We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Residence Inn San Diego Del Mar
Ranked #107 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Tucson, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We recently stayed at this hotel for two nights, with a late check in. Our requests for top floor were gladly accomodated by the front staff. Amber was pleasant, explained the key for access in and out of the gated garage. She also told us where the local restaurants were. The room was clean,and very comfortable. Breakfast was plentiful, and the area was always maintained and well supplied with all choices.
When in the Del Mar area, we would happily stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cara2791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiyomi C, Director of Sales at Residence Inn San Diego Del Mar, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Hi cara2791,

Thank you for your review! We're happy to hear that next time you are in Del Mar, you'll stay with us again! Hopefully you were able to try a restaurant or two that Amber recommended-if not, you'll definitely have to come back soon :).

Safe travels!

-Kiyomi C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    47
    16
    2
    2
See reviews for
83
38
13
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Englewood, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We are gold members with Marriott and almost exclusively stay at Marriott properties. We are also Vacation club members. This is one of the first times Marriott let us down. What happened!!!?? I was less than impressed with the check in desk, although when we were leaving, the front desk seemed genuinely concerned about our complaints. First off, the layout of the room is not condusive to someone sleeping on the sofa bed. You cannot close off the area where the bathroom sink is located, so the very bright light shines straight onto the sofa bed. There is no mirror in the bedroom, so you have to get ready by the bathroom sink. There is no hook in the shower/toilet area, so you end up putting your clothes on the floor when you shower. Our room was pretty noisy, even though it was 5 floors up from a busy street.-nothing you can do about that! The worse thing was the housekeeping. Towels were not changed, even though visibly dirty and just tossed on the rack. I realize we should have tossed them on the floor to be changed, but normally Marriott changes them anyway if they are visibly used. The counter was not wiped down and trash not picked up ie empty coffee cups, soap wrappers, etc. The second night we came back to the room late afternoon and towels were changed (since we put them in a pile on the floor), but nothing else was done. When I asked the front desk person (same person who checked us in), he said normally housekeeping does not return a second time. I asked if someone could go back in so he called and asked me "what did I need them to do?" I said everything, like make beds, tidy up, wipe counters, and it seemed like this was not a normal request. Apparently the housekeeper had to go to lunch so was in a hurry and simply changed the towels and did nothing else. I am not sure she/he ever meant to complete the work, but he/she did end up at least coming in and making the bed-that's about it. One last thing-why aren't they providing lotion anymore? Only shampoo and conditioner is provided, and since we always get lotion, I never bother bringing any. In short, these seem like small things, and in the bigger picture, they surely are small, but I have grown used to wonderful Marriott standards of excellent service and little extras, as well as well appointed rooms and this hotel fell short. We will need to find another Marriott property to stay at since our daughter now lives in Solana Beach, so we will be returning to north county at least a few times a year.

Room Tip: Ask them which side of the hotel is quieter. Not sure-but the ones in the back side seem pretty noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lovestobike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casey G, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Del Mar, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear Lovestobike,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and the feedback you provided me and the team. I am very sorry about the experience you and your family had with us. This is certainly not what you should expect from any type of Marriott. I would like to make sure that I have all of the necessary information to correct these mistakes, if you have a moment, would you be able to reach out to me to discuss further. I greatly appreciate your time and thank you again for your Marriott loyalty!

Sincerely,

Casey Grieme
General Manager
casey.grieme@marriott.com
(858) 461-4960
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Thank you, Rhonda, for making us feel so welcome. You were attentive, personable and made us feel as though we had known you for a long time. Your hotel was clean, comfortable and displayed a large selection of breakfast items. Thanks for making our 2 night stay so special!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bj_southwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiyomi C, Director of Sales at Residence Inn San Diego Del Mar, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Hi bj_southwest,

Thank you for recognizing Rhonda in your review!! She's an all star and leads our fantastic front office team. We couldn't agree with your comments more!

On behalf of the entire staff, thank you for choosing the Residence Inn Del Mar for your two-night stay and we hope to see you again!

Safe travels!

-Kiyomi C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Thank you for a great staff, Robert, Rhonda, Michelle, Liz? Lupe and everyone else who was so attentive and personable while I stayed for 55 days at your hotel due to relocating to San Diego. They made you feel at home and were all extremely helpful. I would recommend this hotel for anyone coming to the area for extended or short stay. You are close to everything, beach, shopping, eateries, the city.

Room Tip: pick the top floor. i had a corner room and never heard anyone except the footsteps on top of me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clare s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casey G, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Del Mar, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear Clare S,

We appreciate your recent stay with us while relocating to the great city of San Diego. I was happy to share your feedback with the team this morning during our daily huddle. Please think of us when you have friends or family visiting the area.

Sincerely,

Casey Grieme
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We stayed here for a 3 night leisure stay on award nights. This hotel has a lot of long-term residents and it's impossible to get a choice of a good room. We were stuck with a handicap studio room that had a very odd layout. The bathroom door did not close shut and can't be locked. The storage is a large cabinet that takes up valuable space in the small room. There is no cabinet or closet in the bathroom like other residence inn rooms. We enjoyed the free breakfasts and free dinners on Monday-Wednesday nights. That was a huge cost savings to not have to spend money on those meals for the family. When i first arrived on Sunday Mar 2nd to check in at about 5 pm it took about 10 minutes before someone finally showed up at the front desk to help me. That wasn't a good first impression at all since 5 pm is a typical check in time I expected someone to be there waiting for customers. We however had a fantastic experience with the front desk the next morning (Monday Mar 3rd) when the lady noticed our 2 crazy little boys and offered them a treat from the market to help make them happier. That was extremely thoughtful to offer that and helped us enjoy the rest of the day out exploring the city. I'm sorry I don't remember the employee's name but hopefully the dates will help you look up who was working and you can let them know how much we appreciated that.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ace897
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casey G, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Del Mar, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear ace897,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and providing some feedback. I apologize about your arrival experience, certainly not the first impression we would want to give our guest and it is something for us to focus on moving forward. I was happy to hear that you had a good experience with Miglena as she helped prepare your family for a fun day of sightseeing. Please reach out to me the next time your travels bring you to San Diego and you are interested in staying at our hotel.

Sincerely,

Casey Grieme
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Del Mar, California
Level 6 Contributor
611 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 370 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

I have stayed at a lot of Residence Inn's over the years and around the country and this is one of the best. Everything about it was excellent from the customer service to the rooms. If you're looking for a really good hotel in this area definitely stay here.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casey G, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Del Mar, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
Dear Michael D,

Thank you for your kind feedback and your patronage. As a new Residence Inn here in San Diego, we take great pride on knowing that we rank as one of the best in your book! We hope to serve you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Casey Grieme
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 5 March 2014 via mobile

A major highlight of our trip to the USA in December 2013 was staying at the Residence Inn Del Mar over Christmas.
It put the other hotels we stayed at completely to shame.
The staff were lovely, beautifully appointed rooms in mini apartment style.
Breakfast was very good and the complimentry light meal and drinks on week nights created a really nice sense of community for everyone staying there.
Also its just minites away from a quality supermarket and in a very safe, clean, quality suburb.
Save yourself time and book your stay here... you will not regret it, I wished we could have been based there for our whole vacation.
All the best to staff and management at the Residence Inn Del Mar.

Regards,
Grant Sutton, New Zealand

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Grant S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casey G, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Del Mar, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear Grant S,

Thank you so much for your stay with us over the holidays! I know the team really enjoyed hosting you and providing you a memorable experience while visiting our beautiful city. I also appreciate the most delicious chocolates you brought from New Zealand. Some of the best chocolate we have ever experienced. We look forward to the possibility of hosting you and the family again in the future.

Sincerely,

Casey Grieme
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Diego
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn San Diego/Del Mar
Hampton Inn San Diego/Del Mar
#66 of 278 in San Diego
733 reviews
0.1 mi away
San Diego Marriott Del Mar
San Diego Marriott Del Mar
#103 of 278 in San Diego
618 reviews
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton San Diego - Del Mar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel Indigo San Diego Del Mar
3.1 mi away
Hilton San Diego/Del Mar
1.8 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn San Diego Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn San Diego Del Mar

Property: Residence Inn San Diego Del Mar
Address: 3525 Valley Centre Dr, San Diego, CA 92130-3302
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #107 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn San Diego Del Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set a pace that suits you at one of the leading hotels in San Diego, Residence Inn San Diego Del Mar. Centrally located in the Del Mar/Carmel Highlands area of northern San Diego, you'll thrive at our inventive hotel. For business travelers, we'll put you near the Biotech and research firms in the Del Mar, Sorrento Mesa and La Jolla areas. If visiting for pleasure, you'll appreciate our San Diego Del Mar hotel's proximity to many attractions, SeaWorld®, San Diego Zoo, beautiful Southern California beaches and local golf courses, including the world-famous Torrey Pines Golf Course. Our extended-stay hotel in San Diego Del Mar, California, offers 118 spacious studio, one and two-bedroom suites with separate living and sleeping areas. A fully equipped kitchen and grocery delivery service come standard at our Del Mar hotel, as well as high-speed Internet. We also offer hot breakfast daily, evening social hours several nights a week, an outdoor pool and state-of-the-art fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Residence Inn San Diego Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing