We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
ITH Adventure Hostel San Diego
Nearby Hotels
US$115
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Mission Bay(San Diego)(Great Value!)
US$123
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$512
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Blue Sea Beach Hotel(San Diego)(Great Value!)
US$242
US$236
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa(La Jolla)(Great Value!)
US$198
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines(La Jolla)(Great Value!)
US$264
US$226
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$276
US$220
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$320
US$206
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Room Service
The Sofia Hotel(San Diego)(Great Value!)
US$320
US$310
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Dana on Mission Bay(San Diego)(Great Value!)
US$212
US$126
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (180)
Filter reviews
180 results
Traveller rating
129
35
4
9
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
129
35
4
9
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree breakfast and dinnerfree activitiesthe main housemeet fellow travelersbed dormother guestscommon areasgaslamp quarterlocation is greatbars and restaurantsper daypacific beachtijuanabackpackersdowntownuberharbour
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
129 - 134 of 180 reviews
Reviewed 9 August 2013

It is certainly one of my best hostel stay in US and I had a great time staying there. There is free wifi, Ipad available beside the "reception" area where you can use it anytime at your leisure. The rooms was clean, conducive and that the place is painted with lively colors and design. The restroom was kept clean as the staff has been really hardworking and committed to keeping it clean and dry.

The place is near to Little Italy where they have buildings, gourmet and cultures of Italy. It is conveniently located near to Amtrak station, Trolley and within walking distance to places like Gaslamp quarter, stadiums where you could watch baseball matches, etc.

The biggest advantage and plus point for the place is that breakfast and dinner are provided at no additional charges. Also, they have private vehicle services available, where you pay a really affordable rate and get to tour and visit the various place in San Diego such as the Zoo, La Jolla Beach, etc. The staff there is definitely helpful and approachable, who you can always just drop by the counter and enquire almost anything and they will be there to help. An interesting part of the hostel is also that they have daily activities planned for residents and that you can join them at a minimum charge or for free (depending on what it is) and that the programs are different for 7 days a week.

It has really been a great and pleasure stay and I would definitely recommend my friends to stay there.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YvonneTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Internati0nalTravelr, Manager at ITH Adventure Hostel San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Thanks a million for your amazing review! We are working hard every day to provide you with wifi and ipads to stay in touch with friends. The staff are constantly cleaning and coming up with new ideas for art, entertainment, and activities. We are so blessed to be close to Little Italy, public transportation, and some other amazing attractions in downtown San Diego. I'm glad you got to experience them! Our free breakfast and dinner is always a favorite and we are happy to see the trend continuing! And now, our adventure activities are free for all guests. Come snorkel, surf, snowboard, sail, and celebrate with us...all for free!!!
Come back soon!

-Danger Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

I stayed for 2 nights and was very impressed by the friendliness of the staff and how outgoing they were. Many them are travelers staying for a few weeks or months and so it is easy to meet people and there are activities on every day and night - especially good for a solo traveler. It is fairly laid back and relaxing, yet there are plenty of activities such as the beach easily accessible.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlexanderDewar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Internati0nalTravelr, Manager at ITH Adventure Hostel San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Thank you for staying with us! I'm so happy to hear that you loved our staff. We thrive on spreading peace through knowledge of culture and having a diverse staff can help so much! Our daytime adventure activities are free for all guests so please come back and experience something with us!

-Danger Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013 via mobile

One of the best hostels I have ever stayed at. Hostel was very clean, great location and atmosphere. The staff were so friendly! Free breakfast and dinner included was amazing. I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kathryn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Internati0nalTravelr, Owner at ITH Adventure Hostel San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2013

Thanks for staying with us! Glad to hear you enjoyed our free meals and appreciated our staff! We would be happy to have you stay with us again anytime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2013

I love love love love love this hostel!!! I had the best time here in San Diego! The hostel is in little italy, a great cosy part of town. Everyone at the hostel are so freindly and nice. San Diego is the kind of city where everything is spread out over a large area and it's hard to get around with public transpertaion, but the hostel arrange so many great activities and take you out to all the places worth seeing! I had so much fun here with Neil and Steve and was tought to surf by the best teatcher Eric! I am coming back!!! Very soon!

Room Tip: Sorry, no swimming pool or fitness center, but I can change it :-/
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Internati0nalTravelr, Owner at ITH Adventure Hostel San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2013

Thanks for joining us on your trip at the International Travelers House! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our activities and appreciated Eric's skills on the surf board!

It is also great to hear that you were able to explore Little Italy and appreciate the beautiful neighborhood we are in! We love where we are at! Come back and stay with us anytime!

Cheers,
Bobby

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a week and had a great experience!

Amazing value - breakfast and dinner included in the room price. Accommodated our vegetarian meal requests each night which was great! Food is simple - lasagna, pizza, rice and beans, always a big salad. Breakfast was almost always pancakes, and you can make your own oatmeal.

The bathrooms and showers were INCREDIBLY clean, and excellent ratio for the number of guests. Never had to wait in line.

The rooms are clean and spacious (except the discount room which is small). Thoughtful extras make the stay extra comfortable: each bunk has a plug and a shelf, new sheets, pillows and duvets. Rooms cleaned daily.

The only thing I would warn you about is that it does get noisy and there is a late quiet time (midnight). The people are so nice there though, that even if you aren't a partier you may find that you're up late hanging out til then anyway!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Danielle12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Internati0nalTravelr, Owner at ITH Adventure Hostel San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2013

Thanks for kind words about our Travelers House! Our volunteer team works very hard at keeping the house and especially the bathrooms clean for our guests!

We will also keep in mind the after hours noise level in our social garden. Our goal is to provide a great time for our guests yet more importantly a comfortable place to sleep while the travelers are on the road! See ya next time!

Cheers,
Bobby

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews