We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Omni San Diego Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Omni San Diego Hotel
Ranked #14 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Knoxville, Tennessee
1 review
“Great Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

I attended a Convention in San Diego, the Omni was very convenient to walking to convention center, as well as event restaurants. I enjoyed being close to the Gaslamp Quarter. The hotel and staff were excellent!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank 893sharim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniSDManagement, General Manager at Omni San Diego Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear 893sharim,
Thanks for your wonderful review! We're pleased that we fulfilled all of the important requirements of your stay in San Diego while at the convention center. We are fortunate to have such a dedicated and engaged team and a location that is unparalled in downtown San Diego; at the foot of the Gaslamp District, connected to Petco Park and across the street from the convention center.
We hope that you'll return for a vacation sometime soon!
Sincerely,
Brian Hughes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,982 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,606
    1,006
    236
    94
    40
See reviews for
672
1,041
159
1,668
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (513)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lubbock, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed in San Diego the previous September and definitely enjoyed the service. After checking in, the only room available was a view of Petco Park. The first night we didn't enjoy the baseball game across the street as much as the fans were! All the light shed straight into our windows and every time the Padres got a homerun that side of the hotel would shake. But the next morning we asked about another room and the manager was happy to help. He actually sent someone to retrieve our bags and place them in our new room, while we toured the city. That level of service to me is unprecedented. The hotel also has a pool with a great view of the bay as well as a very proper restaurant downstairs. I would definetly recommend this to anyone who enjoys staying close to the city and has a taste for modern architecture and décor!

Room Tip: Make sure you get a view away from Petco Park. Rooms that face the Bay are much much larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheMetropolitanTexan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniSDManagement, General Manager at Omni San Diego Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear TheMetropolitan Texan,
Thanks for sharing your experience at our hotel. Sometimes we don't get everything perfect desipite our desire to do so, but the key is always how we activate to correct a problem. I'm glad that you were satisfied with our response and that ultimately your stay with us is a pleasant memory. Our location immediately next to Petco Park and our SkyBridge in to the park is usually a blessing but I completely understand that if you're not a baseball fan, the authentic sounds of major league baseball are not as appreciated.
Thanks for the opportunity to be your host in San Diego and I hope that you'll stay with us next time you're in San Diego. Just request a room away from the Park when you make your reservation and we'll endeavor to accomodate you.
Sincerely,
Brian Hughes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor
Level Contributor
85 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

This location is attached to Petco Park Baseball Stadium with it own entrance. The staff were great except at the pool. Better to get your own drinks than wait for them. The rest of the experience was above average and the rooms were large with great views. We had a corner that had fantastic views of the city and bay.

Room Tip: Ask for a Corner on the front of the building or Ask for a room that you can see into Petco Park the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank no1subman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniSDManagement, General Manager at Omni San Diego Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear no1subman,
Thank-you so much for your review! We're pleased that you found most elements of your stay to be very satisfactory. I appreciate your feedback about the food & beverage service at the pool. It has proven to be motivational to the Terrace Bar & Grill team to become more consistent with their speed of service. We're also pleased that you had the opportunity to experience the SkyBridge that leads directly from the hotel in to Petco Park. It's a unique and special experience to enter and exit the stadium away from the crowds. It's actually the only one of it's kind in all of major league baseball. Glad you found your room to be large with spectacular views. Sounds like you had a very nice visit to San Diego!
We hope you'll return to see us soon.
Sincerely,
Brian Hughes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suisun City, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

My family of four booked this hotel for 5 nights. We checked in on July 7 checked - out July 12th. It is located steps away from the Gaslamp district and convention center. It is also connected to Petco park which is pretty cool especially if you're a baseball fan. It's less than a 10 minute drive in to beautiful Coronado. We spent most of our evenings winding down at the hotel pool and spa after our days of exploring San Diego. Hotel was very much up to my cleanliness standards, no issues at all. When we checked in, my two boys were given a treat bag so right away they were excited. I'd say my only con was the valet only parking. I want to say it was $38 nightly. Pretty steep, most resorts charge $20-25. And I wouldn't consider this place a resort. But I also get its downtown and parking is limited. (I've paid $50 a night in downtown San Francisco.) We found a more affordable parking option directly across the hotel. It was $15 daily, bad part was no in and out privileges. Parking was not a deal breaker for me. I enjoyed my stay, staff was pretty pleasant, room service to the pool was quick, clean and modern rooms. I'd definitely book the Omni again.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank LeslieIvonne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniSDManagement, General Manager at Omni San Diego Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear LeslieIvonne,
Thanks for your excellent review. I'm sure it will be very helpful to other travellers.
We're grateful that you had so many good experiences in the hotel including your daily unwind at the pool, the overall cleanliness of the hotel, our staff and of course, we're very pleased that your children enjoyed their 'kids packs'. You are correct that parking in downtown San Diego isn't inexpensive. We are very competitive with other downtown hotels and you are correct that a less-expensive self-park option exists nearby. We want our guests to park where they are most comfortable; whether it be the safety and convenience of valet parking or the self-park, pay as you exit self-park option.
Thanks again for sharing your insider information!
Sincerely,
Brian Hughes
General Manager
p.s. We loved your pics!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaumont, Texas
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

The hotel is perfectly located next to the baseball stadium, the Gaslamp District, the Convention Center, and the water. The staff is very professional, completely accommodating, and very friendly and helpful. The pool is lovely and the food is excellent. I would definitely consider staying at this hotel the next time we are in San Diego.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Philip1065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniSDManagement, General Manager at Omni San Diego Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear Philip1065,
Thanks so much for sharing your recent experience at our hotel. Everything you described made us smile. Our staff really is our 'secret sauce' and I couldn't be prouder of their intense focus on our guests and their satisfaction. It inspires me every day. I'm also happy that you found time to enjoy our roof top pool and the offerings at the Terrace Bar & Grill. Our guests enjoy the low-key, inviting and relaxing environment and having the luxury of ordering food & beverage to your chaise lounge is the ultimate reward.
We hope to welcome you back to our hotel soon!
Sincerely,
Brian Hughes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

great location. walking distance to all major downtown tourists sites. very clean hotel with a very friendly and helpful staff. room service very good. rooms are small with little drawer space. sliding glass doors close off bathrooms. larger rooms also have opening slots between bathroom and bedroom thru wall.choose premium king rooms for space.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank 974craigw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniSDManagement, General Manager at Omni San Diego Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear 974craigw,
Thank-you for taking the time to submit a review about our hotel. I'm sorry that you found your room small and drawer space minimal. It's not feedback that we hear often but your opinion is important and I'm glad that you found many other elements of your stay to be to your satisfaction to perhaps counter-balance that particular disappointment: the hotel's cleanliness, our friendly helpful staff and that our Room Service team did a great job. I hope that you will return pay us the compliment of a return visit soon.
Thank-you again for your feedback.
Sincerely,
Brian Hughes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Lovely hotel. Fantastic location. Great view from our room. We booked the family slumber package which was great, especially for the kids! They loved the free movies, popcorn and soft drink included in the package. Staff were nice.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NLobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniSDManagement, General Manager at Omni San Diego Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear NLobo,
Thank-you for your lovely review. We're thrilled that you found our staff to be nice (they really are!), the location perfect and the view was enjoyed. The Family Slumber package has proven to be very popular for families with children for reasons you articulated so well.
I hope that you and your family will return to our hotel soon...we'd love to have you!
Sincerely,
Brian Hughes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#36 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#44 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,883 reviews
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Hotel Z - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni San Diego Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni San Diego Hotel

Property: Omni San Diego Hotel
Address: 675 L Street, San Diego, CA 92101-7022
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , East Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#16 Family Hotel in San Diego
#20 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#22 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni San Diego Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 511
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Omni San Diego is located in downtown San Diego, just steps from the historic Gaslamp quarter and connected via skybridge to the San Diego Padres ballpark, PETCO Park. This luxury hotel was designed with a cosmopolitan feel to compliment the sunny San Diego setting. The interior is contemporary and comfortable, decorated in warm earth tones and natural materials. Guestrooms are relaxing and well appointed with the finest bedding, upscale bathroom amenities, free wireless internet and unbeatable views. In addition, the hotel houses an extensive collection of rare baseball memorabilia, including a variety of autographed baseballs, jerseys, and a Babe Ruth contract. Whether traveling for business or leisure, a stay at the Omni San Diego Hotel is one you won't soon forget. Culinary offerings include McCormick & Schmick’s Seafood Restaurant, open daily, 6am to midnight. Offering the freshest selection of seafood in San Diego, menus are printed daily based upon local fish market supply and focus on seasonal, locally sourced, farm-to-table creations highlighting organic ingredients. Supplementing the menu is a thoughtful beverage list including progressive wines-by-the-glass and mixologist inspired cocktails with a “house made” approach. The Terrace Bar & Grill, open everyday through September, 11am to 8pm – Poolside, Level 6. In-Room/Remote Dining: 24 hours a day online. Morsel’s Café: Open everyday, 6am to 10pm – Lobby Level. Enjoy a variety of Starbuck’s coffee beverages, grab a snack to go, pick up travel-friendly sundries or a San Diego themed gift on the run. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Omni San Diego Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing