We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Legendary!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
ITH Adventure Hostel San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Authentic and homely with the most genuinely friendly staff. Uncountable possibilities of getting to know the other guests through several free of charge daily events. Great value, even breakfast and dinner included. THE place to stay in San Diego.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jomzen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bobby D, Manager at ITH Adventure Hostel San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2014

Hello. Thank you for your kind words! We are glad that you enjoy your ITH experience! You are always welcome to come back any time. It was a pleasure to meet you. Hope see you again in our place.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (178)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

115 - 121 of 178 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2014

I can't speak highly enough about ITH and have been telling people on my travels about it since I left. The hostel feels like home, with friendly staff and guests, great free daily and evening activities, giving everyone a chance to get to know each other, with free breakfast and dinner each day. If you're anything like me, you'll be wondering what the catch is.. but there isn't one, the owners just know what makes a hostel work and they want their guests to have a great time. My friend and I loved it so much, we changed our trip to go back there for another week and hated leaving when we had to. In terms of location, it's in Little Italy, surrounded by bars and restaurants and a short walk to downtown or Balboa park. The hostel is clean, good wifi throughout (with ipads to use for free if you need them), comfy beds and the rooms are secure. Overall just a brilliant hostel and one you should not miss if you're staying in San Diego!

Room Tip: 6 bed dorms have lots of space, the 4 beds can be a little small. Room 1 (6 bed downstairs) is near...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laura D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bobby D, Manager at ITH Adventure Hostel San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2014

Hello. Thank you for your kind words! We are glad that you enjoy your ITH experience! You are always welcome to come back any time. It was a pleasure to meet you. Hope see you again in our place.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013 via mobile

This is the best place to stay in SD, especially if you are traveling on your own. Instant friend, instant fun and it's so safe! I made lifelong friends here,and had amazing experiences here at ITH. Everyone is so nice and helpful and all the staff truely love working here which makes your experience better. I stayed in room 4 upstairs and my bed was super compfy and clean. Breakfast and dinner are so good here, real proper food!:-) the atmosphere is warm and so much fun. The activities are all free, couldn't believe on my first day in San Diego I was on a boat Cruz and got to hang out with staff and guests!

The manager Steve is so much fun and really try's to help in anyway possible and all the other staff who are volunteers become your friends too.

I love this place, just stay here you will see why! :-)

Xxxx

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katskitcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Internati0nalTravelr, Owner at ITH Adventure Hostel San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

Hi Katskitcat,

Thanks for being so kind and staying with us! It was awesome having you join our hostel experience!! Have fun during your travels! Come back soon!! :)

Cheers,
Bobby

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013 via mobile

Excellent hostel that is serviceable in all the important areas such as comfy beds, good showers, workable kitchen, good WIFI (plus a couple of iPads). The included breakfasts and dinners were great, especially the chocolate filled pancakes.

This is a super social hostel, there are activities going on every day and night and it doesn't take long for you to make friends with the staff and the guests. Most people staying there had extended their stay longer than they expected!

Parking is alright around the hostel, there are a few free spots around if you don't mind shifting your car every so often and straight across the road is $15 for 24 hours.

Overall a keeper!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
3  Thank kilometres9345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Internati0nalTravelr, Owner at ITH Adventure Hostel San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

Hi Kilometres9345!

Thanks for staying with us! We are so glad you had such a great time at our hostel!!! Let us know next time and we will try and tell you about some additional parking spots that you may not have found that are on the street behind the hostel! There are a few secret spots!! ;)

Enjoy your travels!

Cheers,
Bobby

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

A great hostel, with welcoming staff. Every inch is filled with colors, laughter and new friends. The free wifi is nice, but there is also a comon room with a TV. The food was really nice. I got to taste bresilian food for diner aswell as pancakes for breakfast. There are lockers to keep personal ithems safe, but rooms also have shelves to put stuff away. Every think is clean and open 24/7. If you want to meet new people and have a good time this hostel is THE place to go!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BackpackerCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Internati0nalTravelr, Owner at ITH Adventure Hostel San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Hey BackpackerCA,

Great to hear you had some much fun with us! We enjoy taking in travelers and showing them a great time as if they were family! Our homey hostel is designed for travelers to meet other travelers from around the world and take advantage of our free food and free activities!

We hope to see you next time you make it down to SD!

P.S. Great username on Trip Advisor ! :)

Cheers,
Bobby

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Me and my 2 friends went there last weekend for birthday celebrations.

It was SPECTACULAR!! Really the best hostel I’ve stayed and one of the most awesome trips I’ve ever had!

Just entering the door, u can see that the atmosphere over there is super friendly, the staff was GREAT!! All of them!

The hostel is in a really good situation, near little Italy. You can go walking everywhere!
They offer free, yes, FREE Breakfast and dinner, and it’s really good! The cook’s did an awesome job!

Everything is clean, bathroom really clean, kitchen too, rooms...

They have a LOT of activities to do, pub crawls, club night, picnic at balboa park, trip to Tijuana...

We went to Tijuana, we went with Ben, GREAT guide and BEST person!! And I don’t have words to describe how beautiful and funny was the trip.

Guys if you are going to San Diego, this is your Hostel! We were lucky that we found excellent travelers and we all enjoy and amazing weekend.

I will go back FOR SURE!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AdrianCastr0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Internati0nalTravelr, Owner at ITH Adventure Hostel San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Hi AdrianCastr0,

Awesome to hear you had such a great time at our hostel and enjoyed our friendly environment! TJ is always awesome adventure!

We look forward to having you back with us in the future so we can take you sailing and show you some other awesome things to do in San Diego!!

Cheers,
Bobby

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

I absolutely loved this place. The staff is super friendly and extremely helpful. The house is awesome and very clean. Great common room/tv room, free wifi throughout, two ipads in the lobby for free use as well; kitchen is nice too. Loved little touches like an outlet and shelf in every bunk. Lockers in the dining area to lock small valuable. Free breakfast and dinner every day as well as free day and evening activities.
Walking distance to the city. I think it took me like 15 minutes to walk to the gas lamp area.
This place is a really great environment for socializing and meeting other travellers. I wish every place was like this! I had the greatest time meeting and hanging out with everyone that was staying there, felt very homey.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vintagekicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Internati0nalTravelr, Owner at ITH Adventure Hostel San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Hi Vintagekicks,

Thanks for the great words about our hostel! It is flattering to hear how much fun you had! Everyone at the hostel works hard to make sure it is a great place to stay!

We will continue to keep it up and add more unique and special features to our hostel so it remains a special place to stay in San Diego!

Cheers,
Bobby

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn San Diego
Kings Inn San Diego
#26 of 286 in San Diego
2,354 reviews
Downtown
Urban Boutique Hotel
Urban Boutique Hotel
#56 of 286 in San Diego
743 reviews
Ocean Beach
USA Hostels Ocean Beach
USA Hostels Ocean Beach
#1 of 66 in San Diego
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Lucky D's Hostel
Lucky D's Hostel
#4 of 66 in San Diego
685 reviews
Downtown
USA Hostels San Diego
USA Hostels San Diego
#2 of 66 in San Diego
669 reviews
ITH Zoo Hostel San Diego
#3 of 66 in San Diego
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ITH Adventure Hostel San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ITH Adventure Hostel San Diego

Address: 1658 Front St, San Diego, CA 92101-2920
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , Little Italy
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 66 Speciality Lodging in San Diego
Price Range: £8 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — ITH Adventure Hostel San Diego 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Awarded the 2014 & 2015 Certificate of Excellence by Trip Advisor for being the Top Rated Accommodation in San Diego! We are ideally located in Downtown near San Diego Bay and we offer FREE continental breakfast every day and provide FREE pizza catered from an authentic local Italian restaurant 6 nights a week! FREE adventurous daytime activities are offered everyday including: surf trips, sailing, snorkeling, hiking, picnics, yoga beach trips and more! Limited spaces are available with our daytime activities. Our social night time activities makes our hostel one of the best in San Diego! Our variety of dorms and private guest rooms are designed with the latest bunk beds, allowing travelers to enjoy a cozy nights sleep at an affordable price. The unique design of our historic victorian building allows guests to have numerous outdoor sitting areas in addition to multiple social areas inside. Our goal is to provide travelers with the complete experience of seeing San Diego while making friends with other travelers from all over the world. Our guests have access to the use of iPads to surf the web and contact their friends on Skype. Our social activities give our travelers the best insights to San Diego including pub crawls, poker night, sports games, walking tours, creative workshops, taco Tuesdays, social olympics and more! Please note that guests staying with us must be over 18 years old and carry an international passport or reside outside of San Diego County. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your ITH Adventure Hostel San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing