We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super Salad” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tiki Taka Grill - CLOSED

Tiki Taka Grill
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Israeli
Restaurant details
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
118 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Super Salad”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2013

Three weeks ago, we walked into Tiki Taka. The staff was very pleasant and took their time to explain the menu. We ordered chicken for one course, and a second main course with all the salad side orders. I really enjoyed all the 6-7 side dishes which included 3 types of eggplant, hummus, 2 types of peppers, chopped liver, olive tapenade etc. They are always refilling the large zatar flat bread. Needless to say, we were stuffed and really pleased.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Marshmallowman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

7 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    2
    1
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
73 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Yummy mid eastern fare”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013

We ate at Tiki Taka Grill on St Patrick's Day 2013. We are vegetarians and the vegetarian selection was superb. When we sat down, the server gave us a sample of various Israeli style side salads, together with laffa bread. We ordered babaganouch (eggplant salad) and falafal. Both dishes were super. What was also super was the friendly and accommodating service. I strongly recommend this establishment.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ottawan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
155 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“NOT PAYING THEIR SUPPLIERS”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2013

Be careful with your food because it might not be fresh.
They used to have an excellent name and excellent food. Now they are constantly loosing their excellent service waitresses and some of their suppliers because they are not paying them on time.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JMareyna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
67 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Wonderful food - the fresh flatbread is awesome!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2012

This place has authentic Israeli-style grilled meats, salads (eggplant, cabbage...), and amazing flatbreads (laffa and pita) that are grilled fresh in view at the front of the restaurant. The staff was great. I felt like I was in Tel Aviv. The location is right in the center of Hillcrest, and we easily found parking in the lot. My only suggestion is that they get a sun shade of some sort for the front windows when the sun is coming from that direction. It was too hot to sit there. When a table in the back, away from the direct sun, came open, the staff very nicely helped us move. But, better if they could shade it somehow. We'll definitely be going back!!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MarySanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
135 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Wonderful authentic Mediterranean cuisine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2012

We were thrilled to try this new Mediterranean style restaurant. The salads are absolutely delcious served with wonderful hot flat bread. There are a wide variety of salads that they bring in little tasting bowls.

We also had the lamb skewers and really liked those as well.

We would highly recommend this casual eatery.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kjzrsz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tiki Taka Grill also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing