We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
ITH Adventure Hostel San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
Reviewed 9 August 2013

It is certainly one of my best hostel stay in US and I had a great time staying there. There is free wifi, Ipad available beside the "reception" area where you can use it anytime at your leisure. The rooms was clean, conducive and that the place is painted with lively colors and design. The restroom was kept clean as the staff has been really hardworking and committed to keeping it clean and dry.

The place is near to Little Italy where they have buildings, gourmet and cultures of Italy. It is conveniently located near to Amtrak station, Trolley and within walking distance to places like Gaslamp quarter, stadiums where you could watch baseball matches, etc.

The biggest advantage and plus point for the place is that breakfast and dinner are provided at no additional charges. Also, they have private vehicle services available, where you pay a really affordable rate and get to tour and visit the various place in San Diego such as the Zoo, La Jolla Beach, etc. The staff there is definitely helpful and approachable, who you can always just drop by the counter and enquire almost anything and they will be there to help. An interesting part of the hostel is also that they have daily activities planned for residents and that you can join them at a minimum charge or for free (depending on what it is) and that the programs are different for 7 days a week.

It has really been a great and pleasure stay and I would definitely recommend my friends to stay there.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YvonneTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Internati0nalTravelr, Manager at ITH Adventure Hostel San Diego, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Thanks a million for your amazing review! We are working hard every day to provide you with wifi and ipads to stay in touch with friends. The staff are constantly cleaning and coming up with new ideas for art, entertainment, and activities. We are so blessed to be close to Little Italy, public transportation, and some other amazing attractions in downtown San Diego. I'm glad you got to experience them! Our free breakfast and dinner is always a favorite and we are happy to see the trend continuing! And now, our adventure activities are free for all guests. Come snorkel, surf, snowboard, sail, and celebrate with us...all for free!!!
Come back soon!

-Danger Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    34
    4
    9
    3
See reviews for
3
7
94
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 August 2013

I stayed for 2 nights and was very impressed by the friendliness of the staff and how outgoing they were. Many them are travelers staying for a few weeks or months and so it is easy to meet people and there are activities on every day and night - especially good for a solo traveler. It is fairly laid back and relaxing, yet there are plenty of activities such as the beach easily accessible.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexanderDewar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Internati0nalTravelr, Manager at ITH Adventure Hostel San Diego, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Thank you for staying with us! I'm so happy to hear that you loved our staff. We thrive on spreading peace through knowledge of culture and having a diverse staff can help so much! Our daytime adventure activities are free for all guests so please come back and experience something with us!

-Danger Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013 via mobile

One of the best hostels I have ever stayed at. Hostel was very clean, great location and atmosphere. The staff were so friendly! Free breakfast and dinner included was amazing. I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathryn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Internati0nalTravelr, Owner at ITH Adventure Hostel San Diego, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
Thanks for staying with us! Glad to hear you enjoyed our free meals and appreciated our staff! We would be happy to have you stay with us again anytime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lejre, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013

I love love love love love this hostel!!! I had the best time here in San Diego! The hostel is in little italy, a great cosy part of town. Everyone at the hostel are so freindly and nice. San Diego is the kind of city where everything is spread out over a large area and it's hard to get around with public transpertaion, but the hostel arrange so many great activities and take you out to all the places worth seeing! I had so much fun here with Neil and Steve and was tought to surf by the best teatcher Eric! I am coming back!!! Very soon!

Room Tip: Sorry, no swimming pool or fitness center, but I can change it :-/
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Internati0nalTravelr, Owner at ITH Adventure Hostel San Diego, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
Thanks for joining us on your trip at the International Travelers House! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our activities and appreciated Eric's skills on the surf board!

It is also great to hear that you were able to explore Little Italy and appreciate the beautiful neighborhood we are in! We love where we are at! Come back and stay with us anytime!

Cheers,
Bobby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a week and had a great experience!

Amazing value - breakfast and dinner included in the room price. Accommodated our vegetarian meal requests each night which was great! Food is simple - lasagna, pizza, rice and beans, always a big salad. Breakfast was almost always pancakes, and you can make your own oatmeal.

The bathrooms and showers were INCREDIBLY clean, and excellent ratio for the number of guests. Never had to wait in line.

The rooms are clean and spacious (except the discount room which is small). Thoughtful extras make the stay extra comfortable: each bunk has a plug and a shelf, new sheets, pillows and duvets. Rooms cleaned daily.

The only thing I would warn you about is that it does get noisy and there is a late quiet time (midnight). The people are so nice there though, that even if you aren't a partier you may find that you're up late hanging out til then anyway!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danielle12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Internati0nalTravelr, Owner at ITH Adventure Hostel San Diego, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
Thanks for kind words about our Travelers House! Our volunteer team works very hard at keeping the house and especially the bathrooms clean for our guests!

We will also keep in mind the after hours noise level in our social garden. Our goal is to provide a great time for our guests yet more importantly a comfortable place to sleep while the travelers are on the road! See ya next time!

Cheers,
Bobby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013

Stayed for 2 nights in February. Hostel was very clean and the hosts extremely welcoming. The free breakfast, dinner and internet are great additions. The hostel is in a safe neighbourhood and is walking distance to the popular gaslamp quarter. There are plenty of organised activities and excursions; I went on the Tijuana day trip and had an amazing time.
Dave is an excellent host and awesome guy! Highly recommend this hostel.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Benny_S_1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Internati0nalTravelr, Owner at ITH Adventure Hostel San Diego, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
We are glad to hear that your really enjoyed our hostel. The neighborhood and security where we are at is amazing and Little Italy is such a great place to hang out our grab some tasty meals! :)

Dave is a character and a legend here at the Travelers House! Come back soon!


Cheers,
Bobby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2012

My friend and I stayed here for just one night in November, so we didn't get much opportunity to take advantage of all it had to offer. The staff seemed friendly, there is free breakfast and dinner every night and free internet which is all great! The main bathroom is downstairs and most rooms are upstairs but there is a little toilet and shower room upstairs that we were able to use no problem at all. It's only very small so I imagine it's a pretty friendly, intimate and quiet place to stay. They also arrange a bunch of really fun sounding trips. I would have liked to have stayed longer.
The only bad things I picked up on is that there were only 2 power sockets in a dorm for 4, which isn't ideal, and it's really difficult to fit two international adapters in at the same time so that makes it only 1 for us johnny foreigners. Also, it was a bit further out from the city center and there seemed to be quite a lot of homeless people in the general vicinity when we arrived, although not directly at the hostel. The other girl in our dorm told us that if you go walk the wrong into the city you can end up in a pretty dodgy area.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorna89379
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Internati0nalTravelr, Owner at ITH Adventure Hostel San Diego, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
Thanks again for staying with us and sharing your tips and concerns! We have not updated our rooms so that every bed has a shelf and a outlet! We also have some international adapters donated by guests around the hostel that travelers can use!

Hopefully next time you are in San Diego we will get to host you again and show you around our neighborhood of Little Italy as well as take you out on some awesome adventures!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Urban Boutique Hotel
Urban Boutique Hotel
#69 of 278 in San Diego
630 reviews
Downtown
Doubletree Hotel San Diego Downtown
Downtown
Porto Vista Hotel
Porto Vista Hotel
#136 of 278 in San Diego
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown
Downtown
Best Western Plus Bayside Inn
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ITH Adventure Hostel San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ITH Adventure Hostel San Diego

Property: ITH Adventure Hostel San Diego
Address: 1658 Front St, San Diego, CA 92101-2920
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , Little Italy
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 65 Speciality Lodging in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — ITH Adventure Hostel San Diego 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Awarded the 2014 & 2015 Certificate of Excellence by Trip Advisor for being the Top Rated Accommodation in San Diego! We are ideally located in Downtown near San Diego Bay and we offer FREE continental breakfast every day and provide FREE pizza catered from an authentic local Italian restaurant 6 nights a week! FREE adventurous daytime activities are offered everyday including: surf trips, sailing, snorkeling, hiking, picnics, yoga beach trips and more! Limited spaces are available with our daytime activities. Our social night time activities makes our hostel one of the best in San Diego! Our variety of dorms and private guest rooms are designed with the latest bunk beds, allowing travelers to enjoy a cozy nights sleep at an affordable price. The unique design of our historic victorian building allows guests to have numerous outdoor sitting areas in addition to multiple social areas inside. Our goal is to provide travelers with the complete experience of seeing San Diego while making friends with other travelers from all over the world. Our guests have access to the use of iPads to surf the web and contact their friends on Skype. Our social activities give our travelers the best insights to San Diego including pub crawls, poker night, sports games, walking tours, creative workshops, taco Tuesdays, social olympics and more! Please note that guests staying with us must be over 18 years old and carry an international passport or reside outside of San Diego County. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your ITH Adventure Hostel San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing