We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New and improving”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn San Diego Del Mar
Ranked #90 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Marlton, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“New and improving”
Reviewed 26 October 2013 via mobile

Our greeting was friendly and welcoming. The General Manager also came out, greeted us and told us about the addition of happy hour on Thursday nights, with beer, wine and finger foods. The room was clean, comfortable and quiet. Breakfast in the morning was plentiful and a nice selection, usually it is a continental, but this also included eggs. Didn't get to use the pool, but it looked nice. We would recommend and stay here again.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank imthimy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casey G, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Del Mar, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Dear Imthimy1,

Thank for you your recent stay with us. It's great to hear that you enjoyed our additional Thursday night social experience and the hot breakfast we serve daily. We appreciate the positive feedback and hope to host you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Casey Grieme
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    47
    16
    2
    1
See reviews for
82
38
13
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Springville, Utah
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We were able to check in early and were able to stay next to our son and family. The rooms were new very comfortable. We spent just one night and was offered to take late check out, but didn't have the time. The breakfast was also nice. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blaine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiyomi C, Director of Sales at Residence Inn San Diego Del Mar, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Hello Blaine L,

Thank you for choosing the brand-new Residence Inn Del Mar for your visit to Sea World! I'm glad we were able to provide rooms close to your son and his family so you could maximize your time spent with each other while in San Diego. Next time you're in town, we look forward to seeing you and your family again! Since you've already been to SeaWorld, you'll have to go to our world-famous San Diego Zoo on your next visit! :)

Safe travels!

-Kiyomi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 17 October 2013 via mobile

Hotel is pretty nice. I believe it just opened up a few months back so everything is new and in good condition. Staff was friendly. Only stayed the weekend in a single room suite. A little small but not terrible.
Had a kitchen, fridge, dishwasher and microwave.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cmendez007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiyomi C, Director of Sales at Residence Inn San Diego Del Mar, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Hi Cmendez007,

Thank you for your review! You're right- we're brand new and opened in July :). I'm glad you enjoyed your suite and fully equipped kitchen.

We look forward to taking care of you on your next visit to San Diego!

Warm regards,

-Kiyomi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chino Hills, California
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Stayed here with the wife one night on Columbus day weekend. Have stayed at many RI's before and can say this certainly was an appealing hotel. As other reviews have stated, the hotel is fairly new and still looks spotless. Room was identical to the pix with room and furnishings in great condition. Lots of lighting fixtures available in the room to suit different tastes. Bathroom had enlarged shower stall and no tub. Sink is locate outside the shower and toilet room. Didn't notice any outside noise. Did notice some footsteps from upstairs room but not anything unusual for hotels. Breakfast was ok and typical of other RI's. Secured parking below hotel was a nice feature. Need to check in first to get the room key that opens the gate to the garage. Best of all, discerning wife had no issues with hotel!

Nearby malls had plenty of restaurants. Just ask front desk for advice.
I would highly recommend this hotel for those who are familiar and prefer RI's.

Room Tip: Higher floor to eliminate any chance of an occupied room above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiyomi C, Director of Sales at Residence Inn San Diego Del Mar, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Hi Ceetom1,

Thank you for taking a moment to submit a review for us. It sounds like you and your wife enjoyed your time at the hotel and that's what we love to hear! You've also shared great tidbits of information for future guests- thank you!

Safe travels!

-Kiyomi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

My family and I are at the conclusion of a long and very commodious eight-day stay at this nearly new Residence Inn San Diego Del Mar. The hotel just opened in mid-summer and it's a state-of-the-art accommodation. The complimentary breakfast is quite lavish, the business center is well equipped, the underground parking is free to guests, and there's a convenient guest laundry room downstairs. Best of all, the fitness center--with all new equipment--is open 24/7. Also terrific (and I pointed this out to Casey, the general manager), the hotel is sparkling clean. One reason is that Jackie Japrus, of the housekeeping staff, does an extraordinary job and has a wonderfully upbeat demeanor!

Moreover, the rooms in this Residence Inn, are fully equipped for a lengthy stay--including such amenities as a full size refrigerator, a range top, dishwasher and an entire complement of dishware. All in all this is a great new hotel for beautiful Del Mar!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EJMartin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casey G, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Del Mar, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Dear EJMartin 1,

Thank you so much for the kind words and your recent stay with us! Your feedback is music to my ears and I love to share these comments with the staff during our daily huddles. We hope to host you and the family again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Casey Grieme
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medford, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Huge rooms, spotless ly clean and modern, free Internet and parking, and a wonderful hot breakfast. The conference I was attending was directly across the street at the Marriott, which was full. My good fortune! The Residence Inn was half the price with more benefits. You cannot do any better than this great hotel in the Del Mar area!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casey G, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Del Mar, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
Dear David F,

Thanks for checking us out! We are a brand new hotel that just opened up in July 2013. I hope that your feedback will encourage other future travelers to the area to come try us out as well. Myself and the Staff hope to accomodate you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Casey Grieme
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Shields, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 October 2013

This was my first trip to San Diego and here for 2 weeks for Business. Hotel location is excellent for all directions and only 20 minutes drive away from the airport which is perfect after a long flight.

I was welcomed by Sara at the desk who did a great job telling me about the hotel and facilities and checked me in quickly with no problems. Parking is under the hotel which is great for both security and keeping your car cool in the hot California sun.

Room was perfect and had all the facilities I needed for my 2 weeks here. Kitchen is more than adequate to cook a great meal if you fancy a quiet night in. Shopping service on site or local supermarket less than 5 minutes drive away.

All the staff I came into contact with were really helpful and nothing was ever a problem. Sara & Matt on front desk were excellent and Rhonda who looks after you at the bar during social hour on a Monday through Thursday where the hotel offer free food/snacks and drinks.

This a pretty new hotel and normally when I have stayed at new places there are a few teething problems that you have to deal with but no such problems encountered here. The Manager Casey was also keen to ask for any constructive feedback on my experience while staying here which I thought was a great touch. My feedback to Casey and the team would be great hotel with first class service and I will be making sure that my company uses this hotel moving forward!

Chris

Room Tip: I would recommend choosing a 1 bedroom suite when staying. Feels like home from home.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casey G, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Del Mar, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Dear Chris H,

It was a great pleasure to meet you while visiting here for business. I was happy to read your review and know that your extended stay with us was productive and enjoyable. We look forward to hosting you again and perhaps several of your colleagues in the near future.

Sincerely,

Casey Grieme
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Diego
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn San Diego/Del Mar
Hampton Inn San Diego/Del Mar
#66 of 278 in San Diego
727 reviews
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton San Diego - Del Mar
0.1 mi away
San Diego Marriott Del Mar
San Diego Marriott Del Mar
#95 of 278 in San Diego
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel Indigo San Diego Del Mar
3.1 mi away
Hilton San Diego/Del Mar
1.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn San Diego Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn San Diego Del Mar

Property: Residence Inn San Diego Del Mar
Address: 3525 Valley Centre Dr, San Diego, CA 92130-3302
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn San Diego Del Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set a pace that suits you at one of the leading hotels in San Diego Del Mar, Residence Inn San Diego Del Mar. Centrally located in the Del Mar/Carmel Highlands area of northern San Diego, you'll thrive at our inventive hotel. For business travelers, we'll put you near the biotech and research firms in the Del Mar, Sorrento Mesa and La Jolla areas. If visiting for pleasure, you'll appreciate our San Diego Del Mar hotel's proximity to many attractions, such as SeaWorld®, San Diego Zoo, beautiful Southern California beaches and local golf courses, including the world-famous Torrey Pines Golf Course. Our extended-stay hotel in San Diego Del Mar, California, offers 118 spacious studio, one and two-bedroom suites with separate living and sleeping areas. A fully equipped kitchen and grocery delivery service come standard at our San Diego Del Mar hotel, as well as high-speed Internet. We also offer hot breakfast daily, evening social hours several nights a week, an outdoor pool and state-of-the-art fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Residence Inn San Diego Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing