We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Omni San Diego Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$213
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$399
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hilton San Diego Bayfront(San Diego)(Great Value!)
US$493
US$435
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$236
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hyatt Regency La Jolla at Aventine(La Jolla)(Great Value!)
US$214
US$209
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa(La Jolla)(Great Value!)
US$318
US$220
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$333
US$224
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$251
US$190
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Room Service
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter(San Diego)(Great Value!)
US$234
US$213
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Westin San Diego(San Diego)(Great Value!)
US$248
US$165
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (4,734)
Filter reviews
4,736 results
Traveller rating
3,089
1,166
302
123
56
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,089
1,166
302
123
56
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspetco parkconvention centergaslamp districtgreat locationselect guestmccormick and schmickspadres gamethe gas lamp districtball parkvalet parkingcorner roomwithin walking distancedirectly across the streettrain trackscoronado bridgebeautiful hotelbathroom door
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,531 - 2,536 of 4,736 reviews
Reviewed 21 August 2014

I expected to have a better experience based on the positive reviews. I have stayed at other Omni hotels in other cities, and I would categorize this one as average. The service level was just ok. No one greeted us, except for check in and check out. The pool service was lacking. They handed out menus, but no one asked us if we wanted anything off the menu. May be it was self serve...I do not know. They left cookies in our room on the first night of our stay - nice touch. Affordable parking right across the street.
Pros: Clean, Great location, Comfortable Room, Nice View
Cons: Service, Can be Noisy

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank lesouches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniSDManagement, General Manager at Omni San Diego Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Dear ouches,
I am so very sorry that we failed to provide you with a level of service that you correctly anticipated. Your review has been extremely helpful to us as we reviewed with our team in the lobby, at the curb and at the Terrace Bar & Grill. We sincerely hope that you will give us another opportunity to redeem ourselves and demonstrate our normally high standards of care, courtesy, efficiency and friendliness.
Thank-you again for taking the time to provide this feedback.
Sincerely,
Brian Hughes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Omni has the friendliest and most helpful staff. We were extremely pleased to receive free wifi during our stay and the eagerness and polite nature of the staff to assist us with any queries. The only issue we had was with parking and it would have been nice if free parking for hotel guests was offered.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
Thank Christal G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniSDManagement, General Manager at Omni San Diego Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Dear Christal G,
Thanks for your great review! We love being exactly as you described and appreciate sharing your experience with others researching their travel plans. I also wish we could provide free parking; like most hotels in downtown San Diego, we pay for space off-site and must pass the cost along, in addition to the cost of our valet team. Self-parking nearby is less expensive and perfectly fine with us.
We hope to welcome you back soon,
Brian Hughes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

From the moment we arrived to when we left the staff good not do enough, fantastic customer service. With a great location for the Gas Lamp district, a quality in house restaurant and to finish the beds provided a great nights sleep.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
Thank michaelcX7067OL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniSDManagement, General Manager at Omni San Diego Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Dear michaelcX7067OL,
I'm thrilled that you enjoyed so much about your experience at our hotel! Thanks for acknowledging our staff...they work very hard and are dedicated to the enjoyment and satisfaction of our guests. We often hear that our location is unbeatable and I'm also glad that you enjoyed McCormick & Schmick's Seafood Restaurant and had a good night's rest!
Please come see us again soon.
Sincerely,
Brian Hughes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

First time in a Omni hotel: everything was perfect! My husband and I visited San Diego during our honeymoon in May 2014 and booked a room through the hotel’s website the night before. From the first moment we got there everyone was very kind and super helpful without being annoying. Very appreciated.
The big surprise we received was the upgrade to a fantastic and spacious suite (n.1520) for our honeymoon. The suite had a great view and was very quiet. Many treats followed during our stay as we signed in as Loyalty members: complimentary bottle of water and complementary morning drink.
The Hotel is new, modern and very elegant and is located right next to the Petco Park and the San Diego Convention Center, in the Gaslamp Quarter with Seaport Village, restaurants and shops walking distance. The train is just in front of the hotel and you can buy tickets directly at the station.
The valet parking is a bit pricy (38usd/night) but there is a more convenient self-parking (15usd/night) just around the corner. The valet staff has always been very nice and friendly even if we didn’t use the valet service.
Some highlights: high quality amenities, comfortable and super clean beds (I always check sheets and towels – perfect), pool and Jacuzzi, 24h room service, high level restaurant. Excellent customer service.
But what I valued the most was the staff! From the valet to the bellman and the front desk staff. Thank you to all Omni staff for making our stay so special! Definitely will look out for other Omni hotels in next trips.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ZiaMemy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniSDManagement, General Manager at Omni San Diego Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Dear ZiaMemy,
Allow me to also say, "I don't know where to start" with thanks for posting such a thorough and flattering review. It is very gratifying for all of us at the Omni San Diego Hotel to know that we helped create a lifetime memory during such a happy and important time in your life. This is what we love to do.
We hope that you won't wait until your 1st wedding anniversary to pay us a return visit. It truly was a pleasure to have you with us and extend renewed best wishes for your newlywedded lives.
Sincerely,
Brian Hughes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

The hotel is modern and beautiful. The staff is what makes the hotel great in my opinion. From the valet to the bellman and the front desk staff. We reserved the hotel through one of the "Express Deals" on priceline.com hoping it was the Omni. Besides parking, there were no extras which was nice. We self parked at the ACE garage across the street which was very convenient ($15/day) and cheaper than the $38/day valet. It was our anniversary and since it was a slow weekend they kindly upgraded us to a view room and then surprised us with complimentary champagne and strawberries. Two nights into our stay, a group checked into the room next to us and turned it into a noisy party suite. They chose to let the group stay and moved us to a larger corner room again sending a nice cabernet to make up for the inconvenience. I've stayed at the Omni San Francisco as well as the Omni Seattle and all the staff was similarly friendly, helpful and accommodating. We'll be back. Also, sign up in advance for their Loyalty Program so you can get free wi-fi and other perks.
*Only downside in my opinion is the bathroom situation. There are louvered wood "blinds" in the bathroom wall that are permanently fixed closed. The sliding doors to the bathroom are also louvered. Not what I would call soundproof. My husband kindly put on the TV and turned on the shower (California drought...I know, sorry!) to muffle the noises from the bathroom. Just saying, it can kill the romance or be awkward if you are sharing a room with a friend or co-worker.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rashel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews