We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“really international house”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
ITH Zoo Hostel San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
San Diego, California
2 reviews
“really international house”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

if you are going to SD, so this is where you should stay,i have been there over than 6 months and i had the most fun experience,meeting people from every where, and we become like one family.
staff was super amazing, The manger Meg and Rachel do everything to satisfy us, plus the amazing activities that been held every night, the bus party also every week, bonfire, beach , free breakfast every day and and free dinner 4 days a week.
clean place,location is amazing near downtown and few steps to balboa park,.
my advice go there and you will never regret it ,this place is awesomeee ;)

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiroisaac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bobby D, Manager at ITH Zoo Hostel San Diego, responded to this review, 31 January 2016
Hey Kiro,

It was a pleasure to host you here at the ITH Zoo Hostel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay so much. Come back anytime for some more fun !

ITH Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    7
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
4
1
109
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 4 July 2014

I stayed here for 6 weeks. I did a clerkship as a senior medical student at UCSD. This place is awesome for students: cheap, beautiful, clean, the ambient is great, you meet people for all around the world, the food is always great and it's made by the international staff so you can have a taste of different cultures, you can perfectly choose between partying and studying, it's up to you! As a long term resident you will become part of an awesome family.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GUIRO89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bobby D, Manager at ITH Zoo Hostel San Diego, responded to this review, 31 January 2016
Hello !

Thank you for your kind words. We are glad you found a family away from family here. Hope you have safe travels.

ITH Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I have stayed at ITHHOSTELS hostel for 3 months before I move to an apartment. It was one of the the best time I have spent in the US. The management, the staff, the location and the activities were amazing and useful. I have met great people and I still in touch with many friends who were living with me in this hostel. I totally recommend the people to stay in it even for couple of days because it's really enjoyable and fun to feel living around lovely nd awesome people. Specially my favorite person in the hostel Racheal (the princess) & Meg (the manger).

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZozoElo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bobby D, Manager at ITH Zoo Hostel San Diego, responded to this review, 31 January 2016
Thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed our free meals and activities as well as our great staff. Come back anytime !

ITH Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasilia, DF
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I spent six months in SD, from September 2013 to February 2014, with the International Travelers House (ITH) family... The most amazing time that I've ever had !!! Highly recommended !!!!
miss ya guys,
all the best,
Fernando

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fernando J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bobby D, Manager at ITH Zoo Hostel San Diego, responded to this review, 31 January 2016
Hey Fernando,

Thank you for your kind words, we are glad you enjoyed your stay so much !

ITH Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
World
Level Contributor
113 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

the room is VERY noisy -- right next to street.

the social aspect is good - good international ambiance and chance to meet nice people.

beware of the steep san diego room tax surprise which is not stated during the reservation and not included as part of TOTAL but hits your card.

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank worldtraveler2392123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We had a really nice stay in April 2014 here. The hostel is a bit hard to find b/c only the entrance is visible on street level (and at the time not visible in Google StreetMap) but the hostel goes all the way back on the first floor. For a hostel and the cheap rates it was fairly clean and rooms/beds/bathroom/kitchen were also okay. The room doors were a bit thin, so you might pick up some noise from the hallway.

Finally for me there was nothing to complain about but please keep in mind: It's a reasonable hostel (and not the Four Seasons).

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rete P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bobby D, Manager at ITH Zoo Hostel San Diego, responded to this review, 31 January 2016
Hey,

Thank you for your review, it is true that we are not a Four Seasons, but we believe that it is what makes us more like a home away from home. We also improved our quiet hour rules, which could solve the noise problem due to the thin doors. You are welcome back anytime !

ITH Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Brilliant hostel. Fantastic location and very quiet rooms. Helpful and friendly staff. Bagels for breakfast was a great start to the day! Reliable wifi access all around the hostel and a library for some quiet time!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bobby D, Manager at ITH Zoo Hostel San Diego, responded to this review, 31 January 2016
Hey Jason,

Thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your time here with our great staff. Come back anytime!

ITH Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn San Diego
Kings Inn San Diego
#35 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town Inn
#21 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,821 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Hampton Inn San Diego/Mission Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ITH Zoo Hostel San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ITH Zoo Hostel San Diego

Property: ITH Zoo Hostel San Diego
Address: 3751 6th Ave, San Diego, CA 92103-4337
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 63 Speciality Lodging in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — ITH Zoo Hostel San Diego 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the International Travelers House Zoo Hostel. Your destination if you are looking for the best experience and most comfortable rooms during your holidays in San Diego! We offer FREE continental breakfast and provide FREE pizza catered from an authentic local Italian restaurant for dinner 6 nights a week!! FREE daytime adventurous activities are offered daily including: surf trips, sailing, snorkeling, hiking, picnics, beach trips and more! Our night time activities show guests the local sides of the city and are designed to allow travelers to meet others and have fun! We are the closest hostel to the San Diego Zoo! Multiple male and female restrooms allows our guests to always have access to a hot shower! Our huge social lounge is equipped with a billiards table, art chalk walls, iPads, TV, Games, and plenty space for relaxing! The unique design of our zoo themed building provides guests with plenty of space for meeting people in our variety of common areas. FREE Internet is provided to all guests as well as having access to iPads! Our goal is to show you the ultimate experience and best time during your holidays. With this in mind we guide our guests on a variety or daytime adventures including: Surfing Trips, Beach Trips, FREE Sailing Tours, Nature Walks, Snorkeling Excursions, Local Happy Hours, Sightseeing Tours, Tijuana, Mexico Tours, Waterfall Hikes, Brewery Tours and More!Once the sun falls and the nighttime is here, we take our guests on the best social activities including: Pub Crawls, Club Nights, Local Restaurant Tours, Wine Tastings, Art Nights, Game Nights, Movie Nights and more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, HostelWorld, Agoda and Hotel.de so you can book your ITH Zoo Hostel San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing