We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Omni San Diego Hotel
Ranked #14 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Oklahoma City, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Hotel Experience”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

This is the best hotel experience, that I can remember, ever having. I only have one suggestion. Tea drinkers, like myself, like to have some kind of black tea. May I suggest Twinings English Breakfast. Other than the lack of a good tea, this hotel is the best.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,256 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,791
    1,061
    259
    101
    44
See reviews for
734
1,104
164
1,792
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (527)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Orange County, CA
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We loved our stay at the Omni! Loved the convenience to Petco Park. I think we will be going to more Padres games just to stay at the Omni. We used the restaurant, room service, valet and free beverage service during our stay and the level of service and courteousness was extremely high and spot on consistently throughout our whole stay. The highlight was meeting Fernando, the general manager at McCormick & Schmidt's. He made us feel like family and we loved seeing him in the morning for our breakfast. We ate there 3 times during our 2 night stay, mostly to see Fernando again. He made our children feel special and we felt like a welcomed invited guest to his home. You can tell he pays attention to all details and has a pride in his work. We were pleasantly surprised by the service we experienced throughout our whole stay...which often times is lacking in the hospitality industry these days. We loved the cookies & milk and kids pack for our arrival and the complementary beverage in the morning. A VERY nice touch!! We will be back again!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank OCtravelers7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColleenOmni, Manager at Omni San Diego Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear OCTravelers7,
Thank you for the great review! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and experienced such great interactions with our staff.....especially Fernando. He is amazing!
We thank you for your business and hope to welcome you back again soon
Sincerely,
Colleen Anderson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moorpark, United States
1 review
Reviewed 21 July 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at this hotel on a whim this last weekend for a quick getaway. Location was amazing, you could not ask for a better location in downtown San Diego. The view from our room looked out over the bay between downtown and Coronado, and we could even see part of Petco park from our room! We decided to catch a Padres game at 7pm Saturday, but had fallen asleep after an early dinner. We woke up at 6:56 and made it to our seats inside the stadium by 7:05! Then after the game we went out in the gas lamp district, which is less than 1 block from the lobby. It is also within a few steps of the convention center and trolly transportation which we utilized and found to be very convenient. Service at the Omni was very friendly. The room itself was very clean and the bed was comfortable. However for the price I would have like to see more upgrades in the room itself. The only other drawback to the location of the hotel is that traffic gets extremely congested during game days. On Saturday we had left the hotel in our personal car to visit other parts of San Diego, and there were many road blockades that made it very difficult to get back to the hotel and we ended up having to park off site until things cleared up. Other than that, we very much enjoyed our stay at the Omni and would definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Heather T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chico, United States
1 review
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Very nice hotel. Staff are wonderful. M&S restaurant food is great, but service was slow for us (especially in the morning needing coffee refills). Not sure if it was b/c we sat outside. They also ran out of specialty french toast at 9:30am on a Sunday (that seemed to be odd). Shower pressure in our room was amazing. We had a Junior suite and was very nice. Massages were not up to par. Bought them for my office staff and they were all very disappointed with quality and professionalism.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Levi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColleenOmni, Manager at Omni San Diego Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Levi P.,
Thank you for the great review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay but am sorry to hear about your disappointment with the restaurant with the massages. We have addressed your concerns with the appropriate departments and appreciate you sharing your experience.
We appreciate your business.
Sincerely,
Colleen Anderson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 July 2014

The Omni Hotel in San Diego was the most pleasant, cleanest, friendliest, hassle-free, and customer-centric hotel I've ever had the privilege of staying at. The location is perfect, located in the heart of the downtown San Diego gaslamp district. It is literally attached to Petco Park (Padres stadium) so you can take the skybridge to see a baseball game, walk to numerous restaurants and shops in gas lamp, take short cab rides or public transportation to any one of the plentiful excursions in San Diego, or walk over to the convention center if you have a conference. I really can't say enough about the staff. The front desk and concierge staff are the friendliest people I have encountered and were extremely knowledgable about the area. I was on a first name basis with almost all the concierge staff and front desk during my trip because everyone had great recommendations and interesting information to share. I have to give a shout out to Justin at concierge because he was instrumental in putting together the perfect itinerary for me during my stay! I also have to say that the room was very clean and the maid staff were very accommodating. I stayed in a standard sized room with 1 king bed and had a great view of the bay and convention center. If you are staying in San Diego, I would HIGHLY recommend staying at the Omni. I loved my stay there and will definitely be booking again next time I visit.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Nima M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, United States
1 review
Reviewed 21 July 2014

The Omni in San Diego was an excellent choice in Hotels for a recent Conference. I would highly recommend it to anyone who wishes to visit San Diego. The staff was friendly and the rooms were extremely clean and well maintained. The view from the 16th floor was magnificent and the food was excellent.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redlands, United States
1 review
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We enjoyed very much our stay here at Omni. From check-in to check-out the service and staff were excellent. The location was great with easy access to the trolley and walking distance to restaurants. We would definitely be coming back to this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Maira A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#37 of 278 in San Diego
5,112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
#76 of 278 in San Diego
4,820 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#42 of 278 in San Diego
1,981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni San Diego Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni San Diego Hotel

Property: Omni San Diego Hotel
Address: 675 L Street, San Diego, CA 92101-7022
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , East Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#16 Family Hotel in San Diego
#20 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#22 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni San Diego Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 511
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Omni San Diego is located in downtown San Diego, just steps from the historic Gaslamp quarter and connected via skybridge to the San Diego Padres ballpark, PETCO Park. This luxury hotel was designed with a cosmopolitan feel to compliment the sunny San Diego setting. The interior is contemporary and comfortable, decorated in warm earth tones and natural materials. Guestrooms are relaxing and well appointed with the finest bedding, upscale bathroom amenities, free wireless internet and unbeatable views. In addition, the hotel houses an extensive collection of rare baseball memorabilia, including a variety of autographed baseballs, jerseys, and a Babe Ruth contract. Whether traveling for business or leisure, a stay at the Omni San Diego Hotel is one you won't soon forget. Culinary offerings include McCormick & Schmick’s Seafood Restaurant, open daily, 6am to midnight. Offering the freshest selection of seafood in San Diego, menus are printed daily based upon local fish market supply and focus on seasonal, locally sourced, farm-to-table creations highlighting organic ingredients. Supplementing the menu is a thoughtful beverage list including progressive wines-by-the-glass and mixologist inspired cocktails with a “house made” approach. The Terrace Bar & Grill, open everyday through September, 11am to 8pm – Poolside, Level 6. In-Room/Remote Dining: 24 hours a day online. Morsel’s Café: Open everyday, 6am to 10pm – Lobby Level. Enjoy a variety of Starbuck’s coffee beverages, grab a snack to go, pick up travel-friendly sundries or a San Diego themed gift on the run. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Omni San Diego Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing