We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best Residence Inn's I've stayed at”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residence Inn San Diego Del Mar
Ranked #119 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 March 2014

I have stayed at a lot of Residence Inn's over the years and around the country and this is one of the best. Everything about it was excellent from the customer service to the rooms. If you're looking for a really good hotel in this area definitely stay here.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casey G, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2014

Dear Michael D,

Thank you for your kind feedback and your patronage. As a new Residence Inn here in San Diego, we take great pride on knowing that we rank as one of the best in your book! We hope to serve you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Casey Grieme
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (218)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

165 - 171 of 218 reviews

Reviewed 5 March 2014

A major highlight of our trip to the USA in December 2013 was staying at the Residence Inn Del Mar over Christmas.
It put the other hotels we stayed at completely to shame.
The staff were lovely, beautifully appointed rooms in mini apartment style.
Breakfast was very good and the complimentry light meal and drinks on week nights created a really nice sense of community for everyone staying there.
Also its just minites away from a quality supermarket and in a very safe, clean, quality suburb.
Save yourself time and book your stay here... you will not regret it, I wished we could have been based there for our whole vacation.
All the best to staff and management at the Residence Inn Del Mar.

Regards,
Grant Sutton, New Zealand

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
Thank Grant S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casey G, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Dear Grant S,

Thank you so much for your stay with us over the holidays! I know the team really enjoyed hosting you and providing you a memorable experience while visiting our beautiful city. I also appreciate the most delicious chocolates you brought from New Zealand. Some of the best chocolate we have ever experienced. We look forward to the possibility of hosting you and the family again in the future.

Sincerely,

Casey Grieme
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

From the housekeepers to the front desk, everyone I encountered during my 2 week stay was extremely professional and very pleasant. Amber, Michelle, Liz and Miglena worked as hard as I have seen any hotel staff and contributed to a most enjoyable stay. Literally, it seemed as if nothing would be too much trouble and I witnessed each of them going out of their way to make sure the guests had what they needed.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
Thank Vivian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casey G, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Dear Vivian D,

Thank you so much for your extended stay with us! I was happy to hear that our staff took great care of you while visiting the area. Service is a big part of our culture and we love when our guest tell stories about it. It will be a great joy to read your comments to the team during our next staff meeting.

Sincerely,

Casey Grieme
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

This is a new Residence Inn that is conveniently located and very we'll managed. Customer service is superior as expected from a Marriott property. Our room was clean and very we'll appointed. From the manager to the maintenance man, their focus was the customer and making our stay memorable. The breakfast staff was helpful and very pleasant as we'll. We can not say enough about our stay at this Residence Inn. We would highly recommend it and will stay there anytime we are in the area. Thanks Casey for a great stay and for you and your staff going above and beyond.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YumanLuvz2Vacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casey G, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

Dear Yumanluvz2vacation,
Thank you so much for your recent stay with us! We are all happy you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that we can host you agian in the near future. We all work very hard to make sure our guest expeirences with us are Memorable ones. After all, our mission statement is on the basis of providing Service so Memorable.

Thank you again!

Casey Grieme
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

EVERYONE that works there is so friendly and helpful. All very easily approachable and genuine. They put a crib in our room for our 8 month old baby and checked on us to see if it was acceptable. Breakfast was great and always plentiful.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Adam O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casey G, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

Dear Adam O,

Thanks for staying with us and your acknowledgement of our staff! The team here is fantastic and I love to share these reviews with the team so they know their efforts are not going un-noticed. As a brand new hotel, it's great to have all the new bells and whistles, but our staff is what will make the biggest difference between us and the other hotels in the area! We hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Casey Grieme

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Love the free breakfast buffet that was so much more than standard marriott residence inns, scrambled eggs, potatoes, waffles, cereals, yogurt, fresh fruit. Newer hotel. Parking underground. Near Torrey Pines golf course by car 7 mins, near double tree, marriott Delmar, Hampton inn, hwy 56 and I 5, just great quiet residential safe spot north of SD. Don't come here for seaworld or zoo, those are 20 mins by car. Come for the great quiet spot near all, but far enough for sssshhhhh.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank pickyreno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiyomi C, Director of Sales at Residence Inn San Diego Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Hi pickyreno,

Thank you for your review! We're glad you enjoyed our breakfast buffet and your relaxing stay with us! Our location is just north of downtown San Diego and the airport, so it affords you to be twenty minutes from SeaWorld and the Zoo and close to other North County attractions as well, like LEGOLAND, the beaches and Del Mar Fairgrounds/Thoroughbred Club :). Any time you'd like a peaceful stay in San Diego, we look forward to welcoming you and your family back!

Safe travels!

-Kiyomi C.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We had a superb experience during our stay at the Residence Inn in Del Mar.

We stayed for three nights in December and experienced an exceptionally hospitable staff, and excellent accommodations.

The hotel provided a friendly and attentive breakfast. Staff had a fantastic attitude and seemed genuinely happy to help guests. Managers also showed a wonderful customer service attitude. I witnessed one meet and great an elderly guest as though they were family. That an employee went so far out of her way to make someone feel at home, particularly during the holidays, was such a delight to see.

The employee who checked us in at night made sure everything was perfect for us, even though it was quite late. She then did an incredible job with the evening dinner buffet service, working very hard while maintaining such a pleasant and sunny disposition.

I was particularly impressed to see superior service, even when no one else may have been around to take note.

Our family has decided to come back to San Diego again in 2014, and will make it a point to stay again at this hotel, in large part because of the excellent service from the staff.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rahul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casey G, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Dear Rahul M,

Thank you so much for checking us out while here in December. We are a new hotel that appreciates the feedback you provided. Our staff is great and I love to hear them recognized by other guest like yourself for a job well done. We appreciate your patronage and look forward to hosting you the next time you come out to Del Mar.

Sincerely,

Casey Grieme
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Diego
0 mi away
Hampton Inn San Diego/Del Mar
Hampton Inn San Diego/Del Mar
#72 of 286 in San Diego
778 reviews
0.1 mi away
San Diego Marriott Del Mar
San Diego Marriott Del Mar
#106 of 286 in San Diego
635 reviews
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton San Diego - Del Mar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Residence Inn San Diego Sorrento Mesa/Sorrento Valley
1.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar
1.8 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn San Diego Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn San Diego Del Mar

Address: 3525 Valley Centre Dr, San Diego, CA 92130-3302
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #119 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range: £100 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn San Diego Del Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set a pace that suits you at one of the leading hotels in San Diego, Residence Inn San Diego Del Mar. Centrally located in the Del Mar/Carmel Highlands area of northern San Diego, you'll thrive at our inventive hotel. For business travelers, we'll put you near the Biotech and research firms in the Del Mar, Sorrento Mesa and La Jolla areas. If visiting for pleasure, you'll appreciate our San Diego Del Mar hotel's proximity to many attractions, SeaWorld®, San Diego Zoo, beautiful Southern California beaches and local golf courses, including the world-famous Torrey Pines Golf Course. Our extended-stay hotel in San Diego Del Mar, California, offers 118 spacious studio, one and two-bedroom suites with separate living and sleeping areas. A fully equipped kitchen and grocery delivery service come standard at our Del Mar hotel, as well as high-speed Internet. We also offer hot breakfast daily, evening social hours several nights a week, an outdoor pool and state-of-the-art fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn San Diego Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing