We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Omni San Diego Was Great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Omni San Diego Hotel
Ranked #17 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Home
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Omni San Diego Was Great”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

My wife and I just spent 3 nights at the Omni San Diego. The hotel was great and our room was great. We had a great view of the bay. The location was great. The only takeaway was the cost of Valet Parking. Even so, we would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank LynnTaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniSDManagement, General Manager at Omni San Diego Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear LynnTaylor,
Thank-you for your positive review and 5 stars! We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much and hope that you'll come and see again soon. I understand your concern about the cost of parking. We are priced very competitively with neighboring hotels and in some cases, our overnight rate is lower. But thank-you for expressing your observation as we certainly manage our business with the guest voice firmly in mind.
Sincerely,
Brian Hughes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,330 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,835
    1,076
    266
    109
    44
See reviews for
770
1,121
165
1,808
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (533)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Stayed at Omni next to Petco hotel is superior - large rooms, great staff. Free coffee delivered to your room in the morning if you are a frequent guest. Bath products, shower - all above average. Basically attached to Petco and fun when Padres are in town. A short walk to Gaslamp and so many restaurants - the hotel restaurant is McCormick and Schmicks and very good. Also the prices in the convenience store and room service are reasonable.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank 374vickiw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

It came to down a choice between this and the Hitlon, which are side by side. We wish we had went with the tried and tested Hilton. The location is very, very good, the room was big enough and clean but you didn't get that feeling one would expect from a hotel of this rating. The bar, restaurant and lobby were mediocre which really let it door and I didn't find the staff that helpful. WiFi was at an extra cost.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Geniemac7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniSDManagement, General Manager at Omni San Diego Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Geniemac7,
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review about your experience. I am pleased to see you enjoyed the hotel's great downtown location and the guestroom size and cleanliness. I was sorry to read about your disappointment the bar, restaurant, lobby and staff helpfulness. We pride ourselves on these amenities but will endeavor to make them more appealing. Related to wifi, our loyalty program, Select Guest provides complimentary wifi from the first stay onward. It's a terrific program with a quick, simple sign-up via https://ssl.omnihotels.com/Omni?login_fg=clear&pagesrc=&pagedst=SG5
We thank you for your business and hope to welcome you back again soon!
Sincerely
Brian Hughes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torrance, Cambodia
1 review
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Hotel was extremely convenient for us to attend a San Diego Padre Game. Just one escalator up to the bridge that allows entry into Pet Co Park. Hotel was clean, service was spot on and having a Mcormick and Schmick's connected to the property was awesome.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Seth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniSDManagement, General Manager at Omni San Diego Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Seth D,
We're so appreciative of your awesome review of our hotel. We love baseball and baseball fans at the Omni San Diego. I hope you had an opportunity to view the incredible memorabilia collection on display throughout the hotel. Thanks also for your acknowledgement of our housekeeping team, the Skybridge in to Petco Park and our partners with McCormick & Schmick's. We hope to welcome you back soon!
Sincerely,
Brian Hughes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Omni San Diego for the first time. The staff was wonderful from the moment we arrived to the day we left after a four-night stay. Everything that we requested in our room was there, including a welcome note. We really enjoyed having 24-hour access to the 6th floor gym, which was surprisingly large for a hotel. It was very clean with lemon water, fresh fruit, towels, and sanitizer wipes for the equipment. The hotel location was perfect. It was across the street from the convention center so we were able to come and go anytime during Comic Con. It is also connected to Petco Park by a bridge. We loved the baseball memorabilia on several floors. We were impressed at how well the staff handled all the convention guests, as well as the outside guests using the premises for parties and other convention functions on various floors. We were able to get a good night's sleep despite the craziness of the Gaslamp during Comic con. Thank you to the Omni and their great staff for a wonderful stay. Can't wait to come back next year!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sfslinky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniSDManagement, General Manager at Omni San Diego Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear sfslinsky,
Thank you for the great review! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us including our fitness facility (we understand the importance of a clean, attractive and well equipped gym when you travel!), our location and our helpful staff. We look forward to your next visit!
Sincerely,
Brian Hughes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We spent two great nights here recently as part of our honeymoon. The location is great, right in the heart of the Gaslamp without being noisy. Unfortunately for us on arrival the ball game was just starting so traffic was mental with everyone looking for parking. However the valet was great which you'd hope they would be given the price you pay! (Parking is a nightmare in San Diego in case you didn't know).

The rooms are the biggest we've known for Omni hotels and so comfortable. The concierge had Zoo tickets available at the desk which saved us messing around at the gate.

There 100's of places to eat nearby so we just headed to the one's we liked the look of (casual dining mostly). The broken yolk has superb food and service for breakfast. We also ate at Barley mash & Henry's which were both great.

Wish we could have stayed longer, San Diego is great!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jsddvd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniSDManagement, General Manager at Omni San Diego Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear jsddvd,
Thank you for the great review! And it was so much more meaningful to us knowing that we made a positive impression during your honeymoon. You wrote an excellent review that others will find valuable, so thank-you for that and for entrusting us for such a landmark journey in your life. We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Sincerely,
Brian Hughes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

The Omni is a wonderful hotel. The location is absolutely perfect and you can walk to everything you would want to do. Bubs down the street is a great little local bar with good booze and good bar food. The heated pool area on the sixth floor is outstanding and the bar located there serves a nice drink.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flemm325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColleenOmni, Manager at Omni San Diego Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Flemm325,
Thank you so much for the great review! We value our guest's experience so much and are really happy to see you enjoyed the hotel's location and pool.
We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Sincerely,
Colleen Anderson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#35 of 278 in San Diego
5,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
#79 of 278 in San Diego
4,890 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#39 of 278 in San Diego
2,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni San Diego Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni San Diego Hotel

Property: Omni San Diego Hotel
Address: 675 L Street, San Diego, CA 92101-7022
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , East Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#16 Family Hotel in San Diego
#20 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#22 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni San Diego Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 511
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Omni San Diego is located in downtown San Diego, just steps from the historic Gaslamp quarter and connected via skybridge to the San Diego Padres ballpark, PETCO Park. This luxury hotel was designed with a cosmopolitan feel to compliment the sunny San Diego setting. The interior is contemporary and comfortable, decorated in warm earth tones and natural materials. Guestrooms are relaxing and well appointed with the finest bedding, upscale bathroom amenities, free wireless internet and unbeatable views. In addition, the hotel houses an extensive collection of rare baseball memorabilia, including a variety of autographed baseballs, jerseys, and a Babe Ruth contract. Whether traveling for business or leisure, a stay at the Omni San Diego Hotel is one you won't soon forget. Culinary offerings include McCormick & Schmick’s Seafood Restaurant, open daily, 6am to midnight. Offering the freshest selection of seafood in San Diego, menus are printed daily based upon local fish market supply and focus on seasonal, locally sourced, farm-to-table creations highlighting organic ingredients. Supplementing the menu is a thoughtful beverage list including progressive wines-by-the-glass and mixologist inspired cocktails with a “house made” approach. The Terrace Bar & Grill, open everyday through September, 11am to 8pm – Poolside, Level 6. In-Room/Remote Dining: 24 hours a day online. Morsel’s Café: Open everyday, 6am to 10pm – Lobby Level. Enjoy a variety of Starbuck’s coffee beverages, grab a snack to go, pick up travel-friendly sundries or a San Diego themed gift on the run. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Omni San Diego Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing