We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic yummy food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of D Bar San Diego - CLOSED

D Bar San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$38
Cuisines: American, Bar, Cafe, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups, Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: University
Description: Food Network Celebrity Chef Keegan Gerhard and his team bring you seasonally inspired upscale comfort food and award winning desserts. Immerse yourself in the culinary sanctuary we call D Bar. The d in D Bar stands for drinks, dining, and dessert. Drinks - Whether it's our fresh roasted Allegro coffee, hand spun milkshakes, world famous vanilla bean lemonade or our custom cocktails, craft beers and thoughtfully selected wines, D Bar is sure to quench even the most discerning thirsts. Dining - Keegan and Lisa's passion for food and travel bring you breakfast, lunch, dinner and brunch menus showcasing food you know done well with a twist. Dessert - D Bar is the home of Denver's favorite desserts. Grab a treat out of the pastry case, order a custom cake for that special occasion or cozy up to the dessert bar where it's prime seating as you watch talented pastry chefs create imaginative plated desserts right before your very eyes. Dessert - it's kind of our thing ya know!
La Jolla, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic yummy food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

The D Bar has a creative menu, everything on it is absolutely delicious, you can't go wrong with anything they have.
The ambiance is modern and uplifting as well as the food

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MaileAguerre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChefKeegan, Owner at D Bar San Diego, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Hi there! Love your profile pic.. super cute! Thanks so much for your kind words and great review. We are so delighted you had a nice experience and we certainly look forward to serving you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    18
    10
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Parkville, Missouri, USA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Funky Retro Restobar”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

We had dinner here with friends on a Sunday night. Food was plentiful, prompt, and tasty. Wife and I had ahi tuna, which was cooked to perfection. Our server, Joe, was on top of things all night.

Prices were reasonable and the wine list, while limited, was respectable. We would definitely return.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank GlobalVagabond9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChefKeegan, Owner at D Bar San Diego, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Hello! Thanks for the great review! We love that you came here and had a great overall experience. Isn't Joe great! :) Sounds like everything was cooked to your liking and you had a really nice time which is always what we strive for. Thanks again and we look forward to serving you again soon. Cheers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
95 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Must try”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

This is a gem in the hill crest area. I visited during a happy our between lunch and dinner. They had approximately 6~7 menus plus a wide selection of desserts during the happy our.

Excellent dishes; well priced, delicious, and well-portioned. I especially liked the brussel sprouts, but all others were equally good. Drinks were also very well-priced.

Tried two dessert menu; chocolate cake and tiramisu, both lived up to their name... D-bar! Fancy, well-decorated, and most of all, very tasty.

The restaurant is very spacious, but the street parking might get quite tricky during the busy hours...

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kunhyuk K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChefKeegan, Owner at D Bar San Diego, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Hi there! Thanks so much for the must try review. We love that you scoped us out during happy hour and were able to try a little sampling of things. You are right, parking can get a bit crazy but we are working on a valet system that will be rolling out soon :)

Thanks again for your review and we certainly look forward to serving you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California, United States
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Flat experience”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

We ate at D-Bar for Restaurant week. We were looking forward to checking out this newer restaurant from a Celeb Chef.

This restaurant is big and ample. Its design is clean, modern, and minimalist. The acoustics are poor as it is wide open all the way to the roof deck. The music played was not to our liking or appropriate in my opinion for the food and space. They were playing Top 40s and/or 80s music. I realize it's in Hillcrest, but I don't need to listen to Katy Perry at a supposedly nice restaurant. It's a full bar with a creative cocktail list as most restaurants nowadays, but the wine selection is limited. The appetizers were very limited, the entrees were tasty and a good portion. Our highlight of the evening was the dessert. They have a big bar in front of the pastry\dessert kitchen. In fact, the more we thought about whether we liked the restaurant or not we came to the conclusion it is probably a lunch, brunch, and/or dessert place.

Overall we had a very flat somewhat sterile experience. For now until they refine their personality it's better suited for a big group with low expectations. We probably will give it a second chance on a regular evening.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ruben P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChefKeegan, Owner at D Bar San Diego, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Hi Ruben,
Thanks for joining us during restaurant week. While is sounds like we had some high points, overall it wasn't everything you had hoped for. We are always striving to be better than yesterday and not as good as tomorrow and would encourage you to come back for a second try! A couple fan favorites we would love to hear your opinion on are the halibut (maque choux is super tasty), bacon mac and cheese, and our crue fry app is a must try! We appreciate your honesty in your review and really do look forward to another opportunity to serve you and turn that three star into five (perhaps during brunch like you suggested or even for a little happy hour fun). Thanks again and we hope to serve you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
62 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Keegan kills it! Love this place...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

My girlfriends and I just visited D Bar during SDRESTAURANTWEEK. The ambience is very chic/cool/simplistic. Service outstanding. I had the lobster avocado salad which I'd order again in a second. Everyone else had the fried chicken and waffles sandwiches. They all loved it. Something unique that I really like was the option to order HALF GLASSES OF WINE. Very cool if you want to try different ones and make your own wine flight. Also after I have a glass I often just want a tad more...perfect option for me. Now desserts are his main thing here... You can't come here and not get something sweet. The shake and cake was RICH but a hard core chocolate lovers dream. The creme brulee' perfect! He even had gluten free cake. Keegan happened to be there when we dined and he couldn't have been nicer! JUST GO...you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Martinimom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChefKeegan, Owner at D Bar San Diego, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Hi Martinimom (love the name)! Wow thanks for the awesome review, we love that you had a great restaurant week experience. Glad you enjoy the half glass of wine option, like you said sometimes you just want that little bit more :)

Sounds like overall you had a really nice experience and we really appreciate you taking the time to say so. We look forward to serving you again soon. Cheers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed D Bar San Diego also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing