We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Location & accommodations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residence Inn San Diego Del Mar
Ranked #86 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Location & accommodations”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

This hotel was very nicely appointed and very clean and new. The front desk staff was very helpful on this Holiday 4th of July. They made an excellent recommendation on a quick and easy way to go to the Del Mar Fair and avoid all of the traffic . They gave me a room on the top floor while others had to wait. The room was very functional and comfortable. It was very relaxing and close to everything I would want to do.

Room Tip: Ask the front desk if you room faces the freeway as this will cause some low level noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marleece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evan H, Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Del Mar, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Hi Marleece,

Thank you so much for staying with us over the 4th of July holiday weekend. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate you telling others about your memorable stay. Our staff has a true passion of taking care of our guests and their local area knowledge is extremely valuable to them.

We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Evan Haft
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    45
    15
    2
    1
See reviews for
81
38
13
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
70 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

I must first thank the wonderful Marriot Residence Inn Del Mar employee Amber Baker for being so helpful, competent, and a great asset to the Marriott company! Everyone working there was friendly and I sensed they all took pride in working and taking care of the guests there.
My studio room was very clean and comfortable. I could tell everything was very new and up- to - date and it is being kept that way..
The included buffet breakfast had enough variety each day and even the light dinner served during the week nights was tasty, much to my surprise! Thanks for the glass of wine that came with it!

Room Tip: I had a room on the highest floor, away from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beachgirly1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evan H, Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Del Mar, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Hello Beachgirly1,

Thank you for your review. Amber is a tremendous asset to our company as a whole, but even more so to our property. I am so glad to hear that she was able to be so helpful during your stay. Our staff takes pride in taking care of our guests and it truly shows.

There is nothing like winding down during our complimentary evening social with a glass of wine and some appetizers and our complimentary breakfast buffet provides what you need to stay strong everyday.

On behalf of the entire team, thank you so much for staying with us. We look forward to seeing you during your future stays in the San Diego area.

Sincerely,

Evan Haft
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax County, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

I really enjoyed my stay here for business. The room was very spacious, clean, and quiet. Nice layout of kitchen, work area, bed, and bath. I liked having a spacious shower rather than a shower that is part of a bath tub. The location was great - just off the highway but also close (5-10 drive) to the Torrey Pines beach and nature reserve. There was also a Mexican restaurant (Tio Leo) only one block away that was very good and inexpensive (try the carnitas burrito or shrimp tacos). The staff were all very friendly and helpful, especially Michelle who recommended that I go hiking along the trails at the nearby Torrey Pines nature reserve -- the views of the coast were spectacular! The free breakfasts were better than most and the happy hours were excellent. Be sure to save room for some of the fresh-baked cookies. I highly recommend this hotel and hope to return.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evan H, Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Del Mar, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Hello Kevin G,

Thank you so much for staying with us and taking the time to share your memorable experience at our hotel with others. Michelle strives to offer additional assistance with her knowledge of the local area and her passion for the outdoors gives our guests the option of enjoying some of the most beautiful places San Diego has to offer.

Hopefully we will see you again soon during your future travels to the San Diego area.

Sincerely,

Evan Haft
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, TX
Level Contributor
100 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

Room had nice living and kitchen area. Had the good hot breakfast RI is known for (although w/ disposable plates and flatware). This hotel is close to the beach area but I wouldn't say it's walkable. You'd have to cross under the highway and it didn't read very pedestrian-friendly. The hotel is not really right next to a shopping or restaurant area. I think there is one restaurant right by but you'll need to drive a bit to get to anything that feels like a shopping center. New-feeling facility. It's a good security measure I suppose, but you have to use your room key to use the elevator, and that can be tough with full hands. Parking is under the building.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amyinsanantonio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evan H, Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Del Mar, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Hi Amyinsanantonio,

Thank you so much for taking the time to tell others about your stay with us. The staff was very exited to hear that you enjoyed our complimentary hot breakfast buffet.

At just over 2 miles from our doorsteps, Torrey Pines Beach is a thing of beauty. While the beach can be a bit of a walk, the views of wildlife inside Los Penasquitos Lagoon makes the walk worth the wait.

On behalf of the entire staff at the Residence Inn Del Mar, thank you for staying with us. We look forward to catering to your future travels to the San Diego area.

Sincerely,
Evan Haft
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elk Grove, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

We truly enjoyed our stay at this hotel. We have an 18-year-old autistic son and it is not easy to travel with him because of his behaviors and needs. However, the suite was like a small apartment and gave him ample room to roam, which is important. Also, the hotel staff noted and honored our request for a room on the first floor due to our son's disability. The entire staff was very professional, kind and accommodating to us; from housekeeping who kept us supplied with ample towels and found us a broom when we needed it, to the janitor who offered to help us carry our shopping bags from the car, to the front desk staff who gave us suggestions and information about finding a nice shopping mall, the Torrey Pines Beach and the country fair. They were really great! We were very pleased and the staff made our trip so nice. This is one of the best trips we have had with our son. Thanks you so much for everything!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiyomi C, Director of Sales at Residence Inn San Diego Del Mar, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Hi Linda D.,

Thank you for choosing the Residence Inn Del Mar for your first Trip Advisor review! It warms my heart to hear that you experienced one of the best trips with your family while staying at our hotel :). We aim to make every guests' experience one to remember and I will share your kind words with our hotel staff. Thank you for sharing!!

Safe travels!

Kiyomi C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

The rooms are new and well kept. The "slow" internet connection which is provided free is as fast as my fast internet connection at home. The free parking which is in the underground garage is a contrast to the $9 parking fee that the other Marriott hotel charges across the street.

One complaint about the food served for breakfast was that the milk served had gone sour. I actually observed the milk being taken out of the hotel refrigerator. This made me question the freshness of the other food offered for breakfast.

I recommend the hotel but I would be careful about the breakfast food.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fred085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evan H, Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Del Mar, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Greetings Fred085,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and I appreciate your feedback about breakfast. Our breakfast staff takes many measures to ensure our breakfast is of great quality and is safe for our guests to eat. I assure you that I will be sharing your feedback with the gatehouse staff to make sure they are taking every procautionary measure to providing a safe and high quality food product to our guests. We look forward to catering to your future stays in the San Diego area.

Sincerely,
Evan Haft
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

We booked a 1 bedroom king suite and they didnt have any when we checked in. They gave us two adjoining rooms and an awesome rate! Michelle and the rest of the crew were awesome and we are very appreciative!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evan H, Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Del Mar, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Hi Steve R,

Thank you so much for your review. I truly apologize that we did not have your one bedroom suite available. I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay and that we were able to accomodate the adjoining suites to make up for it. The associates were excited to hear about your comments at our daily meeting today, especially Michelle. Thank you so much for staying with us. We hope to see you again the next time you visit the San Diego area.

Sincerely,

Evan Haft
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Diego
0.1 mi away
San Diego Marriott Del Mar
San Diego Marriott Del Mar
#87 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton San Diego - Del Mar
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn San Diego/Del Mar
Hampton Inn San Diego/Del Mar
#69 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel Indigo San Diego Del Mar
1.8 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar
3.1 mi away
Hilton San Diego/Del Mar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn San Diego Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn San Diego Del Mar

Property: Residence Inn San Diego Del Mar
Address: 3525 Valley Centre Dr, San Diego, CA 92130-3302
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn San Diego Del Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set a pace that suits you at one of the leading hotels in San Diego Del Mar, Residence Inn San Diego Del Mar. Centrally located in the Del Mar/Carmel Highlands area of northern San Diego, you'll thrive at our inventive hotel. For business travelers, we'll put you near the biotech and research firms in the Del Mar, Sorrento Mesa and La Jolla areas. If visiting for pleasure, you'll appreciate our San Diego Del Mar hotel's proximity to many attractions, such as SeaWorld®, San Diego Zoo, beautiful Southern California beaches and local golf courses, including the world-famous Torrey Pines Golf Course. Our extended-stay hotel in San Diego Del Mar, California, offers 118 spacious studio, one and two-bedroom suites with separate living and sleeping areas. A fully equipped kitchen and grocery delivery service come standard at our San Diego Del Mar hotel, as well as high-speed Internet. We also offer hot breakfast daily, evening social hours several nights a week, an outdoor pool and state-of-the-art fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn San Diego Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing