We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Impromptu visit pays off”

Vinavanti Urban Winery
Ranked #197 of 426 things to do in San Diego
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: We produce local wine at it's purest. Open 7 days a week in Hillcrest San Diego, we invite you to taste wine that is locally sourced and naturally made in our urban facility. Our wines are unfiltered, never sulfited, and naturally beautiful. Our menu includes wines by the flight, glass, or bottle, local beers, house cocktails, guest wines, and shared plate small bites. Vinavanti is the first and only certified organic winery in San Diego.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase
Murrieta, California
1 review
“Impromptu visit pays off”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

My husband and I visited Vinavanti after reading the great reviews here and we were not disappointed! Their black label Syrah was amazing as was their house blend. Clara gave us a great description of how they made their wines and the backstory behind the company. Very intimate setting and low key atmosphere, not having to fight a large crowd as you do at larger wineries made this experience refreshing. We will definitely be back!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Boracha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    3
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Recife, PE
1 review
“True quality wine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013

If you want a real wine experience that is without the bells and whistles, but real quality, this is the place! My husband is French and is quite critical. We have visited several wineries and know wine from around the world. It was such a pleasure to find a place that is about quality rather than fancy extras. We just like good wine, and we found it here. Plus, drinking organic wine without sulfites, no chemicals, is an added bonus. If you enjoy an unassuming location, with warm and excellent hospitality, you have got to come here. Not only will you get to taste excellent wines, that come from local grape farmers, and are pure and natural, but you can get great tips on cooking to accompany the wines. This is the place to try (and come back to)!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tali K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing Ingenuity, Great Wine!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2013

I was blown away from the moment I arrived at Vinavanti!! I have visited some of the best vineyards in South Africa and I couldn't imagine a winery in a space the size of a storage locker - but Vinavanti Urban Winery and Tasting Room is the coolest thing!

The Winemaker Eric and his Partner Clara have really broken all the 'rules' and have turned wine making and wine tasting into a whole new experience. I learned (and tasted) that stainless steel and fancy-food grade plastic tanks create a clean, natural wine that reflects all the wonderful flavors & characteristics of the original grapes, with no added sulfites, native yeast, or chemicals - grapes that they buy from local vineyards and hand sort in a type of 'harvest party' that I wish I could be in town for next season - contributing even more to the local economy than just a relaxing, tasty glass of wine!

To top it all off you can take home their house red & house white wine in refillable "Litros" - bottles that have those cool flip-top caps on them like the old fashioned milk jugs and jars have - they are cool to show off to your friends and are environmentally friendly as well!

Visit Vinavanti, support this exciting new trend of "urban wineries' and this winery in particular, you'll enjoy the experience.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank lenders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Urban Winery, Personible Winemaker, Interesting Organic Wine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2013

We arrived early for our lunch reservation at Wine Seller Restaurant and were amazed to find a winery had taken up residence along with the wine shop on the lower level. We met with the winemaker, Eric Van Drunen who walked us through the tasting and explained where each tasting grape was bought, how it was processed and the process involved to get to bottling production. We were amazed that a bunch of their varietals were unfiltered, unoaked and contained no sulfites and tasted well. We have been to many wineries in many countries and the personal approach was appreciated and we really enjoyed our visit for that reason. We would highly recommend a visit before your meal at Wine Seller or as a separate visit to just the tasting room. They are open on Fridays and Saturdays.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank drkevin030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Vinavanti Urban Winery also viewed

 

Been to Vinavanti Urban Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing