We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
ITH Adventure Hostel San Diego
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
La Pensione(San Diego)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Occidental(San Diego)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (179)
Filter reviews
179 results
Traveller rating
128
35
4
9
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
128
35
4
9
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree breakfast and dinnerfree activitiesthe main housemeet fellow travelersbed dormother guestscommon areasgaslamp quarterlocation is greatbars and restaurantsper daypacific beachtijuanabackpackersdowntownuberharbour
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
119 - 124 of 179 reviews
Reviewed 28 November 2013

A great hostel, with welcoming staff. Every inch is filled with colors, laughter and new friends. The free wifi is nice, but there is also a comon room with a TV. The food was really nice. I got to taste bresilian food for diner aswell as pancakes for breakfast. There are lockers to keep personal ithems safe, but rooms also have shelves to put stuff away. Every think is clean and open 24/7. If you want to meet new people and have a good time this hostel is THE place to go!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BackpackerCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Internati0nalTravelr, Owner at ITH Adventure Hostel San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Hey BackpackerCA,

Great to hear you had some much fun with us! We enjoy taking in travelers and showing them a great time as if they were family! Our homey hostel is designed for travelers to meet other travelers from around the world and take advantage of our free food and free activities!

We hope to see you next time you make it down to SD!

P.S. Great username on Trip Advisor ! :)

Cheers,
Bobby

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Me and my 2 friends went there last weekend for birthday celebrations.

It was SPECTACULAR!! Really the best hostel I’ve stayed and one of the most awesome trips I’ve ever had!

Just entering the door, u can see that the atmosphere over there is super friendly, the staff was GREAT!! All of them!

The hostel is in a really good situation, near little Italy. You can go walking everywhere!
They offer free, yes, FREE Breakfast and dinner, and it’s really good! The cook’s did an awesome job!

Everything is clean, bathroom really clean, kitchen too, rooms...

They have a LOT of activities to do, pub crawls, club night, picnic at balboa park, trip to Tijuana...

We went to Tijuana, we went with Ben, GREAT guide and BEST person!! And I don’t have words to describe how beautiful and funny was the trip.

Guys if you are going to San Diego, this is your Hostel! We were lucky that we found excellent travelers and we all enjoy and amazing weekend.

I will go back FOR SURE!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AdrianCastr0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Internati0nalTravelr, Owner at ITH Adventure Hostel San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Hi AdrianCastr0,

Awesome to hear you had such a great time at our hostel and enjoyed our friendly environment! TJ is always awesome adventure!

We look forward to having you back with us in the future so we can take you sailing and show you some other awesome things to do in San Diego!!

Cheers,
Bobby

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

I absolutely loved this place. The staff is super friendly and extremely helpful. The house is awesome and very clean. Great common room/tv room, free wifi throughout, two ipads in the lobby for free use as well; kitchen is nice too. Loved little touches like an outlet and shelf in every bunk. Lockers in the dining area to lock small valuable. Free breakfast and dinner every day as well as free day and evening activities.
Walking distance to the city. I think it took me like 15 minutes to walk to the gas lamp area.
This place is a really great environment for socializing and meeting other travellers. I wish every place was like this! I had the greatest time meeting and hanging out with everyone that was staying there, felt very homey.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vintagekicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Internati0nalTravelr, Owner at ITH Adventure Hostel San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Hi Vintagekicks,

Thanks for the great words about our hostel! It is flattering to hear how much fun you had! Everyone at the hostel works hard to make sure it is a great place to stay!

We will continue to keep it up and add more unique and special features to our hostel so it remains a special place to stay in San Diego!

Cheers,
Bobby

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

I stayed here for 4 nights while in town for a conference - moved into a hotel for the conference. This was a great hostel, very friendly, clean and open 24/7. My amtrak train was late so arriving at 3.30 am was no problem. Trips and activities offered, breakfast and dinner included in price, towels available, small space outside, and pretty central around 20 mins to down town and Amtrak station. This hostel is just over 2 floors and is small - which helps make it friendly.Mostly young people, but some older people there when I stayed - me being one of them. I would highly recommend especially for young people and fine for any age.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aftjae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Internati0nalTravelr, Owner at ITH Adventure Hostel San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Hi Aftjae,

Thanks for staying with us and we pleased to hear you liked our hostel! We are always glad to have business travelers stay with us! Our convenient location near the convention center definitely brings in many business travelers!

We look forward to seeing you next time you are in San Diego!!

Cheers,
Bobby

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

PROS
Room:
-Bedside shelf and a plug next to all the beds
- Full length mirror
-Felt like my things were safe

Generally:
-Free breakfast and dinner, although sometimes it was a bit odd!
-Full use of kitchen
-Lots of info and organised trips and free activites( learn to surf, taco tuesday, bar crawl etc)
-Nice, cool, young vibe and themed rooms
-Fast wifi
-Outdoor space out the front to smoke, eat, drink, chill.
-Cool comfy louge type area with tv, guitars, a banjo and of course Ron Burgandy
-Good location and good to transport links
-If you're travelling alone its a great opportunity to meet people.

CONS
Room:
-Hard beds, a pillow as flat as a pancake, not much space, noisy from traffic, bin men, and the planes going over.
-Myself and my fellow traveller had awful sleeps there
-No lockers in the rooms. There are small ones available for valuables downstairs but for us, all our stuff is valuable!

Generally:
- Bathrooms are really not great at all. The showers filled up to your ankle with water and whatever else from the person before you thats not washed away, cause its obviously a blocked drain!
-Only one bathroom upstairs between 12 people
-Upstairs bathroom hairdryer didn't work
- One of the toilets downstairs didn't have a working light
- If you're not travelling light, beware of the steep narrow stairs!

Quite honestly, we couldnt wait to leave! Sorry International Travellers house- the staff were lovely but the stay wasn't!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alyyson89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Internati0nalTravelr, Owner at ITH Adventure Hostel San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Hi Alyyson89,

Thanks for staying with us. We do appreciate your comments and have already began working on the improvements to the hostel! :)

We have added new fluffy pillows to all the beds, and we do have free ear plugs for our guests that can mute the noise. We do encourage our guests to come down and let us know if there is an issue with the noise because we do have many rooms at our hostel and some are less noisy. We are currently designed custom lockers in the rooms so that guests can have additional lockers to store their stuff.

Our bathroom upstairs was recently remodeled and we designed it as a luxurious tiled private bathroom. We do have the communal bathroom downstairs with multiple showers are restrooms that are designed for everyones usage. The shower pressure was a little high in the upstairs bathroom so we have adjusted it to the perfect pressure for our guests. All lights have been replaced in the hostel and we encourage you to use the handrail when you are coming down the stairs.

Again thanks for staying with us and it is great to hear your feedback because now we can make the improvements for our next guests! :)

Cheers,
Bobby

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews