We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice rooms, love having kitchen”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn San Diego Del Mar
Ranked #114 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We are big fans of all marriott properties. We have not been disappointed. This hotel was great ! Awesome customer service, comfortable large rooms. Would stay here again!
This hotel was easy to find and not far from the freeway. Secure parking was a comfort, we traveled with our bikes and didn't have to worry about them on our stay here.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank denisezhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evan H, Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Hi Denisezhere,

Thank you so much for your review!! We truly appreciate you taking the time to share your experience at the Residence Inn Del Mar as well as your satisfaction with all Marriott properties. The staff at our hotel has a true passion for taking care of our guests and I am glad to hear that your experience was a memorable one. The secured underground parking garage is definitely an added bonus at our property. We look forward to catering to your future stays in the San Diego area and hope you will think of us next time your friends or family are visiting.

Best Regards,
Evan Haft
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (216)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

145 - 151 of 216 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2014

I cannot praise enough the wonderful staff at this hotel, all of whom seemed genuinely interested to make our stay here wonderful... Upon check-in a lovely lady named Michelle went to great lengths to find us a room that suited our requirements...She was FANTASTIC! We also loved the in-house dining on some weeknights, made the place feel more homely than a hotel..The ladies in the kitchen worked hard to create something different for breakfast each morning which was terrific when you are travelling as often just get the same/same at hotels. The apartment was just lovely with a terrific kitchennette and having 4 nights here was a great stay rather than just being in a hotel room. Only 1 negative, it is not at all close to the beach which the photos and wording really alluded it was just across from the beach, more like a 30 minute walk to the water unfortunately.

Room Tip: Request a room on the 'quiet side'.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anitan555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evan H, Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Hello anitan555,

I am so happy to hear the praise you had for Michelle and the rest of the staff here at the Residence Inn Del Mar. Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel. Here at the Residence Inn, it is the goal of our staff to provide the comforts of a modern home with an intuitive human touch. We are glad to hear you enjoyed our complimentary happy hour and breakfast, which has a rotating schedule to ensure you plenty of options. We hope you had a safe trip home and look forward to seeing you during your future travels to the states.

Safe Travels,
Evan Haft
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Stayed at this property a short while back and can not begin to explain how awesome it was. The rooms were well appointed and very clean. There was even a personal note written on one of the notepads from the housekeeping girl to enjoy our stay and to feel free to ask for anything. The 3 most awesome things about this hotel though are, tons of free parking, free wifi, and a free "happy hour" offering complimentary snacks and beer. Matt at the front desk provided excellent service and the general manager Illana was just outstanding. Every Marriott hotel out there should look into hiring a general manager like her!!! This place is a gem!!!! Hope you enjoy your stay there as much as I did!!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CM0rgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evan H, Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Hello CM0rgan,

Thank you for staying with us last month. We truly appreciate you taking the time to share your experience at our property! There really is nothing like winding down with a glass of wine or a beer after a long day at our complimentary happy hour. I will be sure to share your feedback with Matt's memorable service. He has a great personality and really goes out of his way to exceed our guests expectations. We look forward to seeing you during your future travels to the San Diego area and hope you will think of us the next time your friends or family are looking for a place to stay.

Best Regards,
Evan Haft
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I enjoy cooking, so the 1 bedroom suite with full kitchen was just what i was looking for. When i didnt have the right tools or supplies on hand the front desk and cooking staff (Elizabeth, Amber, and Cathleen) went out of their way to assist me. Everyone I had contact with was pleasant and truely wished to provide the best stay possible. If possible, I would stay here on my next trip to San Diego.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GBruce_W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evan H, Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Hi GBruce_W,

Thank you so much for your review! On behalf of the entire Residence Inn Del mar team, thank you for staying with us. As a person who truly enjoys to cook as well, having the fully equipped kitchen is definitely an added luxury in all of our suites. I am glad that Amber, Elizabeth and Cathleen were able to assist with your cooking utensil needs. We look forward to seeing you during your future trips to San Diego.

Sincerely,
Evan Haft
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

My stay in this hotel was pretty standard, the room was clean, the bed was comfortable, everything worked. To me, what makes this hotel particularly convenient is that everything is so centralized. It is a high-rise building and has adequate and ample free underground parking. The access is easy, you only need your room key, and there is no charge. The rooms are nothing extraordinary. The hotel itself is very new, so all the fixtures are sparkling clean and fully functional. I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank westwilshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiyomi C, Director of Sales at Residence Inn San Diego Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Hi westwilshire,

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Residence Inn Del Mar! We're glad that you would return and look forward to taking care of you again!

Warm regards,

Kiyomi C.
Sales Specialist

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

All the service representatives were, helpful, informed & tried their best to satisfy our every request. Inparticular, we'd like to acknowledge Amber & Cathleen, who served meals in the self serve dining area. They were constantly refilling buffet choices, making sure every guest had enough of what was offered & were so pleasant!
They deserve recognition.
Also the TV repairman, came to our room right after we called for help with our set.
All of these services, by the staff, were greatly appreciated.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evan H, Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

Hello Barbara F,

Thank you for recognizing Amber, Cathleen and the rest of our staff in your review. Amber and Cathleen truly lead our fantastic gatehouse staff to ensure the guests breakfast experience is a memorable one. I am glad to hear that every one you encountered provided great service.

On behalf of the entire staff,thank you for choosing the Residence Inn Del Mar. Please think of us the next time you have any friends or family visiting the San Diego area. We would love the opportunity to make their stay as pleasurable as yours.

Sincerely,

Evan Haft
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

My husband & I needed a little break from the routine & were looking for some place close that would still make us feel like we were on vacation. This was the perfect spot! The hotel was clean, modern and the staff was exceptional. Evan, the asst. manager, was extremely friendly & genuinely interested that we have a good time on our stay. The front desk person really gave thought to just the right room that would fit our request which we appreciated. The evening social had refreshing beer & wine after a hot day, and tasty appetizers. That got our evening started before going out to dinner. There are many options in Del Mar to eat at.
The next morning, we enjoyed our hearty breakfast before heading out to enjoy the day.
We definitely recommend this hotel for locals who want a change of pace, as well as out of town visitors. You won't regret it!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DubbleD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evan H, Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

Hi DubbleD,

Thank you so much for your review!! The team was pleased to hear about your memorable stay at our hotel and wanted to thank you for staying with us. It was a pleasure meeting you. We look forward to taking care of you during your future staycations.

Best Regards,

Evan Haft
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Diego
0.1 mi away
San Diego Marriott Del Mar
San Diego Marriott Del Mar
#107 of 278 in San Diego
629 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn San Diego/Del Mar
Hampton Inn San Diego/Del Mar
#69 of 278 in San Diego
757 reviews
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton San Diego - Del Mar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar
3.1 mi away
Hilton San Diego/Del Mar
1.8 mi away
Hotel Indigo San Diego Del Mar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn San Diego Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn San Diego Del Mar

Address: 3525 Valley Centre Dr, San Diego, CA 92130-3302
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #114 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range: £120 - £209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn San Diego Del Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set a pace that suits you at one of the leading hotels in San Diego, Residence Inn San Diego Del Mar. Centrally located in the Del Mar/Carmel Highlands area of northern San Diego, you'll thrive at our inventive hotel. For business travelers, we'll put you near the Biotech and research firms in the Del Mar, Sorrento Mesa and La Jolla areas. If visiting for pleasure, you'll appreciate our San Diego Del Mar hotel's proximity to many attractions, SeaWorld®, San Diego Zoo, beautiful Southern California beaches and local golf courses, including the world-famous Torrey Pines Golf Course. Our extended-stay hotel in San Diego Del Mar, California, offers 118 spacious studio, one and two-bedroom suites with separate living and sleeping areas. A fully equipped kitchen and grocery delivery service come standard at our Del Mar hotel, as well as high-speed Internet. We also offer hot breakfast daily, evening social hours several nights a week, an outdoor pool and state-of-the-art fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn San Diego Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing