We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Stay at The Omni”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Omni San Diego Hotel
Ranked #19 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

Thoroughly enjoyed our 3 night stay at The Omni in San Diego. From check-in to the valet returning our car (with bottles of water for the onward journey) on departure the service was faultless. Rooms are comfortable and tastefully decorated and the food was of a consistently high standard. Small touches - such as providing milk and cookies for my daughter at bed time - were the icing on the cake.

Highly recommended.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank R8SKM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniSDManagement, General Manager at Omni San Diego Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear R8SKM,
Thank you very much for your glowing review! We're delighted that you were delighted. We take pride in attending to small details (water in your vehicle and cookies at bed-time for your daughter) as well as the important requirements of cleanliness, efficiency, safety and friendliness. We appreciate the fact that you took the time to acknowledge these accomplishments; it makes us proud and hungry to provide more memorable experiences in the future for you and others.
Sincerely,
Brian Hughes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,591)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,423 - 2,429 of 4,591 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2014

My family (3 adults, 1 child) stayed here during ComicCon. If you don't know - ComicCon is insane. So many people cram into the San Diego Gaslamp district I can't believe it doesn't sink into the ocean. I have stayed at several hotels during past ComicCons and when I've needed anything literally been told "You know it's ComicCon, right. You'll have to wait". This was my first time staying at Omni and it was a world of difference. I will never stay anywhere else! Despite the insanity - it was quiet once we got to our room (granted we were blessed to have a room at the very end of our floor so maybe that helped, but I think it was pretty quite on the floors). We ordered room service at least once a day and it came correctly and in less than an hour. Given the situation - that's incredible! Anything I needed from the front desk or concierge was attended to politely (I only had small requests - but still!). We made a same day reservations at the hotel restaurant and were told they were full but they would try. When we returned at our requested time our table was ready and our service was great. I can't say enough about how gracefully they handled this crazy week!

Room Tip: If you stay during comic con and want quiet, ask for a floor about 7 (don't even know if there a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Margaret B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniSDManagement, General Manager at Omni San Diego Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Margaret B,
Thank-you so much for acknowledging the stellar efforts of our team in handling the unique circumstances that ComiCon brings. We take great pride in tailoring our service to the needs of all of our guests throughout the year. Certainly ComiCon is extraordinary but we have a tenured team of professionals who have become good at planning for the annual event.
We hope to have you back with us again next year, if not sooner!
Sincerely,
Brian Hughes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Stayed here of for four nights in late-June for the BIO Conference and couldn't find a thing to complain about. The property is very clean, rooms are modern and spacious, bathroom amenities 1st class, gym is excellent (cardio machines, free weights, cross fit stuff, high ceiling for skipping) and the restaurant and banquet food was excellent.

Front desk and front door staff were knowledgable and helpful from top to bottom. Elevators can be a bit slow after a Padres games -- as the hotel has a bridge direct to Petco park -- but this was a minor inconvenience. Right in the heart of the Gaslamp district, directly in front of mass transit and just across the road from the convention centre, this is probably the most central hotel (it was for our purposes) in San Diego.

Would stay here again in a heartbeat and look forward to my next visit ... this is a diamond jewel in the OMNI Chain of hotels!

Room Tip: Ask for a water view if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank WJR-041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniSDManagement, General Manager at Omni San Diego Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear WJR-041,
Thank-you for taking the time to share your detailed experience with us over the BIO conference. We are thrilled that every aspect of your stay with us met your needs, and in some cases exceeded them. Our team is proud of the feedback you provided and undoubtedly are motivated to provided a similar experience for future guests, including you, we hope!
Sincerely,
Brian Hughes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

I attended a Convention in San Diego, the Omni was very convenient to walking to convention center, as well as event restaurants. I enjoyed being close to the Gaslamp Quarter. The hotel and staff were excellent!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
Thank 893sharim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniSDManagement, General Manager at Omni San Diego Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Dear 893sharim,
Thanks for your wonderful review! We're pleased that we fulfilled all of the important requirements of your stay in San Diego while at the convention center. We are fortunate to have such a dedicated and engaged team and a location that is unparalled in downtown San Diego; at the foot of the Gaslamp District, connected to Petco Park and across the street from the convention center.
We hope that you'll return for a vacation sometime soon!
Sincerely,
Brian Hughes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed in San Diego the previous September and definitely enjoyed the service. After checking in, the only room available was a view of Petco Park. The first night we didn't enjoy the baseball game across the street as much as the fans were! All the light shed straight into our windows and every time the Padres got a homerun that side of the hotel would shake. But the next morning we asked about another room and the manager was happy to help. He actually sent someone to retrieve our bags and place them in our new room, while we toured the city. That level of service to me is unprecedented. The hotel also has a pool with a great view of the bay as well as a very proper restaurant downstairs. I would definetly recommend this to anyone who enjoys staying close to the city and has a taste for modern architecture and décor!

Room Tip: Make sure you get a view away from Petco Park. Rooms that face the Bay are much much larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheMetropolitanTexan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniSDManagement, General Manager at Omni San Diego Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Dear TheMetropolitan Texan,
Thanks for sharing your experience at our hotel. Sometimes we don't get everything perfect desipite our desire to do so, but the key is always how we activate to correct a problem. I'm glad that you were satisfied with our response and that ultimately your stay with us is a pleasant memory. Our location immediately next to Petco Park and our SkyBridge in to the park is usually a blessing but I completely understand that if you're not a baseball fan, the authentic sounds of major league baseball are not as appreciated.
Thanks for the opportunity to be your host in San Diego and I hope that you'll stay with us next time you're in San Diego. Just request a room away from the Park when you make your reservation and we'll endeavor to accomodate you.
Sincerely,
Brian Hughes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This location is attached to Petco Park Baseball Stadium with it own entrance. The staff were great except at the pool. Better to get your own drinks than wait for them. The rest of the experience was above average and the rooms were large with great views. We had a corner that had fantastic views of the city and bay.

Room Tip: Ask for a Corner on the front of the building or Ask for a room that you can see into Petco Park the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank no1subman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniSDManagement, General Manager at Omni San Diego Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Dear no1subman,
Thank-you so much for your review! We're pleased that you found most elements of your stay to be very satisfactory. I appreciate your feedback about the food & beverage service at the pool. It has proven to be motivational to the Terrace Bar & Grill team to become more consistent with their speed of service. We're also pleased that you had the opportunity to experience the SkyBridge that leads directly from the hotel in to Petco Park. It's a unique and special experience to enter and exit the stadium away from the crowds. It's actually the only one of it's kind in all of major league baseball. Glad you found your room to be large with spectacular views. Sounds like you had a very nice visit to San Diego!
We hope you'll return to see us soon.
Sincerely,
Brian Hughes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

My family of four booked this hotel for 5 nights. We checked in on July 7 checked - out July 12th. It is located steps away from the Gaslamp district and convention center. It is also connected to Petco park which is pretty cool especially if you're a baseball fan. It's less than a 10 minute drive in to beautiful Coronado. We spent most of our evenings winding down at the hotel pool and spa after our days of exploring San Diego. Hotel was very much up to my cleanliness standards, no issues at all. When we checked in, my two boys were given a treat bag so right away they were excited. I'd say my only con was the valet only parking. I want to say it was $38 nightly. Pretty steep, most resorts charge $20-25. And I wouldn't consider this place a resort. But I also get its downtown and parking is limited. (I've paid $50 a night in downtown San Francisco.) We found a more affordable parking option directly across the hotel. It was $15 daily, bad part was no in and out privileges. Parking was not a deal breaker for me. I enjoyed my stay, staff was pretty pleasant, room service to the pool was quick, clean and modern rooms. I'd definitely book the Omni again.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank LeslieIvonne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniSDManagement, General Manager at Omni San Diego Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Dear LeslieIvonne,
Thanks for your excellent review. I'm sure it will be very helpful to other travellers.
We're grateful that you had so many good experiences in the hotel including your daily unwind at the pool, the overall cleanliness of the hotel, our staff and of course, we're very pleased that your children enjoyed their 'kids packs'. You are correct that parking in downtown San Diego isn't inexpensive. We are very competitive with other downtown hotels and you are correct that a less-expensive self-park option exists nearby. We want our guests to park where they are most comfortable; whether it be the safety and convenience of valet parking or the self-park, pay as you exit self-park option.
Thanks again for sharing your insider information!
Sincerely,
Brian Hughes
General Manager
p.s. We loved your pics!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#33 of 286 in San Diego
5,485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
#77 of 286 in San Diego
5,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni San Diego Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni San Diego Hotel

Address: 675 L Street, San Diego, CA 92101-7022
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , East Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#16 Family Hotel in San Diego
#20 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#22 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: £139 - £298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni San Diego Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 511
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Omni San Diego is located in downtown San Diego, just steps from the historic Gaslamp quarter and connected via skybridge to the San Diego Padres ballpark, PETCO Park. This luxury hotel was designed with a cosmopolitan feel to compliment the sunny San Diego setting. The interior is contemporary and comfortable, decorated in warm earth tones and natural materials. Guestrooms are relaxing and well appointed with the finest bedding, upscale bathroom amenities, free wireless internet and unbeatable views. In addition, the hotel houses an extensive collection of rare baseball memorabilia, including a variety of autographed baseballs, jerseys, and a Babe Ruth contract. Whether traveling for business or leisure, a stay at the Omni San Diego Hotel is one you won't soon forget. Culinary offerings include McCormick & Schmick’s Seafood Restaurant, open daily, 6am to midnight. Offering the freshest selection of seafood in San Diego, menus are printed daily based upon local fish market supply and focus on seasonal, locally sourced, farm-to-table creations highlighting organic ingredients. Supplementing the menu is a thoughtful beverage list including progressive wines-by-the-glass and mixologist inspired cocktails with a “house made” approach. The Terrace Bar & Grill, open everyday through September, 11am to 8pm – Poolside, Level 6. In-Room/Remote Dining: 24 hours a day online. Morsel’s Café: Open everyday, 6am to 10pm – Lobby Level. Enjoy a variety of Starbuck’s coffee beverages, grab a snack to go, pick up travel-friendly sundries or a San Diego themed gift on the run. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Omni San Diego Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing