 of 279 in San Diego
4,735 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#42 of 279 in San Diego
1,947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni San Diego Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni San Diego Hotel

Property: Omni San Diego Hotel
Address: 675 L Street, San Diego, CA 92101-7022
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , East Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#16 Family Hotel in San Diego
#20 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#22 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni San Diego Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 511
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Omni San Diego is located in downtown San Diego, just steps from the historic Gaslamp quarter and connected via skybridge to the San Diego Padres ballpark, PETCO Park. This luxury hotel was designed with a cosmopolitan feel to compliment the sunny San Diego setting. The interior is contemporary and comfortable, decorated in warm earth tones and natural materials. Guestrooms are relaxing and well appointed with the finest bedding, upscale bathroom amenities, free wireless internet and unbeatable views. In addition, the hotel houses an extensive collection of rare baseball memorabilia, including a variety of autographed baseballs, jerseys, and a Babe Ruth contract. Whether traveling for business or leisure, a stay at the Omni San Diego Hotel is one you won't soon forget. Culinary offerings include McCormick & Schmick’s Seafood Restaurant, open daily, 6am to midnight. Offering the freshest selection of seafood in San Diego, menus are printed daily based upon local fish market supply and focus on seasonal, locally sourced, farm-to-table creations highlighting organic ingredients. Supplementing the menu is a thoughtful beverage list including progressive wines-by-the-glass and mixologist inspired cocktails with a “house made” approach. The Terrace Bar & Grill, open everyday through September, 11am to 8pm – Poolside, Level 6. In-Room/Remote Dining: 24 hours a day online. Morsel’s Café: Open everyday, 6am to 10pm – Lobby Level. Enjoy a variety of Starbuck’s coffee beverages, grab a snack to go, pick up travel-friendly sundries or a San Diego themed gift on the run. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Omni San Diego Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing