We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very good dining experience in the Del Mar area”

Sammy's Woodfired Pizza & Grill - Del Mar
Ranked #911 of 4,764 Restaurants in San Diego
Cuisines: Pizza
Restaurant details
Del Mar, California
Level Contributor
603 reviews
340 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 367 helpful votes
“A very good dining experience in the Del Mar area”
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We have eaten at one other Sammy's in the San Diego area and it was very good, so we gave this one a try and were not disappointed. We had very delicious salads and some appetizers which were very good. There is a nice outdoor patio overlooking the shopping center which is very enjoyable for dining. The service was good but the food is a little pricey, however it is overall still a very good dining experience.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    21
    9
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Level Contributor
249 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“A Great Lunch”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Sammy's prepares a great salad with chicken, balsamic vinegar, walnuts, and crumbled blue cheese. This salad combined with one of their small, personal pizzas are a great lunch for two. I always have at least one lunch at Sammy's in Del Mar when I visit friends in San Diego. Be aware, they are always pretty busy, no reservations necessary, but it may take a few moments wait later In the afternoon. Oh, and watch out for the children brought by their moms while shopping. The recent remodel opened up more outside seating on comfortable San Diego days. Very good, very fresh food is Sammy's hallmark. Enjoy.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank George M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
114 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good food but very loud”
Reviewed 10 February 2014 via mobile

Went here with the family. I had the tai pizza. It was good but I have had better. The wife had the bbq chicken pizza. Also good but not great. What was great was the salads. They were fresh and good sized. I little on the high price side for me. The noise level was almost to high to talk to your neighbor. Had a good but not great meal.
The

Helpful?
Thank Dfettner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
78 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“The duck tacos are the greatest”
Reviewed 27 November 2013

I regularly have gone here for dinner with kids. Great individual pizzas and the duck tacos are to die for. Can be a line but it moves fast and worth the wait

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kiddosmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
Level Contributor
68 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nice place, good food, service a little slow for my liking”
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We visited Sammy's and sat on the outside patio which is nice with heaters for the cool evenings in San Diego. Food was good, service was a little slow.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BDBoomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sammy's Woodfired Pizza & Grill - Del Mar also viewed

 

Been to Sammy's Woodfired Pizza & Grill - Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing