We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
WorldMark San Diego - Balboa Park
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice place”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

This is a nice property located within walking distance of many of the downtown areas and attractions. Not much in the way of amenities, no pool, no grounds, but the rooms are very clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wade H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    42
    9
    4
    1
See reviews for
23
29
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2013

Not much to add to what was previously stated about the hotel, except that there is a pattern to which rooms have a view. All the odd number rooms seem to look out to the city from all 4 sides. However the even numbered rooms all just look into the inner air shaft. Luckily, it 75% of the rooms look outward. Maybe you can use this at check in to try to get a better room. Room 301 looks west, toward the main part of downtown.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fred3nPhx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hershey, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2013

This resort was being remodeled while we stayed there - all new carpeting, The work was done with minimal discomfort to customers but it still detracted from the overall experience. Staff is very helpful. Business office and common rooms including game room were well appointed. The pool is small and in shadow much of the day as it is between sections of the resort. Several restaurants are within walking distance. We used the exercise facilities daily.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bird_17033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2013

We stayed 4 nights at the WorldMark San Diego and could not have been more pleased with the location. We visited Coronado Island, took a yacht harbor tour of San Diego Bay, and went to the famous San Diego Zoo. Everything was a 20 minute drive or much less. The unit (321) was small, but adequate with a full size refrigerator and a 2 burner stove and microwave. No oven. Lovely rooftop deck with a bar (closed while we were here in late February). Watch the planes land at nearby airport. There is a small work out room, but if you go to the Zoo you will get plenty of exercise. We will definitely be staying here again as we drive from Phoenix and have a car. I don't know what the experience would be without transportation.

Room Tip: No pool or restaurant. There is a McDonalds across the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoeyG_5639
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hope, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2013

This is a remodelled hotel - quite charming. No real ammenities, no pool, restaurant etc. McDonalds right across the street and close to the gaslamp quarter (about a 15 minute walk).
If you are afraid of homeless people - take a cab - Parking will cost you $20 a night so check out street parking before you check in.
Overal a decent place to stay - Just bypass the (consierege after check in unless you want to sit and visit for a while)

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miker023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverside, California
Level 6 Contributor
243 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2013

We stayed here for the New Year ~ parking is limited and $20.00 per night or if you can find parking on street near timeshare - beware or ask what days the streetsweeper comes by. this location has a very beautiful roof top patio with two bbq's. This property doesn't have a pool or jacuzzi. The rooms are very tiny with a "kitchenette" that has a small frig and no oven, two burners...if you have guest stay with you or small children, you will be using a pull out that has a very small mattress our guest backs were hurting next day also, the only bathroom is located in the bedroom so your guest will have to go thru the room to get to the bathroom. I believe worldmark doesn't have the most comfortable beds especially if you like them soft I like do. The noise from the outside while sleeping was extremely loud. The staff was wonderful. It's approx a 15 min walk to gas lamp district or a 5 min walk to trolleys. Across from resort, is a mc donalds, down the street a del taco and burger king. If we go back, it would be just for a night or two.

Room Tip: Choose a room that has least amount of travel cars
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darcy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2012

This is a mixed review because there are both positives and negatives to mention:

Positives:
o The staff are wonderful. Friendly and caring. Extraordinarily helpful!
o The hotel is 20 minutes walk from Balboa Park, maybe 15 minutes from the restaurant district and downtown
o The rooms are comfortable, if snug

Negatives:
o Parking is first-come first-served and $20 per day
o This is not an attractive location, with many homeless on the streets as you walk to restaurants, etc.
o The kitchen area is functional but small

Overall, we are enjoying our stay but I doubt we will return to this location.

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank NormanMarks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown
Downtown
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
#123 of 278 in San Diego
2,557 reviews
Inn at the Park
#120 of 278 in San Diego
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Inn Hotel & Suites
#176 of 278 in San Diego
501 reviews
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#17 of 278 in San Diego
4,330 reviews
Downtown
Best Western Cabrillo Garden Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to WorldMark San Diego - Balboa Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WorldMark San Diego - Balboa Park

Property: WorldMark San Diego - Balboa Park
Address: 1110 A St, San Diego, CA 92101-4732 (Formerly Staybridge Suites Downtown)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , East Village
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 65 Speciality Lodging in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — WorldMark San Diego - Balboa Park 3.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your WorldMark San Diego - Balboa Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Worldmark San Diego Hotel San Diego
Staybridge Suites San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing